We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy Our Special Offers
Ranked #14 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Swansea, Wales
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

It's fair to say we experienced significant culture shock on our arrival in town but the Riad provided a stabilising anchor in the bedlam of Marrakesh.I know its a well worn cliche, but we really were looked after more like extended family than paying guests. The ethos of Laurent, Muriel and staff is to ensure that their guests have the best experience possible. We were sat down and briefed on the do's and don'ts.We were told how to deal with taxi drivers and souk touts, where was good to eat and what was worth visiting, all with maps provided. As regards my question about getting lost in the souk, we were told that that was inevitable and that we should just chill and enjoy the experience - all with a gallic shrug that was curiously very reassuring :-).However, they made sure that we were given mobile numbers to call if we needed them - " ,,at any time". Laurent arranged a hammam visit for us and Muriel, not content with booking us a restaurant actually walked us there. It is wise to ask the riad to arrange a taxi for your arrival but the riad is easily found once you get your bearings.Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor would offer more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
293
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Riad Dar Dialkoum is lovely. We were rather overwhelmed by the chaos in Marrakech, total sensory overload...staying at this riad was such a great choice. Muriel and Laurent are delightful; they make you feel so welcome and comfortable, like their home is yours. Like all of the other reviewers, I can't say enough nice things about the staff and the food. Absolutely plan on having dinner there at least one night during your stay — it was the best meal of our trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for four nights in early November and I cannot praise Muriel, Laurent and the rest of the staff enough! They were amazing hosts and the Riad was absolutely beautiful! The rooms, food and the rest of the riad were impeccable and cannot be faulted.
At the beginning of our trip they even sat us down with biscuits and tea and talked us through, in detail, where we should go, where we should avoid and how to cope for four days in this very busy town!
It was an absolutely beautiful holiday and my friend really enjoyed her birthday. Everyone was really friendly and we had no problems at all.
It is very quiet which is nice considering you are a mere stones throw away from the busy souks and square it is trully an oasis.
We had airport transfers, excursions and transfers, breakfast, tea, coffee and water all included and everything was excellent value for money.
I highly recommend staying here, its beatiful and there are no problems or hassle!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights in early December and wish we could have stayed more. From the start, Laurent and Muriel make the process as painless as possible: good email communication in advance, free transfers from and to the airport, a personalised sit-down session to discuss what you might want to see and how you would go about itand someone always on hand to help you out.

The staff in the Riad are fantastic, you can get tea, coffee and snacks throughout and dinner in the evening is excellent quality and value for money (although you need to arrange dinner in the morning to give them enough time to get the ingredients)

The Riad is located by the Medina wall about a 15 minute walk to the main square (Djemaa el Fna) although this is probably a plus, as it's a quiet, safe neighbourhood, rather than a busy street.

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms (Aisha) though we did get an upgrade for 2 nights to a suite when it became available. The rooms are all very tastefully decorated. There is also a roof terrace and plenty of communal spaces for chilling out or having a nice mint tea.

Though they don't have a hammam at the Riad, they do have an arrangement with another Riad that does and this is highly recommended.

Very highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed 5 nights and I cannot praise this riad enough. Muriel and Laurent are excellent hosts and they are really helpful with everything. I have received loads of information prior to my stay and also during my time in Marrakesh. Both of them equipped me with valuable hints and tips for sightseeing, shopping, taxis, restaurants. All the staff is very pleasant and they look after you. In my opinion Riad dar Dialkoum is everything you can wish for to have a relaxing and hassle free holiday. It is clean, well maintained, quiet, yet not far from the major sights, you can relax in one of the lounges or on the roof terrace and there is hardly anything you ask and it cannot be sorted. You will get excellent value for your money with breakfast and free tea and coffee included and you can have traditional home cooked moroccan dishes for reasonable prices, so you do not even have to go and look for a restaurant. I would highly recommend to stay here if you decide to visit Marrakesh.

Room Tip: Room Hannah and the other room opposite on the first floor of the second patio is quiet if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay enormously. The Riad is quiet, small and comfortable. The staff are very good, very kind and very friendly. Both the proprietors are full of good, sensible and balanced information that make what for some a daunting, first time visit seem secure, informed and fun.

The cooking is good - the local wine fine - and there are no problems at all about bringing your own good in from the street markets. I would have no hesitation in really recommending this Riad to you - and I hope you enjoy yourselves as much as we did!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this lovely welcoming riad. Located in the medina the free airport pickup meant no stress in trying to find the property. Stepping through the front door into the beautiful courtyard was heavenly. Laurent and Muriel and all the staff made us instantly feel relaxed, nothing was too much trouble. We were Marrakech rookies so Laurent's introduction to the city, suggested itineraries and tips were invaluable. The roof terrace was the perfect place for breakfast which, of course, was excellent. We had dinner at the riad, all freshly cooked on site, it was much nicer than an expensive restaurant we tried one night of our stay. We can see why this riad keeps winning a TA Travellers Choice award, it is special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spotlessly clean and well located. We stayed in the Aicha room which is described...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.