We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Zohar to your Saves list
Riad El Zohar
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like staying with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Traveling to Marrakech may be a bit adventurous for some but it is a fantastic city. However, I would highly recommend securing some trusted guidance to get around the city and especially to venture into the surrounding areas which you won't want to miss. Therefore, staying with someone who knows the area and provides with you with as much travel detail and history as you require - priceless! We felt so lucky to stay within the warm hospitality of Allan and Malika. The minute you step into their home it is as if you are meeting members of your extended family for the first time. They can help you with everything from navigating the area that immediately surrounds their Riad to planning excursions into the mountains or to the beach. A delicious home cooked meal can be prepared tailored to your liking or they can give you nearby restaurant recommendations. The Riad is perfectly situated to walk about the souks and into the city. Thank you so much for our great stay.

Room Tip: Room on first floor can be a bit noisy so if you are a light sleeper request upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    21
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
181
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I can only echo what other recent reviewers have said. Allan and Malika's welcome coupled friendliness and warmth with enough tips and information to help a family visiting Marrakech for the first time, while not taking away the fun of exploring for ourselves. The staff went to a lot of trouble to make our stay a relaxing and comfortable one, all done with great kindness and good grace. The breakfasts have already attained legendary status in our household. The riad, with its convenient and atmospheric location, beautifully furnished rooms, small pool and well-appointed roof terrace provided a wonderful spot to relax after a day exploring the enchanting city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have recently returned from a four night stay in Riad el Zohar and it was absolutely wonderful. From the moment we arrived when we were given a very warm welcome to the time we left, we were looked after by Alan, Malika and their superb staff where nothing was too much trouble. Alan spent some time going through the local maps etc and then took us on a tour of the area which was most helpful. Breakfasts were to die for and the evening meals with lamb & chicken tagines were delicious. The bedrooms, most with four poster beds, were roomy and the bed linen so crisp and clean. Lots of extras in the en-suite with towels changed daily. The Riad layout makes for a friendly atmosphere and the terrace has lots of comfortable furniture to relax and enjoy a drink at any time of the day with great views over the city. Lovely place, lovely people and altogether lovely holiday! Thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A group of us arrived at Riad el Zohar in need of some rest and relaxation and some sunshine and we were lucky to get all we wanted. This lovely Riad is owned and ran by Allan and Malika and a great group of staff. The Riad was beautifully appointed with a lovely terrace, partly covered and a great place to sit and unwind, particularly with a glass of wine with the wonderful smell of dinner wafting up to us. There are 5 bedrooms all quite traditional, very comfortable with lovely crisp bed linen and our shower was something to behold! We ate in the first night and the second day took advantage of their cookery lesson where we started in the market buying the ingredients and ended the day by eating what we had helped to make. Alan took us on a quick tour of the area to get our bearings which turned out easier than we thought. Lovely place to stay, lovely people to deal with and can't think of anything negative to say, highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful long weekend at the beautiful Riad El Zohar. We enjoyed Marrakech but certainly think that it was the Riad that made the holiday so memorable. The staff were very welcoming and Allan and Mailiki's hospitality was exceptional. His passion, knowledge and love of the Riad and Marrakech in general shone through and certainly helped us to enjoy our holiday even more. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having just returned from a 3 night stay in Riad El Zohar in Marrakech – I wouldn’t know where to start to say how truly WONDERFUL it was – it was a ‘family weekend’ for the 11 of us – so we took over the whole Riad and I can honestly say it was all we dreamt of and more !!
The owner Allan and his sister-in-law Touria were so helpful – nothing was too much trouble for them at all and they are both a ‘mine of useful local information’!! They planned and co-ordinated the whole stay for us including a trip to the Atlas Mountains, camel rides for the kids and a ‘private party’ with music and belly dancers along with a Moroccan feast for the ‘joint birthday celebrations’ we went for!! They were magic!!
The same can be said of all the staff there – they really seem to love their jobs and it shows in their happy, helpful countenance – we were a party of 11 and again nothing was any trouble at all for them – early dinners for the young ones cooked to order and FABULOUS breakfasts & meals for the rest of us too !!
We were only sorry when our trip came to an end – and we certainly can’t wait to go back - WE WILL RETURN!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have just returned from Riad El Zohar and there aren't enough adjectives at my disposable to describe how beautiful Riad El Zohar is.....and I don't just mean the building and decor (which it is of course) I'm talking about Allan and co. :) From the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel so very welcome and bearing in mind there were eleven of us ranging in age from 60 to 3 that is no mean feat !!! Allan has the most fantastic knowledge not only about Marrakesh but about the Riad it's self and it's fantastic history. To be waited on hand foot and finger by Allan and his staff was not a hardship to endure as you can imagine, I also had the great fortune to celebrate my birthday whist at the Riad, this in the shape of a Morrocan feast, Belly dancing and traditional musicians.......Oh what a wonderful night. I wil never forget this trip to Riad El Zohar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#3 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Zohar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Zohar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.