We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star service from start to finish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Save Saved
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Jonan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #76 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“5 Star service from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I booked a week at Riad Jonan as part of our honeymoon based on previous tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Before we arrived I had contacted Hassan via email with an abundance of questions, all of which were responded to immediately. Hassan arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport which was great. On arrival we were greeted by Abdou who gave us a great map of the area and even better advice on where to go, what to do.
We booked 2 tours through the Riad and Hassan also booked us into a nearby spa for amazing treatments and even though they don't offer this excursion, Hassan organised a cookery lesson for us at a nearby Riad.
Nothing was ever too much trouble and the service from the moment we arrived til the moment we left was better than any 5 star hotel we've stayed in.
The food at the Riad was amazing and very reasonably priced and the roof terrace was very relaxing
We stayed in a superior room which was really nice and comfortable. There was a small amount of street noise but if you're going to opt for a Riad that's what you'll get. It was really only kids playing which wasn't a big deal. The location of Riad Jonan was in my opinion was a great one. The street had some great people and we even got to know some of the street vendors by name! Lots of character and a great buzz.
The staff at Riad Jonan are all amazing and there is a very friendly atmosphere there constantly.

I would highly recommend a stay at Riad Jonan and if we ever go back to Marrakech we will stay here again.

Room Tip: If staying for more than a few days go for bigger room we stayed in Zagora and it was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    79
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
297
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our first holiday in 14 years and Hassan 'The King' (Manager) along with his staff Hassan 'Prince' (Dep Manager) Abdou, Said, Kharissa and Henia made it a memorable and enjoyable one.

They were polite and helpful and immaculatly turned out at all times. They were always willing to part with their local knowledge and as a result we had fantastic trips to the Atlas Mountains and Essaouira The Coastal Town. We were also given tips regarding best prices for local goods and taxis etc.

The food at the Riad is excellent and very good value as is the Moroccan wine. We particularly liked the fresh home made yoghurt and massive prunes for breakfast along with pastries and jams/honey.

Marrakech is a bustling place but its all left behind once through the door of this wonderful Riad.

Would definitely stay again.

Thanks again Hassan to you and your brilliant team.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Gentlemen running Riad Jonan could not have been more helpful..... Hussain went out of his way when we had issues on flights and cars and in helping us book restaurants.
The main Square leading to the souks is madness... but if u go DONT bother to eat in any of the Restaurants on the Square.... Tourist cannon fodder..... You have to eat in the market!!! Have to .... so many numbers and so much choice... from Fresh cook kebabs to sheep heads!! .. cheap and so tasty.
Beware of the so called Students that wander with u in the Souk.. they are very good at taking u to their favorite shops to spend and then demand money when u re-enter the square...but on the flip side we got lost and we were well looked after by people so freindly and willing to help you back to the main area's.
I digress on the Hotel
Rooms are Rustic and Chic... and so so quiet... the service is FANTASTIC and you are just a short hop to the main sites.. i can not thank hassain and his team enough for making the weekend a great experience...... Try their Moroccon Crepe in the morning its a must!
You have to try Al Fassia Aguedal... BRILLIANT!!!! 12 out of 10.

Room Tip: They are all Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Really loved our four night stay at Riad Jonan - would definitely recommend it! The staff are so friendly and helpful and the riad in general is very relaxing. Our room was beautiful and really comfortable! Breakfast was brilliant and set you up for a day (getting lost) in the souks.
It's definitely worth asking the riad to provide a taxi when going there for the first time as it's a little tricky to find on your own (we learnt the hard way!)
We enjoyed our drinks on the terrace at sunset - great mint teas and coffee! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just back from 4 nights at Riad Jonan. Friendly, attentive and really helpful staff made this a great place to stay and the pretty, tranquil and comfortable Riad was a haven of calm in the midst of Marrakech. Breakfast always great - prunes in orange and cinnamon with the homemade yoghurt highly recommended and we had dinner in one night which was excellent - delicious tagines and very generous portions. Great position about 15 minutes walk to the main square and ideal for visiting all the sights. Definitely recommend this Riad

Room Tip: Loved being woken by the cockerel and the call to prayer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely Riad. Could highly recommend staying here. Attentive professional staff who were always happy to help with booking restaurants etc. Passed on many helpful tips.
Lovely roof terrace but we only discovered it the day we left.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Perfect service, really helpful staff, good breakfast, nice location near the palaces, would recommend. We booked Riad Dubai but due to an error on their part they were over-booked and Riad Jonan agreed to take us and were helpful with everything. Nicely decorated roof terrace and communal areas. Stayed in tantan; the ensuite is actually a small walled off part of the room so not very private but fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jonan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, T4B, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.