We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic original Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Karma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Karma to your Saves list
Riad Dar Karma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51, Derb El Mennabha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arbon, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic original Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was there with my husband for a week. It was fantastic as it is an original marocaine hotel. The staff ist very professional, the meals are fine and also the breakfast. We can recommand it without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
63
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had the most incredible time. Thank you to all the staff for the amazing service and making it truely feel like a home away from home. The location is great with all the main spots within easy walking distance. The Hammam is really good and well worth paying for the treatments and massage to get the full experience. Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We got married at the Dar Karma in October last year and the place was perfect. We booked the whole riad for our families for the days before, during and after the wedding.

I can not recommend this riad enough. It is ornate and richly decorated in traditional Moroccan fashion, but still manages to be homey, with a vintage vibe. The suites and courtyards are simply and quietly beautiful. One of the courtyards has a good sized pool, especially in comparison to the tiny pools you will find in most riads in the medina. The decorative wooden ceilings have been preserved to wonderful effect.

It's true, the staff is more comfortable in French and Arabic than in English, but your efforts will be well rewarded. The staff were all very eager to please. Stephanie, who I believe is from France, manages the riad, and she deserves my special thanks. She has great taste and great ideas and worked with our wedding planner to put together a wedding beyond my imaginings. Stephanie put together the most fantastic hen party at the riad for all of us ladies the night before our marriage. We all gathered around the pool for manicures and hammam treatments (the riad has a fabulous hammam) and then had massages in the suites. We wrapped up the night with tapas and cool lounge music enjoyed around low tables and leather couches set up poolside. Best party ever! ... That is, until it was outdone by the even more spectacular wedding they put on for us the day after. The food was amazing and the decorations even better, and the staff worked hard to make it all work like clockwork. Kudos to Stephanie and her team for making our dreams come true!

One tip: You might want to book lunches with the riad for days you are staying in. There are a couple of kebab stands on Rue de la Kasbah and a very swish hotel with dining options further down on Rue de la Kasbah, but there are no real restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: The suites are plush and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is an absolutely beautiful place. All the touches are just quaint and luxurious and unique. the staff were nice and the service was good. My one concern is that you don't get a key to your room...they have a slide bar you can lock when you're in it, but when you leave you can't lock the room. I had no issues trusting the staff, but there are other people staying there and one never knows their intentions. Especially given that I was a woman alone in the room, it felt creepy going into my room at night and thinking that someone could be in there. Also, the owner was largely absent because she was sick. When we did see her we let her know that we were leaving very early the next morning and so wanted to settle up our bill (just one bottle of wine) that day so it would be taken care of. She said "ok" but then we never saw her again and never saw a bill. The next morning as we were literally walking out the door to our taxi and handing a tip to the hotel staff, he told us we owed $ for the bottle of wine. We had seen him the night before and at breakfast but for some reason he waited until we were walking out to bring it up. We had no more local currency left and he wanted us to pay in Euro. We are Americans and only had dollars so were back and forth trying to figure out the amount when we should have been on our way to the airport. Also, we tried to schedule a pedicure but the language barrier was too much and it didn't happen. If you don't speak Arabic or French, it will be a challenge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was not the absolute best of the four riads i stayed at in morocco, but it was by far the best value. for the price, this is a beautiful riad and would recommend for budget travelers. there were rose petals laid out in our gorgeous, upgraded room, with an incredible bathroom that was like a private hammam. we also ate dinner here and the food was superb. we were very impressed. i would say maybe they could use a little more staff to better service, but not if it would increase the price!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Riad Dar Karma was literally one of the finest riads we've ever been to. The welcome was magnificent (even though it was already late in the evening), and a delicious diner was waiting for us on the courtyard with candlelight. Everyone of the staff was so nice, and the owner did everything she could to make us feel totally comfortable and relaxed. We had one of the best massages ever (in the wonderful suite). During our stay everything was so quiet and peaceful... Whenever in Marrakech again, I will certainly return to this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a very well kept hotel that had once been the mansion to the King's translator; the grounds are spotless with many quiet places to hang out. The staff was discreet but welcoming. They do not cater to any one nation so be prepared for a lack of English reading material. Breakfast was elegant and simple but very well done. My wife and I were here as part of a side excursion from a cruise, so we had a guide, which was good because this place would have been hard to find on our own. Tip-- if you like taking pictures, wake up in the early morning and walk the alleyways, the light is wonderful. Our tour package was from Ya'lla Tours USA, I really recommend them, but make sure you establish in advance what you want tot do (scenery, museums, etc). Enjoy Marrakech, it's a gem; Casablanca is larger and noisy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Karma

Address: 51, Derb El Mennabha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Karma 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of Marrakech's historical center with easy access by car, Dar Karma Riad is an exclusive boutique hotel with 6 rooms (3 suites and 3 singles), and welcomes up to 14 people. With large open patios, housing includes heated swimming pool, hammam, beautiful terraces, internet wifi everywhere.Bread, jams, Moroccan pastries as well as the whole gastronomic European and Moroccan cooking served at the Dar Karma Riad are home made from carefully selected organic products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Karma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Karma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Karma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.