We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Habiba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Habiba to your Saves list
Riad Habiba
82, derb Jemmaa | Riad Zitoun Jdid - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #603 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very pleasant break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from a three night break at the Habiba as a 40th birthday treat for my daughter . We had a very early flight and arrived feeling very jaded with lack of sleep. We were greeted with warm smiles , a very welcome cup of tea and a lovely breakfast (initially we said we weren't hungry but we managed it very well) pancakes, fresh bread and jam fruit and yoghurt.

Our package included a meal on the first night , lovely veg starters followed by the local pie, not so keen on the pie as too much pastry for me (although we did get one whole pie each which would have served four!) but apparently the lamb tagine there was very good.

The riad has been very well restored and very shabby chic perhaps leaning to the shabby side but quite charming, lovely courtyard with the tiniest plunge pool ever, they also had a pet tortoise tottering around quite close to the pool, but luckily had never fallen in.. We had breakfast on the roof terrace which was like another world as the bird song was mostly the only sound you could hear even though we were very close to the noisy main square. Lovely spot to chill out after the days sightseeing.

Very central for the main square and souks, also close to the old palace and not far from the tombs and museum in the other direction. Locals on the whole very friendly and helpful and although the riad is down a back alleyway we generally felt quite safe being two women on our own.

We also had a massage and use of their hammam and I am sure that was equal if not better than some of the more upmarket ones although the hammam itself could do with a bit of a spruce up

We left it last minute to book for a trip into the mountains, but this was sorted for us at about 10pm prior to going the next morning, It was probably al little more than some of the other companies but it was a lovely relaxing day and we felt it was worth it, my daughter even had a birthday cake waiting for her on our return (complete with candles.)

It would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room, although it was always provided when asked, and a complimentary bottle of water would go down well. All in it was a lovely break, with helpful and friendly staff at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we stayed only one night (after returning from a desert tour) but had a great time: we were upgraded free of charge after having booked via Splendia (part of the Club benefits) and got a beautiful room: space, fantastic decoration. The breakfast was served even though we had to leave early at 7.30 AM. The Riad is in the Mellah district just 10 min walk from Djema-el-Fnaa. Thank you to the team!

Room Tip: go for the African or Morocco room when available. Their decoration is unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We chose Riad Habiba considering the size and decoration of the room, the location and the price (a huge discount offered by Splendia at the time writing). Despite a few negative reviews on facilities I read when choosing, I knew we would be ok there because every reviewer was praising the hospitality of the people at the riad. And I was right. My husband was not well on arrival and all of the three staff members really made every effort for us to be comfortable throughout our stay in the riad. The level of the service and hospitality was second to none. We made several special requests and all of them were met with no hesitance. We have traveled extensively all over the world and had stayed in much more expensive Riads in Marrakesh but would go back to Habiba to feel at home. I would recommend Riad Habiba to anybody who wants to stay in a well decorated, reasonably priced riad in Medina (even with a full tariff it is still reasonable), provided they do not need a swimming pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Moroccan room on the first floor, which is nicely and appropriately decorated with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodoigne, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Thanks to the Samira and Samir for the wonderful time in this oasis of peace in the middle of the medina. We spend 7 nights at the Riad and thanks to the help of the manager Aatif evrything was perfectly aranged as we wished. From the airport transfer to a organized trip to Atlas mountains and the Sahara everything worked out without any problem. What ever question or wishes we had the team helped us ;) Dont miss the oppurtunity and take a cooking course in Marrocain cuisine with Samira . Thanks again for this wonderful day, definately one of the highlights of our trip.
We will come back for sure ;)

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are at first floor, we had the African downstairs and was very satisfied as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed with two friends, we took a room each all of them were very spacious and extremely comfortable.
This riad retains so much original charm.
The staff and service were exceptional, nothing is too much trouble.
Spotless and great value.
location great for the main square and also the museums.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just come back after a week's stay at this lovely Riad.
I was a little concerned that there hadn't been any reviews for a year so. When we arrived at the Riad and were lead down a very quiet alley way, my concern grew... what had I booked?
All doubt was soon eradicated as we walked into the beautiful central courtyard of the property. With only 4 rooms in the place, it felt very homely but still within easy walking distance to the main square in the Medina.
Samir the night porter was always smiling and really helpful.
The only issues we had were that the Wifi was pretty hit and miss and there were no locks on the door (but since you had to ring the doorbell to get into the main entrance, this was not a major concern)
Overall, I would highly recommend the place. It is relatively inexpensive and we very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Zen room (which from having a peek into the others, I think was a good bet- fantast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

NO WAY SHOULD THIS RIAD BE SO LOW ON TRIP ADVISOR. My wife and I have been to many hotels over the world and paid £800 a night for a room but this place has to be one of my favorites. The charm the service can not be beaten, we were met by Samir at the taxi rank and he showed us to the Riad, where we were greeted by the best mint tea I tasted in Marrakech (over my 4 day stay). Will relaxed in the courtyard for a bit, got given advice on restaurant and a map (this became very useful). We where then given the whole guided tour of the Riad and then finally are amazing room (Zen Room) would also recommend the African and Moroccan Rooms these where also over good size and style. The room was very spacious, very clean and had fresh flowers in the room what were changed everyday. We then unpacked and headed to the square, bit of advice keep looking at the map you may get hassled but not as much as if you get lost. After exploring the souks and a bite to eat on the square (cafe Paris) great views of the square we headed back to the Riad where Samir made us mint tea and lit the fire for us to relax in the lounge. Samir was so great he gave us advice and told me more about Moroccan life he also showed me how to make mint what was really nice. The next day we took breakfast on the roof terrace with views over Morocco and towards the jemma el fna. For breakfast we had yogurt, breads, pancakes, eggs and the most amazing orange juice this is good all over Marrakech . The lady owner is also very helpful she arranged trips for us and always made sure we were happy. You will not regret booking this place I promise. Other things we suggest are Kozy Bar, Maison Arabe, a cooking course and getting lost. Tangine restaurant is ok better for the belly dancers than the food and service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Habiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Habiba

Address: 82, derb Jemmaa | Riad Zitoun Jdid - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #603 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Habiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Habiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.