We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Chigwell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we stayed for only 2 nights but really wished it could have been more.

Laurent & Muriel were excellent hosts providing a huge amount of local knowledge

our room was clean and peaceful
we ate dinner on the 1st night which was as good as any we had in the restaurants

breakfast each morning was delicious and plenty of it.


even when we left to change accommodation Laurent came to our rescue from a local small taxi driver

would recommend a stay here to anyone travelling to Marrakech

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    478
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
287
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chessington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we stayed at this lovely Riad for 4 nights this month (oct). As soon as we booked Laurent emailed and introduced himself & Muriel and put themselves at our disposal for any questions or requests. When we arrived at the top of the market street that the Riad is housed within our thoughts were 'omg what have we done?' but from the moment we stepped into the courtyard it was as if someone had turned the switch off from the hustle and bustle outside. Muriel & Laurent and their team are amazingly welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The initial 'welcome meeting' with them is so very helpful. They marked our city map, gave hints & tips, suggested places to go & how to get there. My fears about getting lost were calmed with a very french (sorry Laurent!) shrug of the shoulders and a 'of course you will' comment. We quickly learnt that getting lost is completely normal & expected, there is no real lost however and everytime we got lost we eventually found ourselves somewhere familiar again. The Riad itself is totally captivating, our room was gorgeous and spotlessly clean. Its clear to see that so much thought & love has gone into this. The entire team just want to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Breakfast is tasty and plentiful, more than enough to set you up for a day sightseeing or trekking. We had dinner one evening which was cooked to our personal taste and was so very good. No question was considered silly & Laurent and Muriel were perfectly happy to organise excursions, restaurants & transfers to/from the airport. This was our first visit to Marrakech and it was made far more enjoyable by the care and concern given to us by Muriel, Laurent and the rest of the team. If you are still in any doubt then BOOK IT and see for yourselves you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

In a place as vibrant, bustling and sometimes a touch intense as Marrakech we were delighted to be able to retreat to the peace and tranquillity offered by our riad. Muriel and Laurent really are the perfect hosts. Friendly, knowledgeable and very hospitable. They were only too happy to answer my queries prior to arriving, and were again happy to suggest, recommend and guide us when we were there. The breakfast offered was perfect and very ample and set you up for the full day. Dinner at the riad was great too. Although our room we booked was fantastic, we were upgraded to a suite which was an absolute touch. Such a thing does happen! I can't praise the accommodation and hosts enough.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This place is an oasis in the city. Muriel and Laurent are wonderful hosts and incredibly helpful. The riad is beautiful and clean. Our room was beautiful and very romantic. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We had dinner one night and it was wonderful as well. It was quite a challenging to find on our own, so I recommend you take up their offer for a pick up at the airport or train station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Dar Dialkoum for one night in September. Upon arrival we were very impressed by the riad. Muriel gave us all the information we needed to have a fabulous couple of days in the city. She even offered to drive us to the square on her way home! This helpfulness was experienced by all of the staff. The only reason I rate the riad as very good vs. excellent is due to our room. We were in a room on the main floor off the courtyard. The windows faced the breakfast area. It was not possible to have the curtains drawn without losing out on privacy as people entering the riad walk right past the room. The biggest issue is in the morning. As people are being served breakfast, you hear them talking and dishes clanging. It was impossible for us to sleep in. And with people using the courtyard at night (wifi only available in public areas), it was hard to get to bed before midnight! So I would definitely recommend the riad, but don't stay in the room on the main floor!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lolo40000, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Dialkoum, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Hosts,

Thanks much for your comment that we are pleased, of course, and that will be especially useful for those who wish to stay at the Riad Dar Dialkoum in the future.

We understand your rate 4/5, which is logical. Actually, the Selima room overlooks the main patio on the ground floor. By definition, it is therefore less calm than the other rooms and suites, both by the passage of other hosts as breakfasts, lunches and dinners that will also take in the patio. This configuration is very traditional in most of the riads in Marrakech. All have at least one bedroom on the ground floor, deemed less calm. It is thus.

It must be said that during your short stay, you unfortunately did not luck, with a very late arrival of others who have dine, and two departure very early who also took their breakfast (breakfast being served without limit of time, early or late and it is really appreciated). We are sorry for this combination of circumstances which disturbed the quietness of the place and especially your sleep.

Many travellers love this room for her decoration, the very nice view on the patio and the pool, its well pleasantly cool when it's hot (which happens often in marrakech), and the feeling of living "the riad spirit" where life is concentrated on the patio. It is also recommended for people with reduced mobility, and to the early risers.

We advise travellers who prefer a room quieter and more intimate to choose one of three suites located upstairs (Leila, Yasmina or Soraya), or else one of the three rooms in the second patio (Aïcha, Hannah and Malika), quieter, with Wifi in all rooms.

For the three suites, the Wifi is sometimes chaotic when the connection is poor and the speed slow, with very thick walls (up to 1 meter in thickness, it is not helpful). We are currently trying to find the best technical solution which ensures a stable connection, without transforming the riad in a large microwave. Wifi also works in all common areas, and a tablet is made available free of charge on request.

We hope that thanks to your comment and our explanations, this enables everyone to choose the room that suits him best in knowingly.

We wish you a great end of the year, hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again one day, in the quiet room of your dreams.

Muriel & Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Genuinely the most welcoming and peaceful hotel I have stayed in. We were picked up at the airport, upgraded upon arrival to a larger room, and were given a map and an explanation of where everything is in the city.

Absolutely ALL the staff at the hotel were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Laurent & Muriel really are as helpful as the reviews make out, one afternoon we decided we'd like to go to a spa, and within a couple of minutes of talking to Muriel, she had already booked a spa package for us and offered to walk us there!

Breakfast was delightful every morning (everything is freshly made, you can hear the oranges being blended on request for juice, and the eggs are from the market not far from the riad). Dinner is also excellent, we couldn't find a better tagine anywhere!

It really was a home from home to go back to after a day in the hot hustle and bustle of the city. Take advantage of the delicious mint tea and the roof terrace - which is particularly beautiful at sunset.

All in all, best hotel we have stayed in and would happily return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Wow! That is all we can say, what an amazing place to stay, the place was beautiful and our room was fantastic! The staff were so helpful and nice, nothing was too much trouble and the owner, Meirelles advice on Marrakech was invaluable. One word of advice is the Riad is difficult to find, so defiantly worth spending the few extra dollars on an airport transfer.

The only problem was when we arrived we had dinner at the Riad, Tagine Keftah, which was Devine - it set the standard for all Tagines since, and sadly no one in Morocco has so far lived up to the high standard set by Riad Dar Dialkoum

Room Tip: Ground floor room if you have lots of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.