We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very courteous and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Habiba

Save Saved
You added Riad Habiba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Habiba
82, derb Jemmaa | Riad Zitoun Jdid - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #519 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very courteous and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Charming atmosphere, close to the souqs, main square, etc. Not easy to find or get to, though, as you have to negotiate a maze of unpaved alleyways.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

Our holiday did not get off to the best start as my boyfriend lost/had his wallet stolen in Marrakech airport. However,this experience was soon forgotten once we'd entered the beautiful riad. Aatif, the manager, was extremely sympathetic and even phoned Marrakech airport for us to see if the wallet had been found.

Despite our late arrival Aatif spent time ringing around the best of the local restaurants until he had secured us a booking at the excellent Kozybar. He then got a member of staff, Samir, to accompany us to the restaurant so that we didnt get lost on our first night - it is a warren! After the stress of losing the wallet the peaceful riad was just what we needed. Aatif, Samir and the rest of the staff had lit candles everywhere and it looked stunning. The interior of the riad is actually better than it appears on the photographs. We stayed in the split level Zen room which has a lovely - and huge - bath and is beautifully decorated.

Breakfast was delicious and was served on the sunny roof terrace with views across the rooftops of marrakech. The Riad is well situated away from all the noise but is still only streets away from the action.

We received excellent personal service at Riad Habiba, nothing was too much trouble for them and they made everything easy. They are extremely attentive, predicting your needs before you even have to ask.

I would definitely return!!

  • Liked — The extremely attentive staff and beautiful decor
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We would highly recommend staying in this riad. It is a really lovely riad that provides a true escape from the chaos of the medina of Marrakech. The staff are extremely helpful and always at your service. They are the kind of people you'd like to sit down and share a mint tea with!! We were picked up from the taxi rank (unlike other riads we stayed at) and welcomed to a pot of mint tea. Atif (who spoke English; something which is not very common in Morocco!) suggested some places to visit which was great as we didn't have long in Marrakech. The terrace is lovley and a great place to relax. Our room was gorgeous and very clean..and breakfast was beautiful. The riad is also perfectly located to the Jemma el Fna. Do not miss the opportunity of staying in this riad.

  • Liked — Everthing!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

My fiancée and I visited Marrakesh in October 2007 and stayed at Riad Habiba for 3 nights. Our stay in this riad was one of our favorite memories in our two week journey in Morocco. Not only was the riad beautiful and comfortable – but we also got engaged in its rooftop terrace! We stayed in the Maroc room. It was very lovely and chic. The whole house was tastefully decorated and well-maintained. I liked that it was not stuffy at all. The riad used to be a part of Palace Bahia and is well located. The neighborhood was pretty quiet and the neighbors were pretty friendly. We felt safe going home at night. It’s only about minutes walk to the “The Square” and very short walk to the medina gate where you can take taxis. The staff at the riad made our stay much more special. Aatif, who manages the house, was simply wonderful. He was very professional and very helpful. He arranged for a car and a driver for us for a day trip to the High Atlas. He even offered to run to the train station to buy our train tickets for Casablanca. And Samir always assisted us with a warm smile – from serving us breakfast, opening a bottle of wine to walking us to the taxi stand. They made us feel safe and comfortable during our stay. I highly recommend this beautiful riad.

  • Liked — Tasteful design, comfort, location, staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. Everything about our stay here was perfect. The rooms were nicely decorated and were very comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to give us information about Marrakech. We ate in the riad 2 nights and the food was freshly prepared and cooked just for us as we were the only residents eating there that night, it was absolutely heavenly and was served up on the roof terrace which made it even more atmospheric. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

Halcyon, hypnotic, hedonistic, these are the best adjectives to describe Morrocco and this riad particularly.

Old Medina Marrakesh is like a scene from Dickensian England, but any
urban prejudices of European city dwellers are soon forgotten once the door of this small, boutique property is opened, invariably by a smiling Samir or the truly wonderful Atif, the latter of whom especially made our stay not only enjoyable but a memorable experience from a pampering and emotional perspective..he really is THAT good. Another reviewer mentioned that not many of the staff spoke English, well we found that an irrelevance, we were in North Africa after all and Atif's english was of a high standard and he was more than happy to converse in French or Arabic assuming your linguisitic skills can cover a similar range.

Our bedroom was long and narrow, but very clean and quiet, even though located on the ground floor near the main door. The communal areas are all beautifully appointed, and the only noise was the occasional bustling of the domestic staff as they went about their business or prepared a light meal for you. Although proper meals can be taken, we preferred to eat out and experience the food of 'The Place' and further afield, what we ate in the riad was good, especially the fried, eggy doughnuts for breakfast, in whose over indulgence our expanding waistlines bears testimony!

Enjoy Riad Habiba, you won't be disappointed.

Kate & David, Yorkshire, England

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — bit chilly a night!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London. UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

We stayed in Riad Habiba during the high season (Christmas) for two nights. I could not fault this riad (and we had seen many during our two weeks in Morocco). And it was an easy 5-10min walk to the Medina/souks etc.

The entire place was well kept and clean, with a wonderful, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We stayed in the African themed room (one of four themed rooms) and it was everything the website claimed.

There were no nasty surprises here and well worth the price.
The staff spoke both english and french and were helpful.
Would stay there again...

  • Liked — The location and atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Habiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Habiba

Address: 82, derb Jemmaa | Riad Zitoun Jdid - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Riad Habiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Habiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.