We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Karma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Karma to your Saves list
Riad Dar Karma
51, Derb El Mennabha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We would highly recommend Dar Karma. Fantastic hotel in a good location. The staff are genuinely helpful and we had a lovely stay. We stayed at Dar Karma twice - at the beginning and end of our Morocco trip. Modern hospitality in a traditional riad. James & Alison

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have just come to the end of a 5 night stay in Riad Karma, and I am not ready to leave! From the first moment we stepped through the red door to be welcomed into a scented and peaceful courtyard, Riad Karma has proven to be the highlight of our 3 week trip to Europe and Morocco. The Riad has quite a unique blend of feeling thoroughly peaceful and relaxed, while providing attention to every possible detail, whether in a simple mint tea on a tray to a delicious and beautifully presented evening meal. Having travelled extensively over the past decade, and stayed in many types of accommodation around the world, both my husband and I have decided that Riad Karma is an extremely special place to which we will be sure to return. The rooms, decor, pool area and terrace, as described by others, are indeed lovely, but I believe it is the staff and their genuine interest in, and care of, the guests, which make this such a special place. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I don't normally stay in such expensive places so it was a bit of a luxury. Stayed here mainly because my friend wanted a place with a pool (she didn't use the pool in the end!). The location is good for the Saadian tombs and palaces. It's about a 20 to 25 minute walk to the Place Djemaa el Fna which is ok during the day but at night it's best to take a cab.

Pros - Very safe, clean and very quiet. Free wi-fi, very nice hammam which you can use for free and pool. Fantastic communal spaces ranging from the area by the pool to the rooftop terrace which is great to use for sunbathing as it's very private. Also the salon is very cosy and has a great view of the pool. The staff were very friendly and tried to answer our questions as best they could, some have limited English so knowing French is an advantage. It appeared that most people who stay here are French speaking. The owner is very amiable and if you have any questions he is happy to help.

Cons - For the price we paid I expected a fantastic breakfast but it wasn't. I have stayed in much cheaper places where the breakfast was much better than here. It was the same every day and by the fourth morning I was getting bored of it. The orange juice was excellent though. I think having the option of muesli and fruit would be a great addition to the breakfast table. Local knowledge of restaurants is limited as already mentioned by other people on here. In the locality of Dar Karma there isn't much choice for restaurants except a few that are a bit fancy and overpriced so best to head to another area for dinner or eat in a local place which we did on one night and it was very good and cheap.

Overall I would say that it's a good place to stay as a treat for a few nights but no more - and whilst there do make use of the terrace, pool and hammam otherwise it feels a bit of a waste. I would recommend this place to some of my friends and family - and obviously not to backpackers and those on a budget.

Room Tip: all rooms look out onto an inner courtyard so it's mainly a question of budget as to what room y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

What an incredibly beautiful and tranquil residence Riad Dar Karma is. There is something quite special about a residence, and I mean that and not a hotel, which has the ability to transport oneself from the madness of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech's streets to a place of privacy, peace and warmth.

Riad Dar Karma is a private house turned into a guest house par excellence. The service from the owners is quite special, looking each and every single one of our needs without a moment's thought, hesitation or reluctance. This was true of all the staff, whether the cook or the maid or the waiter. The rooms are beautifully laid out, decorated in mute tones of earth and stone and supremely comfortable. We stayed in two different rooms during our week stay and each had a character of its own. The courtyard of orange trees and candle light was mystical, and there was even a small lap pool and a fantastic hot sauna room.

The roof terrace was our chosen hangout location, being that we were there in April and the weather was a lovely 32C throughout the day. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace in the sunshine and is a typical Moroccan affair with flatbreads, yoghurt, fruit and so forth. All the juice is freshly squeezed there and then. Mint tea was on call throughout the whole day, and even if we got back late we could order a tagine or something similar from the kitchen staff.

One of the most beautiful moments of our stay was the early prayer call in the morning. Granted, at 5am it is a bit early, but the haunting sound of the call across the Medina's roofs and alleyways makes the hairs on your neck stand on end.

Marrakech itself is a crazy mishmash of people, scooters, donkeys and tourists, and has a quite unique charm. The souks are endless mazes of stalls and the noise is sometimes quite deafening! What a lovely place though to visit, perhaps not for as long as a week unless you go elsewhere, but worth a visit all the same. And if you want the ultimate experience, Riad Dar Karma has to be on the list.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at this Riad with friends for 4 days early March and had the most wonderful time. Great location in the Medina but still a beautiful peaceful haven. Lovely traditional rooms over looking a couryard with orange trees and tree lights or the large plunge pool surrounded with cushions and tea lights. There is a smell of sandlewood and amber in the air. The roof terrace over looks the stunning snow covered atlas mountains and this time of year was 24 degrees with clear blue skies.
Each morning the breakfast was served and they lit the wood fire. We ate in the Riad one evening which was the best meal we had, we would def recommend, they have their own cook who is wonderful. Wine is available too.

The team there are great they just leave you to relax and enjoy but are there for anything you need. I have to say the lady who cleaned the rooms was fantastic, we didnt expect it but she unpacked our cases and laid everything out on the shelves, she ensured all our bits and pieces were all lined out and the room was immaculate every day, she was great so thank you.

We used the Hamam which is well worth it after a day shopping, all you need to do is let someone know when you want it and they will invite a lady from outside to come at the designated time. A really good scrub and steam and hot water, total bliss all for approx £15 each.

We travel a lot and have been all over the world but I have to say we will be back.

Wendy & lawrence

Room Tip: There are 6 room two of which are suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We celebrated our 10th Anniversary in March 2011. Our 1st time staying in a Riad in Marrekesh and didn't know what to expect. The experience from arriving to flying home, just fabulous. We were picked up in style from the airport, we weaved through the tiny streets and entered the Medina which was very hustle and bustle, and then we were greated and taken down several small allyways to arrive at a huge wooded door. The smells and pure silence as soon as we stepped into the Riad wow it was like we had entered our very own labyrinth adventure.

We enjoyed the whole experience so much we are going again in December for some xmas shopping with our family........This time staying in a Suite for a little luxury. however all the rooms are gorgeous. The Hamman, food and Roof Top Terrace where we had breakfast every morning was just beautiful...Nothing was ever too much trouble. Love people and great food, fantastic location, 15min walk from the souks. so you had a mixture of hustle and bustle and then quietness on arrival to the souk, located just round the corner from the Tombs. xxx

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Right in the center of the medina, Riad Dar Karma is peaceful with very nice people and a great roof terrace. When you get fed up of getting lost in the medina, it is a lovely place to relax. There is also a hamman there which you can book for you and your partner. The food there is also great, better than other places in the Medina. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Karma

Address: 51, Derb El Mennabha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of Marrakech's historical center with easy access by car, Dar Karma Riad is an exclusive boutique hotel with 6 rooms (3 suites and 3 singles), and welcomes up to 14 people. With large open patios, housing includes heated swimming pool, hammam, beautiful terraces, internet wifi everywhere.Bread, jams, Moroccan pastries as well as the whole gastronomic European and Moroccan cooking served at the Dar Karma Riad are home made from carefully selected organic products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Karma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Karma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Karma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.