We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet riad close to the old centre of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Riad Aida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angsana Riad Aida
Save
You added Angsana Riad Aida to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   59 derb Lamouagni | Medina of Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #749 of 1,126 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely quiet riad close to the old centre of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The Riad Aida is one of six riads in the Medina run by the same group, Angsana, each with something a little different to offer. We made use of the excellent restaurant at the Si Said both for lunch and dinner. The same Riad also offered a hugely relaxing massage service conducted by Thai-trained masseuses.

The service was superb in all of them and in ours we were looked after by Adil Chantar, our charming host. He was attentive yet discreet, nothing was too much trouble.

The elegantly furnished Riad Aida is in the centre of the Medina and close to the markets, the Palaces, the Mosques and the extraordinary square, the Jemaa el Fna, where all the life of the East seems to go on. Restaurants are everywhere, one in particular, the Tanjia, was outstanding, as much for the generosity and hospitality of its manager as for its tasty food and good service.

March 2009

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This Riad is part of the best hotel/resort chain in my opinion Angsana/Banyan tree. What a mystical place this is. staying at this old town palace was amazing. Their in-house massages and hamam where excellent. Nothing feels like having breakfast in your own personal center court. The temperatures on the roof are rising and good for sunbathing. cooling off can be done in the jacuzzi style roof pool. excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Thank you so much petra and the entire staff here at this riad! Our first riad did not have ac working so we were moved to this beautiful riad. The breakfast served at riad said was great. I highly recommended anyone traveling to marrakech and staying here to contact the riad first for hotel transport. We did not book coming to the riad and had a very uncomfortable situation, but leaving the wonderful staff arranged it for us and it was very reasonable. Petra and staff left us with a nice bottle of wine since we had to be moved and gave us a very nice note!! I cannot wait to go back to marrakech and when I do I will be staying at this riad. The hotel staff offered us security if we felt we needed it and gave us a cellphone to use if we were lost. We never had to use the phone and we always felt very safe. I want to thank all of you whom made our stay so wonderful!! Thank you!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

From the time we arrived to the time we left we had nothing but 100% attentive service from Mohammed, Cous Cous and all the staff. We were escorted to the sister Riad where the restaurant was located for each meal & we were given a mobile phone in case we needed to contact the staff. If there was no one at reception we simply called and someone would arrive - even late at night when we had a problem with our air conditioning. Food was also really good - no Thai food was offered although we were told it was available - admittedly we didn't ask as we wanted to sample Moroccan food.

Room Tip: Would suggest first floor rooms away from the street & with natural light looking into courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We drove from Agadir to Marakech and arrived in the early evening. At which point we realized that the Google map we had printed out did not actually show the location of the hotel based on its listed address. So we go to an international hotel and use their computer... the address does not show up on either Google Maps or Mapquest. So then we call the number listed on both the reservation and the website. No answer! So we email. No anwser!

We are surprised as this is a 5* hotel. We try to call the Banyan Tree numbers in the US and UK but they toll free numbers which we can not direct dial. We try 5 different taxi drivers, the concierge at one hotel and then another hotel. But no one can locate the address of the Angsana on a map. After a few hours of this, we check into another hotel.

The next morning the Angsana finally calls us back. The listed number is for reservations and no one answers after 6pm they tell us. We should have called a different number. I ask them to show us where this number is listed anywhere online from our reservations, to their website. They could not. But they still acted like it was our fault since we had not scheduled an airport transfer. But we were traveling around Morocco by car why would we schedule something like that? I told them we should not have to pay for the night and should be reimbursed our prepaid amount. After multiple emails and calls to get this resolved, I finally just called my credit card company, which promptly reimbursed me the amount, because the situation was clearly ridiculous.

Even motels have a listed phone number and answer it, let alone hotels of this calibre and price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Angsana Riad is a small clean and comfortable guesthouse with good service. The Hotel manager Walid and Cous Cous gave us very good and personal service. All the staff was friendly. The room was special and food was good, specially the Thai Food. One of the gesthouse possibilities was cooking lesson in maroccos food that we like. Very nice Riad where you can expired the amazing Medina in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

A first taste of the real Marrakech in the Medina.
All the staff were very attentive without being intrusive, from providing mint tea to walking us to other parts of the city in the dark.
The only downside was the trek through extensive renovation work in the area which is 10-15 mins from Djemaa el Fna

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Angsana Riad Aida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Riad Aida

Address: 59 derb Lamouagni | Medina of Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #749 of 1,126 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Riad Aida 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Angsana Riad Aida Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Riad Aida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.