We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous..................” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Save Saved
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Jonan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #71 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Worcsetershire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous..................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived late in the evening to be greeted by Abdul, who showed us through to the lounge area and brought us some refreshing mint tea and pastries, before showing us up to our first floor room.
The rooms are not large but adequate in size and tastefully decorated, we had upgraded to a superior room, not sure wether I would class it as superior? We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had one of the best meals of our three day stay, I had Meat Tagine, and my wife had Fish Tagine - this was fantastic.......
The staff really cant do enough for you, very friendly and polite, even drew us a map to guide us around - still got lost in the Medina though as everyone does.
There is a lovely roof terrace as well, with lots of seating and sun loungers with towels and sun hats provided. You can even take your meals up there if you wish, the wine (red) is superb and is localy made nr Cassablanca.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    75
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
292
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We planned a holiday to barcelona to catch up with friends and decided to also visit marrakech not being too far from barcelona. Booked a stay at the Riad Jonan..the accomodation was amazing but what really made our holiday was the incredible attention given to us by the staff at the Riad. Hassan,Abdul,Hassan and Said were very attentive and so welcoming..made our stay very comfortable..certainly would not have no hesitation to return to Riad Jonan.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms at the Riad would be pretty much perfect..probably pick a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Tucked away behind an unassuming door, Riad Jonan is a delightful place to stay away from the hustle of Marrakech centre but a short walk to get to everything. We were able to stay in a triple room with my teenage daughter and took advantage of the in house menu for odd meals and snacks. There are lots of nooks and crannies so there is always somewhere to sit and relax with a book and the roof top terrace is a delight. The staff were excellent, the room was clean, food great. Cannot fault this place - it has a really relaxing vibe that made it a welcoming place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The ryad itself is pretty, well maintained and clean. No complaints about our suite, other than the fact that the shower head essentially sprayed everywhere in the bathroom, but the shower. The floors were a soaking mess.
Our main issue were the staff/owners. Firstly, we essentially never saw the owners, when the staff needed approval or had a question, they would ask the owners, then respond to us, however literally the owners office was 2 meters away, why couldn't we simply speak with the owners themselves? They pretty much avoided their guests completely.
Also, when asking about a day trip, we were advised to go to the bus station at 830AM and simply purchase tickets which would be easier. Upon following this staff members advice, we were told at the bus station (after a long search and cab ride) that the tickets were sold out. Upon our return to the riad, all we hoped for was an apology and perhaps some advice on how to spend our now free day, what we got was rudeness, denial and a staff member claiming we essentially imagined that entire conversation and that none of this ever happened. How I knew which station to go to and at what time? Well, apparently it was a hallucination.
So, stay for the place,but don't expect kind or even civil interaction.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, Propriétaire at Riad Jonan, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback given about the Riad. I must say that I am very surprised and sorry about your bad feeling about the relationship that we have had with you. During your stay the riad was full and we spent a lot of time talking with our guests. Of course when we are busy every member of the staff is competent to discuss and advise the clients in most of the subjects. They usually don’t need our help. At your arrival, you were advised about all kind of trips and excursions that you could do, and for most of them we can book them for you to avoid any disappointment. By the way you have chosen a trip to Essaouira with Supratour, that is a nice and cheap way of travelling, but the problem is that we cannot book tickets for you, neither by phone, nor by internet. I don’t know exactly what was told you when you came back but you must know that all the members of the staff are always very helpful in such case as all the tripadvisor advices underline it. To be quite honnest you can also tell that we have organized for you a Sahara trip (2 days, 1 night), and that everything was quite OK... Anyway I think that you enjoyed your stay with us because you had only booked for 1 night and you finally stayed 4 nights. We hope you keep a very good souvenir of your stay in Marrakesh and that we can welcome you another time, and take a little more time to talk with you. Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A perfect place to stay if you want to get the real feel of Marrakech whilst also having a comfortable and peaceful haven from the bustle of the souks. All the staff are wonderful - friendly and helpful. We couldn't have chosen better. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's all been said, as I see, in the Riad's guestbook and here on Trip Advisor: but it's all true! - I'd call it "home from home", but my own home is not so beautiful! The place has everything: location - half a minute down the "derb" [= cul-de-sac alley] and you're on the Rue de la Kasbah main street; peace - quietness outside and tranquility inside; food - excellent breakfast, and the optional evening meals are excellent; decor - beautiful traditional Moroccan. But: above all - the staff! I can't avoid the cliches about friendliness and service; this was hospitality, welcome, 110%.. And they were all fluent in English and French: more than that, I heard them welcome guests in better Spanish and Italian than I have. This Riad made our week's stay in Marrakech a pure pleasure. Book them!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room - we heard no complaints. Half the rooms are ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Riad was beautiful, the owners couldn't do enough to help and the staff attentive and really nice... and the food, have the prunes and homemade yoghurt for breakfast divine!! The perfect place to retreat from the absolute craziness that is Marrakech! It has a really central location perfect for exploring the city. We booked through teletext holidays and my only criticism would be that our transfer didn't turn up.. But after that an amazing holiday in a truely unique city.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Hotel
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech
Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#177 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jonan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a superb accommodation in the Royal Quarter of the Kasbah in Marrakesh. It offers you the comfort of a modern hotel with ten beautiful en-suite bedrooms with heating and air-conditioning in a sumptuous traditional Moroccan decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.