We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Save Saved
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Jonan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #80 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

After arriving in a bit of a stress because we hadn't been able to locate our pre-ordered taxi at the airport, we finally found Riad Jonan. We were greeted warmly by Hassan, who appolagised profusely for the mistake and as the riad was quiet upgraded us to a beautiful bigger room for the pre-arranged price of a smaller room which we were extremely grateful for. The service was excellent, breakfast was from the same menu every day but at least you could vary your order and was always freshly made. We didn't eat an evening meal but the food sounded great. The room we stayed in was the large one next to the punge pool on the bottom level. I personally loved it; it was authentic, well equipt and cleaned every day. The riad was only a short walk away from the centre, and I never felt unsafe in the area. We went on the excursion to the sahara which was good but a bit too much travelling for the amount of time spent in the sahara. All in all it was a good holiday made great by the Riad, especially Hassan. Thank you, we loved it and would definately reccommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    79
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
297
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here for the week, the staff are marvellous, very friendly and very helpful.
Would recommend eating here, you won’t find much better food throughout Marrakech and it’s authentic Moroccan, suggest taking a bottle of the house Rosé and having your meal up on the roof terrace.
We booked our trips thorough the riad and all of them were excellent value, with your own driver you can stop wherever and whenever you want to, would suggest taking the walking tour around Marrakech on your first day to get yourself orientated, a word of advice, if you get lost around the souks (markets) find your way back to the main square and start again!!
All in all, a lovely holiday, very comfortable, the riad is ideally situated, you can easily walk up to the main square in 10 to 15 minutes, the food is excellent, the breakfasts are lovely, the prices are reasonable, would recommend highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice Riad but is not like what i expected from photos, all other reviews speck about the positive things, but i allow my self to explain some negative things ; my room was not that clean, there was some dusts not cleaned (I am asthmatic, so i worried about that ). when i wished to use the sanitary for first time i saw trace of urine was not cleaned on the sanitary, so i cleaned it my self before setting on it. For 3 consecutive days i found cockroach which comes from pipe lines, so i kept my bags closed all time there to avoid some getting inside them. You should remix the hot & cold water at Shower place a lot of times as the pressure of water is variable al the time. in my room there was not TV eventhough they say in their website that there is TV. Internet is only in hall. the trip to the desert which is proposed by the owner of the Riad is not like which was shown in the album of photos, the trip to the desert was 12 hours (instead of that the owner has said 4-5 hours) , and we did not reach the real desert where should be the real sand. but the nice thing is riding the camel for about one hour.
There is miscommunication between the owner and the staff, as we have discuss things with the owner and made conclusions and she did not communicate them to staff of hotel. A/C is wonderful, but the remote control does not change the degree of temperature wanted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

After our arrival in Marrakech's jaw dropping Medina district the welcome we received from Hassan at Riad Jonan was superb, very attentive. Riad Jonan does indeed feel like an oasis. The small team of staff are humble yet friendly and professional. The accomodation and the location are totally authentic. I just cannot understand why some people travel to Marrakesh only to stay in one of the many new hotels situated a 20 minute bus ride away from all the incredible 'living history' of the Kasbah! We have already made plans to return later in the year.

Room Tip: I was shown most rooms by Hassan - all are good - my only advice would be to select the biggest you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, Propriétaire at Riad Jonan, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your kindness. We will be very happy to welcome you and your family in Automn if you can com back. Best regards.
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Riad Jonan was everything we had hoped for and more. When deciding on Marrakech for our destination, we wanted to be in the heart of things, small, friendly, calm.... we got this in bucketfuls. I always check out Trip Advisor before I book anywhere and try and bear in mind the positives and negatives - ok, the shower was a bit dodgy and the plumbing a bit wiffy - so what? If you want a wide screen TV, mirror and lighting to do your make-up in (!!) and mini toiletries for a bubbly bath, go to the large corporate hotels outside Marrakech - after all you could be in any City in the world in one of those places!!! This place is simply beautiful and the staff, particularly Abdul and Hassan were so kind, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and un-assuming. The décor is lovely, the rooms large enough, comfortable with clean towels every day, the food is simple but very tasty. We loved to spend time in the evenings after our return from the craziness of the Square and the Souks to the peaceful roof terrace for a beer or bottle of wine. We met some other lovely guests while we were there and we were all so happy to have chosen such a perfect little place in an ideal location. We went for a week, but took a 2 day trip in the middle of that week to Casablanca - I've done a separate review on that - well worth the train ride if you stay in the right place. Marrakech itself is a sensory overload - colours, sounds, smells and once you get used to their bartering, banter and the fact that if you point a camera within around half a mile at the snake charmers and stall owners, they'll spot you - then it's very much to be enjoyed. Don't think about it - just do it :-D

Room Tip: They all looked lovely - no outside window in ours, but it didn't bother us, just meant it was d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great rooms. Nice rooms, well decorated, clean and comfortable. Excellent location. impeccable service. Would live to stay longer here. Good service and attentive staff. Staff even showed us around the riad on arrival to make us we felt at home. A lovely touch to get tea and a snack on arrival too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived late in the evening to be greeted by Abdul, who showed us through to the lounge area and brought us some refreshing mint tea and pastries, before showing us up to our first floor room.
The rooms are not large but adequate in size and tastefully decorated, we had upgraded to a superior room, not sure wether I would class it as superior? We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had one of the best meals of our three day stay, I had Meat Tagine, and my wife had Fish Tagine - this was fantastic.......
The staff really cant do enough for you, very friendly and polite, even drew us a map to guide us around - still got lost in the Medina though as everyone does.
There is a lovely roof terrace as well, with lots of seating and sun loungers with towels and sun hats provided. You can even take your meals up there if you wish, the wine (red) is superb and is localy made nr Cassablanca.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jonan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.