We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #31 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A truly beautiful Riad in the Medina, with a calm and lovely atmosphere. The owners, Muriel and Laurent were incredibly helpful with invaluable advice and suggestions for our couple of days in Marrakech.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    440
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
264
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Morocco can be a hectic place, so I did a lot of research beforehand in order to ensure that after long days of traveling and the chaotic cities, that my boyfriend and I could always come back to a peaceful 'oasis'.

I found Riad Dar Dialkoum via TA. I have to admit that when I realised that the Riad was run by a French couple, I was a little disappointed and was concerned our experience in the Riad might be "Europeanized" when we were looking to have authentic local experiences...

In hindsight i'm not so sure what I was worried about. I work in the Tourism industry as well and noone is in a better place to help travellers out than fellow travellers who have been established for a long time in a foreign country. Laurent & Muriel were incredibly generous with their time in explaining to us how to get around, how to spend what little time we had, and even how to avoid getting overcharged by the taxis! (And it worked! We were told to do exactly the opposite of what is written in the guidebooks and it worked a charm!).

We were asked to make ourselves at home, and it was not an empty offer. Breakfast is served at will, with exactly what you ask for and in any part of the Riad you would like it (.... and there are so many lovely spots to choose from! Your room, the terrace, the common lounge areas, the courtyard by the pool...). One day we even requested our breakfast at 1PM and Laurent didn't bat an eyelash!

The Riad is exactly as pictured in the photos.... it's stunningly beautiful and impeccably clean. We booked the "Yasmine" suite and were not disappointed.

In the spirit of leaving an honest and balanced review, i'd say that the only drawbacks were the poor wifi reception in certain areas of our room (despite Laurent & Muriel's herculean efforts! They have three different routers set up in order to get the best coverage possible). The other would be weak water pressure in the shower at times.

Neither of these really weighed on our experience though. And hey, we were in MOROCCO...

If you are thinking about staying here, don't hesitate. You'll feel right at home.

Room Tip: The Yasmine suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. I don't think I need to say too much as it has all been said before!
The only thing I will say is....avoid the festival in October! Marrakech completely shuts down for a couple of days It's like their Xmas. If you like Lamb you might not after that! ! Ill say no more.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we stayed for only 2 nights but really wished it could have been more.

Laurent & Muriel were excellent hosts providing a huge amount of local knowledge

our room was clean and peaceful
we ate dinner on the 1st night which was as good as any we had in the restaurants

breakfast each morning was delicious and plenty of it.


even when we left to change accommodation Laurent came to our rescue from a local small taxi driver

would recommend a stay here to anyone travelling to Marrakech

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we stayed at this lovely Riad for 4 nights this month (oct). As soon as we booked Laurent emailed and introduced himself & Muriel and put themselves at our disposal for any questions or requests. When we arrived at the top of the market street that the Riad is housed within our thoughts were 'omg what have we done?' but from the moment we stepped into the courtyard it was as if someone had turned the switch off from the hustle and bustle outside. Muriel & Laurent and their team are amazingly welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The initial 'welcome meeting' with them is so very helpful. They marked our city map, gave hints & tips, suggested places to go & how to get there. My fears about getting lost were calmed with a very french (sorry Laurent!) shrug of the shoulders and a 'of course you will' comment. We quickly learnt that getting lost is completely normal & expected, there is no real lost however and everytime we got lost we eventually found ourselves somewhere familiar again. The Riad itself is totally captivating, our room was gorgeous and spotlessly clean. Its clear to see that so much thought & love has gone into this. The entire team just want to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Breakfast is tasty and plentiful, more than enough to set you up for a day sightseeing or trekking. We had dinner one evening which was cooked to our personal taste and was so very good. No question was considered silly & Laurent and Muriel were perfectly happy to organise excursions, restaurants & transfers to/from the airport. This was our first visit to Marrakech and it was made far more enjoyable by the care and concern given to us by Muriel, Laurent and the rest of the team. If you are still in any doubt then BOOK IT and see for yourselves you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

In a place as vibrant, bustling and sometimes a touch intense as Marrakech we were delighted to be able to retreat to the peace and tranquillity offered by our riad. Muriel and Laurent really are the perfect hosts. Friendly, knowledgeable and very hospitable. They were only too happy to answer my queries prior to arriving, and were again happy to suggest, recommend and guide us when we were there. The breakfast offered was perfect and very ample and set you up for the full day. Dinner at the riad was great too. Although our room we booked was fantastic, we were upgraded to a suite which was an absolute touch. Such a thing does happen! I can't praise the accommodation and hosts enough.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This place is an oasis in the city. Muriel and Laurent are wonderful hosts and incredibly helpful. The riad is beautiful and clean. Our room was beautiful and very romantic. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We had dinner one night and it was wonderful as well. It was quite a challenging to find on our own, so I recommend you take up their offer for a pick up at the airport or train station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our cooker will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Splendia so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.