We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located haven in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad El Zohar to your Saves list
Riad El Zohar
56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly located haven in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Allan and Malika and their fantastic staff could not have been more welcoming during our short stay at Riad El Zohar in mid-November. We were at first amazed at the fact that the photographs of the interior of the Riad, whilst very nice, did not do justice to the reality, which needs to be seen to be believed.

We really would advise eating an evening meal at least once in the Riad since the freshly cooked food was absolutely wonderful. In addition to the very comfortable accommodation, spacious sun terrace (not to mention the best shower I have ever used!) and cosy salon complete with roaring open fire, we would literally have been lost in Marrakech without Allan's helpful introductory tour and signposting-pointers to guide us back to the Riad after a busy day in the souks.

We stayed in other locations after this and I can honestly say that the breakfast in El Zohar topped them all, in particular the coffee, the pomegranate fruit cocktails and the vanilla drinking yoghurt.

We would whole-heartedly recommend this Riad to any would-be visitors to Marrakech.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are probably a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    19
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
161
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Alan and Malika are the most welcoming hosts and make you wonderfully comfortable without in anyway imposing themselves on you. Their staff team is excellent - friendly and helpful.
The location is fantastic - in the heart of the Medina and a magical place to arrive at. All the arrangements Alan and team make work so smoothly.
Alan helped us to find our way on the first morning and gave us an orientation walk which was not just helpful but very enjoyable. The maps provided are perfect and although the area seems at first sight a labarynth it is really easy to get around with all this support.
Marrakech has lots of great places to eat but the meals on offer at the Riad are delicious and for our small group of fiends it was like a house party and lovely to have a relaxed last evening meal in house just for us! Thank you again to Alan and Malika and the team!
The

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are beautiful and would be wonderfully cool in the summer - the temperature d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wonderful time at El Zohar, Allan and Malika were so helpful and the staff were wonderful. Do make time to have one meal at the riad, the food is excellent and some delicious choices. Lounging on the terraces with a glass of wine watching the sun set is magical.

Room Tip: All if the rooms are lovely and individual, if in doubt email Allan and ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have just returned from a few days in Morocco, arriving at El Zohar with colds and exhaustion. We received a wonderful welcome in this small,charming and intimate riad. Our hosts were so kind, so full of information and great suggestions but managed never to be intrusive. A rare gift.
Rooms were super, lots of spaces in the riad to sit and relax and soak up the local atmosphere. An oasis of calm in the bustling medina, the riad has a perfect location for exploration of the citys sights and experiences. All within an easy walk.
An outstanding stay. Alan and Malika will help organise your itinerary, you can feel totally confident in their advice, a wonderful couple wanting their clients to have the very best Moroccan experience possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Many have described the approach to ElZohar , but it's the approach of Allan, his family and his staff that is the true pleasure, a real haven from the hussle and bustle of the Medina and its Souks , the Riad brings you , stylish comfort , welcome and an abundance of gently delivered information from Allen the owner who's love of the city and Morocco shines through .
Situated almost dead centre of the Medina , it was perfectly situated for our visit, the superb breakfast on the roof to the log fire lit ,dinner served in the upper Salon , where you can share your experiences of the day with fellow travellers ,pick up tips and recharge your batteries for the next foray ! Brilliant .
Tastefully restored , excellent food and services ! What more can we say !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Well this was a place to remember forever, Alan and Malika were the most incredible couple to stay with, the Riad itself is just so amazing and beuatiful just like a mini historical palace.The walk up the alley ways inside this walled city you think where are we heading, then you arrive at the lovely wooden door and beyound this is just another world....OUTSTANDING... The staff are just so helpful and friendly, the food they prepare and cook just amazing tastey and fresh.We met other wonderful people while staying here and had so much fun and laughter together with Alan and Malika, If you are going to Marrakech this is a must stay place.We had the most amazing experience and time thank you both.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic, just enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I took my mother to Marrakech as a birthday 'surprise' and felt slightly hesitant as we approached the Riad through the small alleyways. However, we were soon totally at ease as the door opened and we stepped into another world. The Riad is charming and Allan, the owner, has done much to retain many original features of the building. The courtyard is magical, surrounded by balconies with trailing plants, and at its centre a plunge pool. We had supper in the Riad and Allan gave us maps, local information and the following morning gave us a guided tour of the area. We were then confident to find our own way around and had great fun bartering in the market. The Riad's location is perfect, being in the middle of the Medina. I greatly recommend it as it felt like a truly Moroccan experience, yet with a lot of comfort and a feeling of security.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Zohar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.