We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Zohar to your Saves list
Riad El Zohar
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Central to Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Riad El Zohar was an excellent place to stay so central. This was my first visit to Morrakech and it was made so much easier as the proprietors of the Riad were happy to impart all their knowledge of the area. Such a warm and friendly Riad, the staff were always on hand day or night to give friendly advice and help us to find our way around. I was taken to the spice shop by the owner so that I could by spices that were both excellent quality and value for money, including saffron at an exceedingly good price.
The Riad El Zohar has 5 rooms, we stayed in the Moulouya; the room was very comfortable for two people, with en-suite. Both of which were to a very high standard of cleanliness. There was plenty of room and storage and on the odd night when my partner snored too loud and took up the whole bed, there was a little extra place for me to put my head down for a couple of hours.
The Riad had was a very relaxed atmosphere with the proprietors checking in regularly with us making sure we were having a good time and able to do what we wanted to do. They were able to give advice on the best places to view and eat and also where we should be a little more vigilant.
The terrace in the Riad was a great place to catch the sun or to have afternoon tea under the shade. Complementary Tea and coffee was available on demand and was always served by cheery friendly staff. The evenings in the lounge with a blazing fire were just one of my favourite memories of the Riad. I would recommend this place for couples, families, travelling friends or even if you are on your own they have a room to suit all traveller and a warm friendly welcome for all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    21
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
181
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here on our first visit to Marrakech for 5 nights over new year and this is definitely one of the most special places we have ever stayed. All the staff are constantly friendly and helpful even when you're demanding the fifth cup of mint tea that day and the owners Allan and Malika take a genuine interest in their guests which is rare to find. I'd definitely recommend taking advantage of the cooking lessons offered by the Riad - we helped to cook our new year's eve meal and ate it in front of an open fire which was lit especially for us by Erradi. Plus amazing breakfasts, fantastic shower and a location that manages to be both peaceful and right next door to all the manic action of the souks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a small Family (English) run Riad in the Centre of Marrakech Medina. There are only 5 rooms all quiet. It has a small plunge pool (not heated) and a rooftop sun terrace. The couple running it (Allan & Malika) are both charming and helpful. They provide an evning meal cooked to order if you wish. It is ideal for a brief stop in Marrakech for those, like us, who want to do something else within a weeks stay in Morocco.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip and could not have asked for a more perfect place. A place of quiet and beauty in the middle of the souk. Allan and Malika were the perfect hosts and their staff are incredibly helpful. Breakfast was lovely and our room incredible. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor (number 1?) had an AMAZING shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed here one night. Even so, Allan and Malika made us more than welcome, as Malika said treat this like your home. If you stay there, the information pack is well worth reading. Their prices are very reasonable and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just what one wants from a small Riad...five rooms, all very well appointed. The owners Allan & malika really make the stay very good...from a 30 minutes "around town" informative session on arrival...after the mint tea! And Allan walking you out on your first venture into the medina (sheer madness!) to ensure that you find your way back...lovely terrace..small plunge pool
Really great and will definitely return

Room Tip: Each of the rooms are detailed on the website...we stayed in Tallitt...lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our wedding party was spread across 5 riads this past week, and ours - El Zohar, was the favorite, with its truly exceptional hosts, attentive staff, historic architecture and interiors, fine food, and helpful suggestions about local sights, history, and adventures. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#3 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Zohar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Zohar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.