We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Stay at Riad El Zohar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad El Zohar to your Saves list
Riad El Zohar
56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 1,114 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Stay at Riad El Zohar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I had stayed at this Riad two years and were so impressed that we came back with a group of friends and took over all rooms for four days. The owners Alan and Malika were most genial hosts and ecouraged us to use the premises as if they were or own house. Apart from the premises being in emaculate condition at all times, the breakfast's and the dinner we had on the first night were outstanding. The transfers to and from the airport which were all arranged by the Riad worked like clockwork which made our visit so much easier and less stressful especially as we had an early morning arrival. Alan and Malika are very enthusiastic hosts and are keen to ensure that you enjoy your stay. They will recommend restaurants, organise excursions and educate you in the way of the Souks, bartering and what you should expect to pay for the numerous types of goods that are available. Will be visiting again!!

Room Tip: Have stayed in two of the five rooms and would have no hesitation in recommending any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    20
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
173
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Even before we arrived we couldn't have been looked after any better by the Riad el Zohar team.

We booked through email communication via the website which was a very smooth and easy process and we got loads of helpful hints and tips to boot.

Our party was relieved to be met at the airport by a driver who dropped us within the medina walls to a street porter who carried our luggage and guided us to the Riad door. As it was our first time in Marrakech we were grateful to not be navigating ourselves! All the way we were greeted by smiles and warm welcomes.

None of us could believe our luck when we arrived as the Riad is so beautiful and such a perfect space. A traditional Morroccan mint tea was ready and waiting for us on arrival which became our favourite drink of the holiday.

We took up both of the ground floor rooms and one of the first floor but you really can't go wrong with room choices as they are all a good size, beautifully presented and well maintained (although the shower in my ground floor room was arguably the best shower in the world!!).

The plunge pool is the perfect size for swimming a few leisurely lengths and cooling off after a day of sightseeing or sunbathing (which we did quite a bit of on the sun loungers on the roof deck of the Riad).

Breakfast every morning felt like a feast and set us all up for the day. My personal favourites were the freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade yoghurt and pancakes but I know the fresh fruit also got rave reviews. We had dinner one night in the tent on the roof with some other guests at the Riad which was just fabulous as the food, company and service were all perfect.

The owners of the Riad, Allan and Malika, were the perfect hosts in every way. From the tips we got when we booked, the answers we received to our many questions, the advice we were given, the tours they arranged for us and the way they gave us the confidence to navigate our own way around the city, everything was done in a relaxed but knowledgeable way and nothing was too much trouble. One thing in particular that is great to see is the brilliant relationship they have with their team (and vice versa) which always gives you reassurance that the bosses are doing a great job. The team, by the way, are all so accommodating and happy and all seemed to take such pride in their individual jobs while working together to look after us all.

I now couldn't imagine staying outside of the medina on a trip to Marrakech as you just wouldn't get an authentic Marrakech experience staying anywhere else. I can't wait to head back not just to Marrakech but to Riad el Zohar as it was one of the best accommodations I have ever been lucky enough to experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Riad El Zohar seems to have everything that the visitor to Marrakech could wish for and in addition offers remarkable value for money. It is ancient riad of great charm - beautifully and traditionally appointed and scrupulously clean. The riad is small, with 5 bedrooms and succeeds in combining a sense of communal intimacy whilst maintaining the privacy of individual guests. Malika, the owner, is exceedingly helpful and her staff are friendly, polite and offer a high standard of service. We enjoyed a delicious supper - beautifully cooked and served in an evocative tent on the roof-top terrace. As if this wasn't enough the riad's location is exceptional - being only a 5 minute walk to the Place Jemaa-el-Fna. I would not hesitate to recommend it.
Martyn Agass

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in Riad El Zohar from 28/8 to 1/9 and we had such an amazing stay in this beautiful sanctuary in the heart of a hectic city.
Dinner was arranged for when we arrived late on the first night, and the food was amazing.

Malika, the owner, could not have been more helpful. She took us to her 'spice guy' so we could buy some spices to take home and then showed us around the souks to give us an idea of what Marrakech had to offer. She also gave us excellent restaurant recommendations.

We'd like to thank all of the staff at Riad El Zohar for making our stay so enjoyable and definitely once in a lifetime, we'd love to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

If your going to Marrakech you need to stay in in this riad. It's perfectly situated in the midst of the medina within 5 min walking distance to the main plaza but far enough for when you are ready to leave the crowds and feel at peace and relaxed. The service is excellent and the rooms, even the showers, are made for royalty. But perhaps what's most beautiful about this place is the exquisite decoration and level of detail, from the pool, to the courtyard, to the terrace that shows a great breadth of culture and style, making you want to stay longer and discover more. I would highly recommend this place to anyone and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just returned from our first ever trip to Marrakech and it was made very special because of the beautiful Riad El Zohar and the lovely, caring and attentive staff. Nothing was too much trouble and every day was an adventure! From the fabulous decor to the rose petal strewn table for our first night supper, we were treated like royalty. Thanks Radi, Morad, Nadia and Malika for making our stay in the weird and wonderful city of Marrakech so enjoyable. We hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: Draa has a fabulous bathroom o the ground floor next to the pool. For a little more privacy choose o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent 4 days at Riad El Zohar at the end of our trip to Morocco. What a find. The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool was cool and refreshing yet sunny. Our 2 rooms were beautiful. Relaxing on the roof terrace was a great way to re-energise from the "busyness" and heat of the Medina.Tea, coffee, mint tea are available free of charge at any time - very welcome after the heat outside.

The food is excellent - the best we had in Marrakech. We would also recommend a cookery lesson - enjoyable and learned lots.

A great location which was easy to find - we didn't get lost once!

A great place, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,114 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Zohar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.