We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supercalifargalisticexpialidoucios” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Zohar

Save Saved
You added Riad El Zohar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad El Zohar
56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Supercalifargalisticexpialidoucios”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having just returned from a 3 night stay in Riad El Zohar in Marrakech – I wouldn’t know where to start to say how truly WONDERFUL it was – it was a ‘family weekend’ for the 11 of us – so we took over the whole Riad and I can honestly say it was all we dreamt of and more !!
The owner Allan and his sister-in-law Touria were so helpful – nothing was too much trouble for them at all and they are both a ‘mine of useful local information’!! They planned and co-ordinated the whole stay for us including a trip to the Atlas Mountains, camel rides for the kids and a ‘private party’ with music and belly dancers along with a Moroccan feast for the ‘joint birthday celebrations’ we went for!! They were magic!!
The same can be said of all the staff there – they really seem to love their jobs and it shows in their happy, helpful countenance – we were a party of 11 and again nothing was any trouble at all for them – early dinners for the young ones cooked to order and FABULOUS breakfasts & meals for the rest of us too !!
We were only sorry when our trip came to an end – and we certainly can’t wait to go back - WE WILL RETURN!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    19
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
150
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have just returned from Riad El Zohar and there aren't enough adjectives at my disposable to describe how beautiful Riad El Zohar is.....and I don't just mean the building and decor (which it is of course) I'm talking about Allan and co. :) From the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel so very welcome and bearing in mind there were eleven of us ranging in age from 60 to 3 that is no mean feat !!! Allan has the most fantastic knowledge not only about Marrakesh but about the Riad it's self and it's fantastic history. To be waited on hand foot and finger by Allan and his staff was not a hardship to endure as you can imagine, I also had the great fortune to celebrate my birthday whist at the Riad, this in the shape of a Morrocan feast, Belly dancing and traditional musicians.......Oh what a wonderful night. I wil never forget this trip to Riad El Zohar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at this beautiful riad. The house is wonderfully traditional. Rooms are very comfortable, beautifully decorated and the team could not be more happy and helpful. I would recommend having a meal here (preferably in the salon with a fire going!) as their cook is amazing. The riad provided a wonderful central base for exploring Marrakech, as well as being a relaxing haven from the madness of the souks. We were lucky enough to meet Allan (the owner), his passion for the house and knowledge of everything Marrakech really added another dimension to our stay here. Soaking up some sunshine on the roof terrace while looking out at the Atlas mountains was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have just returned from a great 4 day break at the lovely Riad El Zohar. We have started to chose our accommodation not only by how lovely it looks and where it is but also by reading lots of reviews on here and if somewhere is described as having friendly and helpful owners then that is the deciding factor.......pleased to say it worked brilliantly again!

We love and are fascinated by Marrakech and having somewhere as relaxing and beautiful to stay was just the icing on the cake. Our room Talilit was great and the decor of the whole riad was classy but relaxing. Amazing staff especially the ever smiling Eraddi (not sure of the spelling) and the owners Allan and Malika were great. Allan was always on hand for a chat, to discuss plans etc.

I'm sure we will return for a fourth visit to Marrakech and there will be no doubt where we will stay.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms in raids to be on the upper floor for a little more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

It's so nice to be greeted like an old friend. Hasna, Saida and Erradi all welcomed me back and welcomed my sister whose first trip it was to Marrakech. The room (Dades) is comfortable, especially the beds, and the decorations, pictures and furnishings all give the riad the feel of staying in a rich friend's home. Best this time was the cookery lesson. Starting with a trip to the markets (including buying very fresh chicken, in that it's alive before being discreetly given the chop), buying spices, olives, vegetables etc. then two hours spent happily in the riad kitchen helping and watching whilst three dishes are prepared and cooked. I now have three great dishes to wow friends with. It was also a chance to do something different and learn from a talented cook.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Boswells, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

An excellent base from which to explore the older part of Marrakech. The hotel itself was beautiful with lovely bathrooms and a variety of social areas where one could mingle with fellow guests or find a quiet corner in which to read a book. A wonderfully gentle atmosphere pervaded the riad, helped in no small part by the friendly and accomodating staff for which nothing was too much trouble. We ate in just the one evening at the hotel and were very impressed with the standard of cooking. Our one reservation in respect of the hotel was that the sheets were slightly damp.

It was our first trip to Marrakech and we were impressed by the hospitality and friendliness of the people as well as the beauty of the older part of the city. I would reiterate the other comments here about the welcoming hassle-free nature of the vast majority of the store and shop holders. All in all a very enjoyable trip and one I would like to repeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned from a stunning 4 day break in Marrakech. Riad El Zohar is immersed in right in the centre of the vibrant and bustling souk in the heart of the old town of Marrakech, most of which can be seen from a sun-bed on the beautiful roof terrace! None of the traditional Moroccan style or culture is sacrificed by the comfort and luxury provided in the Riad, my family and I were lucky enough to experience the best of both worlds. It really is a wonderfully decorated, and yet spacious and relaxing place to stay, and could not be better located to explore such a diverse and exciting city. The staff were kind, welcoming and extremely helpful, and it felt as though we spent the entire time amongst friends. Upon our arrival we were given a tour of the old town with expert knowledge and guidance by Allan, which set us up perfectly to explore for the rest of our stay. We really enjoyed a visit to the local bbq stalls in the evening, which are fantastic value for money, and I would recommend number 1 in particular for seafood, however I found that the chips in number 81 are the best! Also, I had anticipated being hassled whilst walking around the city, but this was not the case. Shop owners etc do try to get your attention, but it is always in an honest, open and friendly way and at no point did I feel harassed or remotely unsafe. I honestly couldn't recommend Riad El Zohar or even a trip to Marrakech enough! Its a must visit destination, an absolutely stunning place to visit for the scenery, the culture and the warm weather was very nice as well! I will definitely be returning, and greatly look forward to doing so!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Zohar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;