We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad El Zohar Central Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Zohar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad El Zohar
Save
You added Riad El Zohar to your Saves list
56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 1,115 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Riad El Zohar Central Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a small Family (English) run Riad in the Centre of Marrakech Medina. There are only 5 rooms all quiet. It has a small plunge pool (not heated) and a rooftop sun terrace. The couple running it (Allan & Malika) are both charming and helpful. They provide an evning meal cooked to order if you wish. It is ideal for a brief stop in Marrakech for those, like us, who want to do something else within a weeks stay in Morocco.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    20
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
174
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip and could not have asked for a more perfect place. A place of quiet and beauty in the middle of the souk. Allan and Malika were the perfect hosts and their staff are incredibly helpful. Breakfast was lovely and our room incredible. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor (number 1?) had an AMAZING shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed here one night. Even so, Allan and Malika made us more than welcome, as Malika said treat this like your home. If you stay there, the information pack is well worth reading. Their prices are very reasonable and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just what one wants from a small Riad...five rooms, all very well appointed. The owners Allan & malika really make the stay very good...from a 30 minutes "around town" informative session on arrival...after the mint tea! And Allan walking you out on your first venture into the medina (sheer madness!) to ensure that you find your way back...lovely terrace..small plunge pool
Really great and will definitely return

Room Tip: Each of the rooms are detailed on the website...we stayed in Tallitt...lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our wedding party was spread across 5 riads this past week, and ours - El Zohar, was the favorite, with its truly exceptional hosts, attentive staff, historic architecture and interiors, fine food, and helpful suggestions about local sights, history, and adventures. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A 3 day break for my wife and I, turned out to be a fantastic trip. The Riad was perfect and run by friendly staff complemented by Allan & Malika Crump (the owners). Comfortable Riad with beautiful authentic decor and wonderful food. Being in the Medina gives you the taste of the old city and Allan makes sure you can find your way back to the Riad before letting you loose on your own in the narrow streets. Every bit of the old city is at your finger tips.
A short break away to a warm climate with a mountain of history at your beck and call, plus a delightful Riad with people that care.

Room Tip: All rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have been to this Riad a couple of times with friends and each time has been fantastic. The Riad is in the centre of Marrakech, no more than five minutes walk to the souks and main square. Our Host and Hostess were wonderful, full of local knowledge with all the best places to go to including tourist attractions and restaurants. Their staff are all really lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast pancakes are to die for and each morning there was something different on offer, all too good to refuse. The plunge pool was wonderful as the weather was particularly hot for the time of year - late September. The sun terrace on the roof offers great views over the city and lovely place to relax late afternoon with a glass of wine. The rooms are all individual, spotlessly clean and well cared after. Cant recommend El Zohar highly enough.

Room Tip: Our choice of room would be on the first floor, overlooking the plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,115 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Zohar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.