We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Jonan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Save Saved
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Jonan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #76 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Riad Jonan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We planned a holiday to barcelona to catch up with friends and decided to also visit marrakech not being too far from barcelona. Booked a stay at the Riad Jonan..the accomodation was amazing but what really made our holiday was the incredible attention given to us by the staff at the Riad. Hassan,Abdul,Hassan and Said were very attentive and so welcoming..made our stay very comfortable..certainly would not have no hesitation to return to Riad Jonan.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms at the Riad would be pretty much perfect..probably pick a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    81
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
301
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Tucked away behind an unassuming door, Riad Jonan is a delightful place to stay away from the hustle of Marrakech centre but a short walk to get to everything. We were able to stay in a triple room with my teenage daughter and took advantage of the in house menu for odd meals and snacks. There are lots of nooks and crannies so there is always somewhere to sit and relax with a book and the roof top terrace is a delight. The staff were excellent, the room was clean, food great. Cannot fault this place - it has a really relaxing vibe that made it a welcoming place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The ryad itself is pretty, well maintained and clean. No complaints about our suite, other than the fact that the shower head essentially sprayed everywhere in the bathroom, but the shower. The floors were a soaking mess.
Our main issue were the staff/owners. Firstly, we essentially never saw the owners, when the staff needed approval or had a question, they would ask the owners, then respond to us, however literally the owners office was 2 meters away, why couldn't we simply speak with the owners themselves? They pretty much avoided their guests completely.
Also, when asking about a day trip, we were advised to go to the bus station at 830AM and simply purchase tickets which would be easier. Upon following this staff members advice, we were told at the bus station (after a long search and cab ride) that the tickets were sold out. Upon our return to the riad, all we hoped for was an apology and perhaps some advice on how to spend our now free day, what we got was rudeness, denial and a staff member claiming we essentially imagined that entire conversation and that none of this ever happened. How I knew which station to go to and at what time? Well, apparently it was a hallucination.
So, stay for the place,but don't expect kind or even civil interaction.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, Propriétaire at Riad Jonan, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback given about the Riad. I must say that I am very surprised and sorry about your bad feeling about the relationship that we have had with you. During your stay the riad was full and we spent a lot of time talking with our guests. Of course when we are busy every member of the staff is competent to discuss and advise the clients in most of the subjects. They usually don’t need our help. At your arrival, you were advised about all kind of trips and excursions that you could do, and for most of them we can book them for you to avoid any disappointment. By the way you have chosen a trip to Essaouira with Supratour, that is a nice and cheap way of travelling, but the problem is that we cannot book tickets for you, neither by phone, nor by internet. I don’t know exactly what was told you when you came back but you must know that all the members of the staff are always very helpful in such case as all the tripadvisor advices underline it. To be quite honnest you can also tell that we have organized for you a Sahara trip (2 days, 1 night), and that everything was quite OK... Anyway I think that you enjoyed your stay with us because you had only booked for 1 night and you finally stayed 4 nights. We hope you keep a very good souvenir of your stay in Marrakesh and that we can welcome you another time, and take a little more time to talk with you. Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A perfect place to stay if you want to get the real feel of Marrakech whilst also having a comfortable and peaceful haven from the bustle of the souks. All the staff are wonderful - friendly and helpful. We couldn't have chosen better. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's all been said, as I see, in the Riad's guestbook and here on Trip Advisor: but it's all true! - I'd call it "home from home", but my own home is not so beautiful! The place has everything: location - half a minute down the "derb" [= cul-de-sac alley] and you're on the Rue de la Kasbah main street; peace - quietness outside and tranquility inside; food - excellent breakfast, and the optional evening meals are excellent; decor - beautiful traditional Moroccan. But: above all - the staff! I can't avoid the cliches about friendliness and service; this was hospitality, welcome, 110%.. And they were all fluent in English and French: more than that, I heard them welcome guests in better Spanish and Italian than I have. This Riad made our week's stay in Marrakech a pure pleasure. Book them!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room - we heard no complaints. Half the rooms are ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Riad was beautiful, the owners couldn't do enough to help and the staff attentive and really nice... and the food, have the prunes and homemade yoghurt for breakfast divine!! The perfect place to retreat from the absolute craziness that is Marrakech! It has a really central location perfect for exploring the city. We booked through teletext holidays and my only criticism would be that our transfer didn't turn up.. But after that an amazing holiday in a truely unique city.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

There may be more luxurious Riads in Marrakech but there can't be one that is more welcoming and friendly with attentive service, delicious breakfasts and helpful information!
We chose to stay in a Riad for an intensified Moroccan experience, large hotels can be very anonymous, and that is what we enjoyed.
Returning to the Riad after many hours exploring the noisy, chaotic, crowded and, at times, verbally exhausting city we were greeted at the door by a welcoming, smiling member of staff who politely enquired if we had enjoyed our day. It really felt like returning home! Inside was an oasis of pools, greenery and Morrocan decor. Our favourite place to unwind was, however, the roof terrace with it's loungers, mosaic tables, arabic tents and a view of the snow clad Atlas mountains, from the top terrace. We also enjoyed excellent breakfasts up here - fresh orange juice, good coffee, pastries, crepes and a choice of mushroom omelette,scrambled eggs, cereals or homemade yoghurt with cinnamon and orange prunes.
Hassan, and his wonderful team, suggested and organised trips for us, to the Ourika valley and an amazing, not to be missed, visit to a nearby Hamman.
From the time of booking I was impressed by the emails that were sent to us. Hassan confirmed our booking and sent information regarding airport collection (we were met promptly at arrivals, by our driver, holding a "Riad Jonan" sign) and their dinner menu in case we needed food on arrival. E mails flowed and I was able to confirm certain room and collection details providing me with the confidence that we were in competent hands.
Our rooms were just the standard ones but were traditionally decorated and provided all that we needed. There was little external noise to disturb our sleep and we were woken by the cockerel's greeting.
We all loved the busy street that leads to the Riad, Rue de Kasbah, with it's friendly stall holders and kebab vendors and, after initial wariness, tried the food on offer and were rewarded with some of the best tasting food of the trip. From then on we were greeted as we passed. This lively street was our favourite location in the whole of Marrakech!
Thank you Hassan, Hassan and Abdou for your smiles and wonderful, caring service.
Do stay here and enjoy the amazing Morrocan hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jonan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.