We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad, service could have been better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Save Saved
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Jonan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #78 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad, service could have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Riad Jonan is a beautiful riad with lots of character and a lovely roof terrace in central Marrakech. However, the service does fall short at times which is a shame as if they improved on that, this would be a really special place to stay.

We had arranged an airport pick-up with the owner prior to arriving. We waited....and waited....and waited at Marrakech airport for a transfer which didn't arrive before making our own way to the riad. This wasn't a problem but we wasted time at the airport waiting for a non-existent transfer and when we arrived at the riad, we were told that the transfer had picked up some people who were going to Riad Jona by mistake - I find this hard to believe as our flight arrived 30 minutes early and we were waiting in arrivals all this time and at no point did we see any sign for 'Riad Jonan'. We were offered an upgrade which was a nice touch, but from reading other reviews it seems that it's not the first time that the riad has failed to organise an airport transfer and it makes you wonder why they bother to offer it if they can't fulfill on it.

We'd had an early flight from London and were leaving Marrakech early the next morning to go trekking in the Atlas mountains, therefore we had booked the Moroccan traditional dinner for our first night at 7.30pm. We went onto the roof terrace at 7pm for a pre-dinner drink and told the waiter that we were the people who'd booked the dinner for 7.30pm. By the time 8.30pm came and no sight of our food, my husband went downstairs to try and find it and was told they'd set a table for us downstairs despite us saying we were eating on the roof terrace. Again it wasn't a massive problem and the food when it arrived was absolutely fantastic, but it just felt like a lack of attention on customer service on their part.

We were leaving at 8am the following morning to go to the Atlas mountains and were told that they didn't start serving breakfast until 8am (I don't think I've stayed in a hotel anywhere in the world where they don't start serving breakfast until 8am!) but they could offer us a basic breakfast (and it was VERY basic!) - again I found this showed a lack of customer service as we'd paid for breakfast but were unable to get the full breakfast which we paid for.

All in all, it is a lovely riad to look at but there is definite room for improvement with their service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    81
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
301
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Riad Jonan for our short 3-day trip to Marrakech and had a truly enjoyable experience. We booked through Easyjet Holidays and were able to arrange a pickup from the airport by contacting them directly via email. On arrival, we were offered complimentary mint tea and were given a map and a crash course in getting around Marrakech. We were upgraded to the excellent Maleka room, equipped with a split AC to bear the harsh August summery days.

The staff - Hassan, Saeed and Abdul - were really courteous and went out of their way to help us. Hassan arranged an excellent trip to Ourika valley for us which I would highly recommend.

The Riad's location is really good to explore the city. Situated within the old town, it is a short walk from the souk. One tip I would add is that the shops nearer to Riad Jonan on Rue de la Kasbah seem to have better prices for souvenirs than the ones in the souk.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the Malika room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked the riad through Thomas Cook and were not disappointed. The riad is just off the Rue de la Kasbah, is easy to find and a straight forward walk to the Jemma el Fna (20mins on average but 30-35mins in the evening human traffic). The Saadian tombs are on the same street as well as a very large fixed price store with currency conversion at a very good rate. Every member of staff at the riad was friendly and helpful with everything we asked about / for. There are many tours on offer through the city but the riad organised ours to the Atlas Mountains with our own personal driver and not only was it an amazing day, the price beat that offered elsewhere. The rooms were cleaned and serviced regularly. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We Stayed in Riad Jonan in May 2013. We stayed for 6 days altogether using the Riad as a base to explore Marrakech and further afield in Morocco. When we booked were unsure about the location but it was only a 5/10 minute walk into the main square and we felt perfectly safe walking about the Medina. The staff were excellent; incredibly friendly and helpful. They all had a high standard of English, which was huge benefit in helping us plan trips. As we went away for a few trips we ended up staying in 3 of their standard rooms, all of which were clean and nicely decorated in an authentic style. Breakfast was included in our rate, which was really nice, with a good range of choices. We also had a meal in the Riad the night we arrived which amazing and enough to feed 20! We would definitely recommend this Riad to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had a wonderful holiday in Marrakech, and the riad Jonan was largely why I enjoyed my stay so much. The manager planned all my trips out of the city and booked those trips for me. The staff were very helpful and helped me tour the city with a very accurate map that they had designed. The breakfasts at the riad were plentiful and delicious .Fresh squeezed orange
juice each morning, and home made yoghort.The rooms were very comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. All the outside noise seemed to be drowned out , even on the roof garden.I had a very nice stay here and cannot criticise anything. Jane Dowse

Room Tip: What appears to be just a small house can be the most comfortable and delightful place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Riad Jonan is situated up a small alley just off the road, compared to some riads, it is a doddle to find. Upon arrival we were given traditional mint tea and pastries and then shown to our room which was on the first floor. The room was tastefully decorated in morocan style, with an adjoining bathroom/shower. There is a roof terrace with chairs and sun loungers, sun hats are provided. Breakfast was appetizing though basic and would probably become repetitive if you were staying more than a few days, nethertheless it started the day nicely. There is also free WiFi which worked great for us though our room was above the office. The riad is a little oasis in the hussle and bussle of Marrakech life and somewhere were you can find a corner and truly relax.

It is approx a 10 minute walk to the square, it is a relatively straight forward walk though the staff at the riad had given us a map. dont worry if you get lost, you will, its part of the experience especially in the souks at the north end of the square. One word of warning, do not under any circumstances allow anybody to show you to some location because they will expect you to pay them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

riad is well situated with a 5 minute walk to the square. Many nice cafes nearby. The staff are all so very helpful. Arranged tour to Essaouria, good day out. Hassan upgraded us to a beautiful room with 4 poster bed. Air con not marvelous but they gave us a fan as well. Couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and a good choice of options. Thank you to everyone of the staff for making our trip so enjoyable. Try to avoid the false guides on the Kashba, especially a guy named Mohammad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jonan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.