We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Dar Karma, Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Karma

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Karma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Karma
51, Derb El Mennabha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #63 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Riad Dar Karma, Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A very elegant Riad. I chose this property after many hours of research for the many areas to sit and relax- and wasn't disappointed. It has 2 courtyards, one with a lovely pool with loungers and a "tented" sitting area and a second with seating around orange trees. The roof has more seating, loungers and a huge bed-like lounging area. With only 6 rooms you will always have a corner to yourself. The breakfast was very nice including fresh orange juice, pastries, bread & good jam. I had one evening meal which was excellent. The room was beautiful, overlooking the pool, and a bargain as I was given a free upgrade from the standard room I had booked. The standard room I should have had still looked lovely, just smaller. There is a large difference between the prices of the cheapest room and bigger suites and I would say the surroundings correlate to the price of the suites- meaning that the riad is a bargain for the cheaper rooms as all the facilities are communal. There is even a spa (which is free to use without treatments). The only negative is that it is situated in the southern half of the Kasbah so it is a 20 minute walk to the main Djem el Fna square. It is, however, easy to find (once shown) and taxis can come to just around the corner. There are many better situated riads (this is my 6th) but many worse situated ones way out in the northern medina or east of the palace. I had read some reviews about lack of locks on the doors- my room over the pool and the standard double next door both had locks. Overall this is the most beautiful riad I have visited for approximately the same price (I received 15% discount for a stay of 4 nights and over) and it is brighter and has far more space than many others.

Room Tip: 2 rooms over pool quieter and best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
51
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

A gem of a hotel hidden down an alley way off the main track and hubbub of the medina.
There is a real sense of calm when you enter and you can't hear any noise from outside.
There are lots of comfortable seating areas to lounge around and a fantastic roof terrace.
Location is great in terms of being central to the main tourist areas of interest. However I would not be comfortable as a single woman walking alone to the Riad at night . That said there were three of us and we did not get hassled except by the occasional person trying to get us to visit one of the cooperative shops.
Service in the hotel was great and our evening meal on arrival was delicious- better than anywhere else we tried.
I'm only sorry we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbon, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was there with my husband for a week. It was fantastic as it is an original marocaine hotel. The staff ist very professional, the meals are fine and also the breakfast. We can recommand it without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We had the most incredible time. Thank you to all the staff for the amazing service and making it truely feel like a home away from home. The location is great with all the main spots within easy walking distance. The Hammam is really good and well worth paying for the treatments and massage to get the full experience. Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We got married at the Dar Karma in October last year and the place was perfect. We booked the whole riad for our families for the days before, during and after the wedding.

I can not recommend this riad enough. It is ornate and richly decorated in traditional Moroccan fashion, but still manages to be homey, with a vintage vibe. The suites and courtyards are simply and quietly beautiful. One of the courtyards has a good sized pool, especially in comparison to the tiny pools you will find in most riads in the medina. The decorative wooden ceilings have been preserved to wonderful effect.

It's true, the staff is more comfortable in French and Arabic than in English, but your efforts will be well rewarded. The staff were all very eager to please. Stephanie, who I believe is from France, manages the riad, and she deserves my special thanks. She has great taste and great ideas and worked with our wedding planner to put together a wedding beyond my imaginings. Stephanie put together the most fantastic hen party at the riad for all of us ladies the night before our marriage. We all gathered around the pool for manicures and hammam treatments (the riad has a fabulous hammam) and then had massages in the suites. We wrapped up the night with tapas and cool lounge music enjoyed around low tables and leather couches set up poolside. Best party ever! ... That is, until it was outdone by the even more spectacular wedding they put on for us the day after. The food was amazing and the decorations even better, and the staff worked hard to make it all work like clockwork. Kudos to Stephanie and her team for making our dreams come true!

One tip: You might want to book lunches with the riad for days you are staying in. There are a couple of kebab stands on Rue de la Kasbah and a very swish hotel with dining options further down on Rue de la Kasbah, but there are no real restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: The suites are plush and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is an absolutely beautiful place. All the touches are just quaint and luxurious and unique. the staff were nice and the service was good. My one concern is that you don't get a key to your room...they have a slide bar you can lock when you're in it, but when you leave you can't lock the room. I had no issues trusting the staff, but there are other people staying there and one never knows their intentions. Especially given that I was a woman alone in the room, it felt creepy going into my room at night and thinking that someone could be in there. Also, the owner was largely absent because she was sick. When we did see her we let her know that we were leaving very early the next morning and so wanted to settle up our bill (just one bottle of wine) that day so it would be taken care of. She said "ok" but then we never saw her again and never saw a bill. The next morning as we were literally walking out the door to our taxi and handing a tip to the hotel staff, he told us we owed $ for the bottle of wine. We had seen him the night before and at breakfast but for some reason he waited until we were walking out to bring it up. We had no more local currency left and he wanted us to pay in Euro. We are Americans and only had dollars so were back and forth trying to figure out the amount when we should have been on our way to the airport. Also, we tried to schedule a pedicure but the language barrier was too much and it didn't happen. If you don't speak Arabic or French, it will be a challenge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was not the absolute best of the four riads i stayed at in morocco, but it was by far the best value. for the price, this is a beautiful riad and would recommend for budget travelers. there were rose petals laid out in our gorgeous, upgraded room, with an incredible bathroom that was like a private hammam. we also ate dinner here and the food was superb. we were very impressed. i would say maybe they could use a little more staff to better service, but not if it would increase the price!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Karma

Address: 51, Derb El Mennabha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of Marrakech's historical center with easy access by car, Dar Karma Riad is an exclusive boutique hotel with 6 rooms (3 suites and 3 singles), and welcomes up to 14 people. With large open patios, housing includes heated swimming pool, hammam, beautiful terraces, internet wifi everywhere.Bread, jams, Moroccan pastries as well as the whole gastronomic European and Moroccan cooking served at the Dar Karma Riad are home made from carefully selected organic products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Dar Karma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Karma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Karma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.