We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamlike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Safar

Save Saved
You added Riad Safar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Safar
29, Derb Ouihah Quartier Sidi Abdelaziz | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #330 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dreamlike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We peeped inside a couple of other riads but this one was by far the loveliest we saw; it was peaceful, tastefully decorated, and had a very pretty terrace with plunge pool. The courtyard and our room were beautiful too, and the service excellent. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011 via mobile

That was JUST a wonderful time!!!!!
I Really loved it, and recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We have stayed at Riad Safar from December 10, 2010 thru December 13, 2010 which were the most amazing and relaxing days we have experienced in a long time. Mr. Hamid and staff were very accommodating and helpful with any of our requests. They were always available and friendly. The food they cooked for us was delicious and the Raid very central. We were treated as part of the family which maid our stay even more eventful.

Roberto & Manny

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

This was a beautiful place to stay. The owners were very helpful. Breakfast was delicious, the room was lovely and the roof terrace was great. The pool is very small but certainly does the trick if you need to cool down. It is a great place full of moroccan charm and character.
The only negative point for me which I wish I had been made more aware of by other peoples reviews, was that despite the excellent proximity to the souks, the riad is down some really quite frightening alleyway/tunnels. My friend and I (two females) felt unable to leave or come back to the riad after dark and even during the day for the first few. We experienced people trying to lead us down the wrong routes. Luckily, a great boy called Tarik offered to escort us round for a charge and he would meet us at the taxi rank in the evenings to walk the 10minutes with us back to the riad.
otherwise a fantastic stay but do make sure you take a french dictionary as the owners do not speak english.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

The Riad Safar is a beautiful property. Comparatively expensive but worth every penny. There are only 4 rooms and lots of attention to the guests. It might be difficult to find, so make sure you have a great map with names of shops, etc nearby.

Authentic rooms, beautiful bathrooms, staff make mint tea and are pleased if you try to communicate in Arabic;-) (or French). Beautiful cool swimming pool on the top of the house as well as lush relaxation areas.

The most beautiful and characteristic place ever!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

This riad is beautiful and the owners have made the place very special, the bedrooms are stunning with unique and individual pieces - we didn't want to leave our room. The staff were discreet but there to help us when we needed and even went out and bought us some bread and cheese to eat in our room one evening as unfortunately we both had mild food poisining and didn't feel well enough to leave the riad. Only negative thing was pool not really usuable in Nov and riad a bit tricky to find.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This was my first time in Marrakech and my friend and I were looking to stay in thehub of the Medina for a true Marrakech experience.

Firstly, the communication between the Riad's owner, Martin, was excellent. He arranged a private transfer for us from the airport and also a member of his team, Hammid, to collect us from the taxi and take us to the Riad. Which being two female travellers we appreciated. He also very kindly reserved a table, at a restaurant which we were keen to try prior to our visit. Emails were very prompt and dealt with very quickly.

Whilst from the outside the riad did not look grand, upon entering you felt like you had stumbled upon a decadent oasis. Staff hardworking, professional, yet not overbearing.

Cleanliness, comfort and breakfast were top notch. My friend and I both agreed that we would return at some point in the future.

A big thank you to the Riad Safar for a truly memorable experience!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Safar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safar

Address: 29, Derb Ouihah Quartier Sidi Abdelaziz | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Safar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Safar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.