We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time in Marroco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Riad Jonan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #75 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Faro, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“first time in Marroco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A bit concern when arrive but soon we found ourselfs very confortable.We were given best room they had without any extra charge.All staff (not mention any names)with no exceptions could not be more helpfull which contributed and help our adventures to become very sucessfull.
Breakfast could be served a bit early
Thank you all
Tony e Bea

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    86
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
330
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am so glad that both myself and friend stayed at Riad Jonan. They are very friendly, informative and what you see in pictures and reviews is correct. Perfect way to see the city. Thank you to all who looked after us and cooked for us. We will be back again.

Nikki and Clare

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful here. A great position and a great atmosphere in Riad. Can't imagine how 'picky someone would have to be to complain! The food is also great and reasonably priced in the Riad. We feel very lucky to have found this on our first visit to Marakech and Morocco. We have also found the local shopkeepers very friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I agree with the other totally positive reviews about Riad Jonan. I have been to Marrakech before, stayed in riads before - but this place is exceptional. Extremely clean rooms, well maintained, attentive staff, and a wonderful atmosphere. Stayed in a 'deluxe' room next to the plunge pool - ground floor with air conditioning much needed with outside temperatures 40+! Whilst we were there (4 nights) saw staff cleaning the plunge pool, pruning plants, changing light bulbs...no detail missed. Had a minor issue with a split shower hose but this was attended to by the time we'd had finished breakfast and returned to our room. Kept the room on for a late checkout (100MAD in total) as we didn't fly until 20.40hr - went out and came back mid afternoon fully expecting to find an un-made up room, but everything had been cleaned just as if we were staying the extra night - delightful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

As this was our first visit to Morocco we chose the Riad Jonan as we wanted to experience the "Real Marrakech." We were not disappointed! Warmly welcomed on our arrival by friendly, helpful staff we were left in no doubt that we could ask for anything we needed. By the time the mint tea was finished our bags were in our rooms and our Morrocan experience began. The Riad is situated within the city walls just a few minutes walk from the Saadian Tombs. It is along a quiet side street just of the Rue de la Kasbah which is bustling with life. A photo opportunity with every step. What sets this Riad above others is the attentive staff; from bringing fresh orange juice the moment you arrive for breakfast, to helping you buy spices in the local Kasbah, nothing seemed too much trouble we could not have asked for more. Thank you for making us feel so welcome we had an amazing time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Never having been to Marrakech, we did not know what to expect. The Jonan was an excellent place to stay. When we arrived we were greeted with a mint tea, whilst our bags were taken to our room, and provided with instructions and a map on where we might like to visit. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. They suggested places to eat and organised taxis. The food at the Jonan, where we ate on our last night, was the best food we ate all holiday! The Jonan is well placed, near to the bustling streets but in a quiet side street where the noise does not penetrate! A perfect base for a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had just crash landed after scaling Jebel Toubkal in the Atlas, and we needed a place to sleep, shower and recover. A fellow trekker and his partner on the trail recommended the Jonan. We showed up with no reservation, and they had just one room available, with twin beds and an awesome shower. Being the romantic couple that we are, we left one of the beds untouched and squeezed into the other. We slept like stones after wandering over to the J'ma el Fna for street food and some last minute bargaining for babouches in the souks.

We had already stayed several days in the Riad Malika prior to our trek, experiencing a new level of luxurious decadence. Here,we were looking for something different: a place to sleep and wake up early to catch a morning flight to Barcelona. The Jonan fit the bill: our room was $40 / night, immaculate, charming and comfortable. The attentive staff gave us all the information we needed, including a useful map to get to the square, and they served us an amazing breakfast with excellent coffee and omelettes. And this: when we arrived, we enjoyed the best mint tea we tried during our entire week in Morocco!

Highly recommended as a clean and quiet base from which to explore the city, located on a quiet street hidden around the corner from the bustle of the Kasbah neighborhood, steps from the Saadian tombs and a ten minute walk to the J'ma el Fna.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.