We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Riad Jonan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #77 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This Riad is top notch. The staff are always available and helpful and everyone speaks English (as well as French and Arabic). If you go, you MUST arrange to have one of the traditional evening meals. Ours was stupendous, the Tagine (I had chicken in orange sauce) was the best meal I had in two weeks in Morocco, and I had some really good meals! Great beds, roomy rooms, quiet, clean, just like being at home.

Room Tip: Deluxe room next to the dipping pool has added bonus of opening out to the open sky in winter. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    83
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
50
312
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Riad Jonan was the perfect place to begin our Moroccan vacation. Marrakech is hectic, like they say; however, at Riad Jonan you are offered a blissful haven complete with cozy rooms, custom-tailored service, and the best concoction of mint tea in the country. As a couple, we don't have much more to add other than what the excellent reviews already mention. We didn't realize how good we had it until venturing to other riads throughout Morocco.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have just returned from four nights at the Riad Jonan. A really lovely, quiet place to stay. This was our first trip to anywhere like Marrakech and way out of my comfort zone so had really done our homework on riads, areas etc. and thus decided on Riad Jonan from reviews read on TA. We were not let down! Super, authentic, tastefully decorated en-suite rooms with comfortable, clean beds. Great roof terrace to sit during the day if the sun is shining or at night when it becomes very atmospheric with the lighting. Brilliant position - felt very safe walking back after eating in the hectic, lively square of an evening. Very helpful staff - nothing too much trouble. We had pre-booked a meal in the riad for our first night which was superb and is a really good idea. This set us up ready to hit Marrakech with gusto the next morning with the help of a guide (who was brilliant) who had been organised by Hassan for us. Cannot compare the riad with any other as this was our first time here but we were very, very happy there and happily recommend it to anyone going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hassan and the staff couldn't be more helpful and knowlegable. The riad is just 8 - 10 minutes from the main square filled with snake charmers, bowls of old teeth, horse and carts, mad mopeds and lively acrobats. It is also very close to The Tombs and two palaces. Plenty to see and do. Food is very good and breakfast's not too large but good quality.The room was smallish but ok.A lovely roof gardens for a relaxing beer or the competent Moroccan wine. You quickly get used to the cockerel next door and the erratic water system, That's just the character of Marrakech. It's the ideal base for trips to the Sahara, the coast and only 10 minutes from the airport. You will get a flavour as to what is happening on the street but still have the benefits of this safe haven.

Room Tip: Maybe book a superior room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived here very early on a Sunday morning after a stressful journey (hungover, didnt set the alarm, nearly missed our flight which was then very hot with people fainting all over the place) greeted by a taxi driver waiting to take us straight to our riad at which we were then looked after from the word go. Hussain took our bags, gave us fresh coffee and went trough a map of the local area with us with suggestions of where to eat and the deal with taxis etc.. very helpful. Our room was gorgeous.. not the one we booked on line but better i think! Right next to the plunge pool. There is free wifi in the riad but that only works in the communal areas and not your room which was a bit of the shame but we spent most of our time at the riad on the roof terrace anyway. Breakfast was served there (which was amazing.. their coffee is the best I had in Marrakesh!!) and we watched a movie on the ipad one evening up there. The snack menu could possibly be improved with a few more lighter options but i enjoyed everything we ate there.
I would definitely stay here again if i were to return to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Fanfastic stay at this traditional riad, Hassan and his staff made our stay complete. Nothing was to much trouble from arranging our trips, taxi`s and restaurants. Our evening in for our home cooked moroccon meal was fantastic.
But be prepared...... go to this very tradition hotel and enjoy but, the thrill is to throw youself into the excitment of the souks and square; meet the people, haggle in the markets and just enjoy the experience and atmosphere.
Thank you Hassan. Thank you people of Morocco. We will be back
Dave and Joan Stroh

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lovely Riad situated a few minutes’ walk from the centre of Marrakech. Hidden away from the a busy street in the Medina but close to everything you need. Small but comfortable rooms with air conditioning and a TV if you want one. Hassan was great at organising our trips and I recommend the 5 Elements Spa just around the corner which was great and very good value. The roof top area is peaceful and an ideal place to relax in between busier times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jonan 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.