We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Amira to your Saves list
Riad Amira
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   52, 23 Derb Benzina - La Kasbah | Medina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #428 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Great location, rooms well mantained and had character about them, breakfast set you up for the day. Plenty of little spots to chill out in. Staff all polite and very helpful. I would definitely go back to Riad Amira.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    19
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I've been in Riad Amira for 3 nights and had a lovely experience. When I've booked it,I was in dougth between a Riad or a Hotel...fortunately I choose de Riad! It´s very well localized,just 10 min walking of the main square,and everybody working there is very friendly and attentive. If you stay here you want regreat it. The breakfest is simple but the bread is so good...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

I would highly recommend a stay in Riad Amira. It's a lovely little riad hidden away down a back street in the medina (old town). Immersed with the locals, you'll be made to feel at home by the lovely staff. My boyfriend and I were in Marrakech for 5 days, so the staff at Riad Amira arranged a taxi for us for the day to travel out to the Atlas Mountails, stopping along the way for photo opportunities- a great day out, and very cheap. The weather was mild when we were there in January, but we're planning a trip back when it's warmer so we can make use of the lovely little swimming pool in the riad's courtyard. It's not fancy, so if you're used to 5* you may be disappointed, but it's beautifully decorated and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Beautiful riad with amazingly helpful and friendly staff. They were never in your face but always did everything they could to help.

Short walk from Square and souks. Nice evening meal or lunch if required and ordered.
Very quiet so easy to sleep.

I am well traveled but have never seen such chaotic and dangerous driving. Great care must be taken crossing roads. Though the locals are friendly nobody appears to do anything for nothing. If someone shows you the way or gives directions they expect paying and some can be a little aggressive when refused. I found saying NO loudly and firmly but with a smile and walking on worked best.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

The Riad is beautiful and the girls who run it were absolutely fabulous. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely and we had an evening meal which was also really nice. The biggest selling point for us was that it has a little pool and as we went in August we really did need a dip in the pool! Great value for money - room was comfortable and very clean. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Set within the city walls, in the Kasbah, Riad Amira is indeed a caven of calm. Once walking through the door, you are welcomed into a stunning Riad together with a plunge pool ideal in the heat of Marrakesh in August. The double bed sunloungers on the roof top were fantastic and the rooms were traditionally decorated and kept to a high standard. Breakfasts are lovely and access to the Souks are a 15 min walk away. Most impressive about this Riad however, is the service. All of the ladies working here helped with booking taxis and phoning tourist spots to check opening times. They were very onliging and nothing was a probelm. A big thank you to them all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Seeing the few reviews of the Riad on the website I decided to share my experience with Riad Amira even if it was in September 2006.
We stayed there a week with my wife (with a 2 days break in Essaouira) and had one of the best hotel experience in my life there. This was mainly due to the exceptional service offered by the owners Tim & Alix.

You Never Get a Second Chance to Make a First Impression: they didn’t need it as we had been upgraded with a superior room at our arrival.
I know that the entrance of the riad has now changed since my trip but I’m sure the sensation must remain the same. You were just outside in a crowdy, noisy place (well in Marrakech of Course !!) and just pass the door and you are in an incredibly quiet and peaceful place with it adorable patio ! You may be surprised by the narrow street where the riad is located but don’t worry it is really safe and not difficult to find. Furthermore as the hotel as a dedicated taxi service you will certainly often use it for your night trips.

The rooms were great with a big double bed, a large bathroom, air conditioning and classical Moroccan furniture. The hotel is well furbished and the top roof place is ideal to have a drink before or after dinner. The “swimming pool” is too tight to swim but large enough to cool yourself and give the patio its unique atmosphere!

But the main asset of the riad is its service. The staff is excellent and the place is always clean. As for the food it was excellent, probably the best we had in Morocco. Breakfasts are great but do not forget to book a dinner at the hotel. Traditional Food is prepared by a Moroccan woman and it was just excellent nothing else to say.

As for the owners Tim & Alix they were just great with us, giving tips and advices about where to go, what to do and so on. Always available to book a restaurant or a taxi for you.
They even booked our bus ticket to Essaouira. Both graduated from a high class Hotel school they try to offer a taylor made 5 stars service in a traditional Moroccan accommodation!

Finally we had really friendly relationship with them and liked to discuss with them at night.

In riad Amira, you’ll feel at home in Marrakech. As there are only few rooms you’ll also have the opportunity to meet other guests if you want and share part of life experience.

I definitely want to come back again in Riad Amira and would advice to anyone to go there.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amira

Address: 52, 23 Derb Benzina - La Kasbah | Medina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Amira 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Amira is composed of 7 beautiful individually decorated rooms blending the best of east and west. Only a short walk away from the Jemma El Fna square and easily accessible by car the Amira is perfectly placed to avoid the stress of the center while being close enough to stroll in when you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Amira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amira Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.