We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Save Saved
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Jonan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #79 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
liverpool
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Marrakech is a kaleidoscope of colour just as i expected. This boutique hotel was just perfect for us to stay in for our 4nights stay.The bedroom had all we needed in it,and we found the bed very comfortable.The service was outstanding by all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    79
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
297
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed here with a friend and couldnt have been happier with the service and atmosphere, Morocco offers so much. The room was clean comfortable and spacious all with local decor from the shower to the light fittings. Beds were made everyday with fresh towels and the air conditioning/heating worked a treat.
Breakfast was served fresh everyday and nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff, so friendly and willing to go that extra mile to help with directions or anything.
The property comes with a room terrace where one can relax in the warm arabian nights

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed peaceful from being around all parts in the riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We recently stayed 8 nights at Riad Jonan during Christmas holiday. This is a professional, well run and clean riad. The manager Hassan and his staff are very pleasant, warm, friendly and welcoming people. They make every effort to ensure that you enjoy your stay in Marrakech. The interior of the riad is stunning and atmospheric. The roof terrace is also lovely. The riad is a haven of peace in this hectic and lively city. Do ensure that you have the traditional Moroccan meal .This was the best meal that we had during our visit to Marrakech. We booked this for our final night. It was excellently cooked, the lamb tagine being so tender and subtly cooked. The breakfast was very good with the yogurt being the highlight for me. The pre-booked taxi through Riad Jonan worked very well. We were in the Riad within 30 minutes of arriving at Marrakech airport.
I would definitely recommend Riad Jonan to any friends coming to Marrakech and would happily stay again at this riad.

Room Tip: Standard Rooms are a bit small for a couple. The superior and de luxe rooms are much larger. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

What nice people work at Riad Jonan always on hand to answer all our questions.They all spoke english this is why we choose to stay in this Riad.The place is lovely inside you will get a nice suprise when you enter the frount door.It is so calm and relaxing,we can recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary Wharf
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Jonan in the second week of November. This review is shorter than my usual reviews and the reason for this is because we only spent one night here even though we originally booked 6 nights here. On arrival, we were greeted by a driver organised by the Jonan beforehand. The transfer was swift. Having arrived we were greeted and made to feel welcome; mint tea, pastries etc. We were then shown our room which was on the first floor. The room was too small for 2 adults and a toddler and we asked for an upgrade to a larger suite - which was agreed at a reduced rate for the remaining nights. The first night we all had to sleep in a double bed but to be fair we were informed at the time of booking that they did not have cots.

The décor was traditional and in keeping with the old style Riads. It was a pleasure to walk around and look at the ornaments and artwork. Note: The stairs leading up to the roof terrace are very steep.

Location takes some getting used to at first but it’s not as daunting as other reviewers have described. It is situated in a residential area so naturally the families and children loiter within the locality. There is however no real places to eat or get daily supplies. There is small ‘sweet shop’ style businesses dotted around. The nearest one is across the road from the Jonan where we bought fresh milk, crisps, chocolate and water for a reasonable price. We didn’t feel confident enough to visit the teahouses which there were plenty of. We did however walk to the main square which took about 40 minutes with a pushchair in tow. In hindsight, for the sake of £5-6 it’s probably better just to take a cab.

Regrettably, the Riad Jonan is not an ideal place for an energetic (and loud) 3 year old. Even the smallest sounds appear amplified ten fold in such a quite retreat. There was also a minimal amount of space for him to play in safely. We were conscious of this and after careful consideration decided to leave the Riad and book into a hotel after the first night. The Jonan management were very understanding and even organised a free transfer to our new (Nassim) hotel.

In summery, the Riad Jonan provides a real insight into a rustic Marrakech which can only enrich your holiday experience especially if you are a sole traveller or travelling as a couple. If however you have young children and require home comforts then the Riad Jonan (and perhaps Riads in general) is not best suited.

Finally, bought some colourful “coral” rocks from a shop just round the corner from the Riad Jonan. Three words. Fakes. Avoid. Gutted.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

In a good location to sites in marrakech.Hassan the manager was full of advice to make our trip special. The rooms a very clean and the meal we ate in one evening was delicious,will stay again when next in marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed at Riad Jonan for 5 nights as a surprise 70th birthday present. Our room was beautifully decorated in a traditional Moroccan style. The bed was really comfortable, the staff are warm, friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great (especially the freshly squeezed orange juice!). Overall the riad was spotlessly clean and the plunge pool very appealing - although we were there in Decmeber so it was not warm enough to try...

Generally, we had a great time, in a great location a 15min walk from the medina along the Rue le Kasbah (complete with monkeys, snake charmers and henna artisits) and we felt well looked after.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jonan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.