We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy Our Special Offers
Ranked #13 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My 19yr old daughter and I stayed at Riad Dar Dialkoum from 19th to 24th June, 2013. We arranged transport from the airport and despite a long delay in our flight, the driver was still there to meet us. As you enter the Riad (through what my daughter referred to as the 'Alice in Wonderland door'), you are greeted by smiling faces and the most beautiful courtyard. We had arranged our first meal at the Riad and were not disappointed as the food is plentiful and delicious. Throughout our stay we had 'snacks' around lunchtime e.g. chicken and salad, keftas etc (all reasonably priced). We also ate at the famous La Maison Arabe and I would suggest that you are paying highly for the ambience (see separate review) but certainly not service and quality of food! Muriel and Laurent are excellent hosts. I had communicated with them regularly prior to our stay and through their recommendations, pre-booked a hamman and restaurants. In addition, Muriel arranged for a local woman to come to the Riad for my daughter to have a henna tattoo and each day the staff checked to see how this was and suggested ways to make it last longer. Both are keen that you treat the Riad 'as your home' and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in both the Yasmina suite and Leila which were spacious, tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. We also used all areas of the Riad e.g. the terrace and reading areas (wi fi signal particularly good here). The plunge pool was at it's best around 2.30/3pm when temperature reached 45 degrees in the shade!!! We found the location to be ideal however at night felt a little daunted returning to the Riad. I would suggest do not take a map out in the middle of the street which we did and were continually harassed (after this I wrote down directions and landmarks in a small notebook and used this). We paid no more than 30MAD for a petit taxi and 250MAD for the 'Grand Tour' on horse and carriage ride (excellent way to see all). The staff are excellent and you are always greeted with a smile. I spent each morning sunbathing on the terrace and was offered mint tea and water every day by the cleaner! My daughter had left a pair of very grubby plimsoles by her bed which were gathered up and scrubbed clean (daughter thoroughly ashamed, mother very grateful)!!! I would also like to mention that our room was cleaned every day (thoroughly) as well as all the public areas of the Riad. Our thanks to Muriel, Laurent and their staff for their hospitality. I would highly recommend this Raid to anyone visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Yasmina suite and Leila which were spacious, tastefully decorated and extremel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
296
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just two nights as the riad was full the third night. It was very nice. Muriel and Laurent were so helpful in helping us plan out two days. Everything was lovely, the riad was very clean and all the staff were lovely, it was such a shame to leave as we felt very secure there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The service gets the bulk of the mentions in TA reviews, and for good reason. There are plenty of other reasons to stay here though:

LOCATION: Close to everything, away from it all. It's in the medina, so you get that quintessential Marrakech experience. It's on the edge of the medina though, so you can mostly avoid one part of the quintessential Marrakech experience you may want to avoid sometimes - getting lost. You're going to get lost at some point in the medina, and you're going to like it. But late at night when you're exhausted, not getting lost is pretty handy. Most of the major sites -including Jemaa el Fna - are within easy walking distance; but the immediate area around the riad is mostly food stalls. That means zero hassle from vendors (a nice break if coming back from the main souks), and terrific smells. And despite what Google Maps says (they have the riad's location absolutely wrong), the riad is on the side of the medina closest to Gueliz. Gueliz may not be traditional Marrakech, but it is very much part of today's Marrakech. In the amount of time it takes to walk to Jemaa el Fna, you can be in the heart of the new city. That's handy if you need a break from the medina.

VALUE: What was the last time you left a hotel and thought, "Man, I totally underpaid"? Yeah, it'll happen here. We got a free airport transfer for staying 3+ nights - the riad is easy to find, but the transfer is handy for that first time. Breakfast was included every day, and it was a good breakfast - yogurt, orange juice, bread, usually a second baked good of some kind, fruit, tea, eggs (on request). Fruit in your room. Mint tea on request anytime. Bottled water on request anytime. And all kinds of friendly, helpful advice. Which is why the bulk of TA reviews mostly mention...

SERVICE: Yeah, it's as good as advertised. Laurent spent about 10 mintues with us at check-in, providing all kinds of practical advice and suggestions. We didn't meet Muriel until late in our stay, but she was equally friendly and helpful. The staff knew what we needed about a half-second before we knew we needed it.

FACILITIES: The sounds of the city sound miles away in here. We heard a passing motorbike once or twice (the riad is tucked away in a very quiet alley). The call to prayer is just above a faint whisper. Several places throughout the riad in which to sit and relax. It's always a good idea to strike up conversation with fellow travelers; but if you want to spend alone time, you can do that without just staying in your room. Not that the room is a bad place to be - we stayed in Selima and found it just perfect. If you are sensitive to noise and like sleeping in, you may want to stay in one of the upstairs rooms - Selima is right next to the tables where breakfast is served every morning. Honestly though, my wife and I managed to sleep through breakfast time every day (not that it matters, because they'll serve you breakfast anytime).

It's not just that you have to stay here if you go to Marrakech; it's that you should probably go to Marrakech just to stay here. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a great hotel! Every thing - the room, the service, the ambiance- is 5 star all the way. It is truly a welcoming place to come back to from the hustle bustle that is Marrakech. We particularly appreciated the thoughtful kindness of the staff. Muriel, the manager, met us personally to lead us to the hotel, gave us helpful information on sites to see and places to dine and gave us assistance in every way. Once when we came back with grilled chicken legs and bread from nearby streets, she offered plates and even tomatoes. This is the only hotel ever to volunteer serve us breakfast early (5:30 am) before we depart for the airport. I can't say enough good things about Dar Dialkoum. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over half-term with our 7 year old son. We chose this riad based on all the fantastic reviews and we were not disappointed. We found the owners, Muriel and Laurent, really helpful both before we arrived through emails, and during our stay. They were full of advice and tips to help us make the most of our stay and feel more in control in the craziness of Marrakech (for example what we should pay for a taxi and to not to worry if people try and touch our son's blonde hair - apparently it brings good luck!). We loved the location of the riad -you have to walk down a normal/non touristy shopping street to get to it, and we felt it gave us a proper sense of the city. Watch out for the mopeds though! We stayed in the Soroya Suite which was a lovely sized room with a 4 poster bed and a big bathroom. There was a sitting area in the room and a bed was made up for our son on what I guess would normally be the sofa. He was very happy and comfy. We felt very relaxed staying here with our son and were happy to put him to bed in the evening and then either have a drink (worth mentioning that alcohol is available here as its not the case in every riad) on the roof terrace or dinner in the courtyard. The only thing that would have made our fabulous stay even better would have been a swimming pool on the gorgeous roof terrace as it was very hot. There is a small plunge pool in the courtyard which our son paddled in once, but ironically it was pretty cool and shady down there and the pool was too cold for him. All in all a lovely place to stay with fantastic staff. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The great reviews of this riad did not disappoint me! Upon arrival (via complementary airport transfer), I learned more practical tips and insights from a few minutes' speaking with Muriel than I did reading an entire guidebook! The dining recommendations were spot-on, including the hotel's own dinner menu (highly recommended!! I had the chicken pastilla, Marrakech lamb tagine, and orange à la cannelle). It is the little touches that make the Dar Dialkoum stand out: Muriel, Laurent, and all the staff are most gracious; mint tea, mineral water, and fresh fruit are always available; after the first breakfast the kitchen staff know your preferences exactly; and Muriel and Laurent do a great job of staying in touch with their guests both before and after their stay.

What is more, the experience is authentic because the riad is somewhat removed from the more touristed sections of the medina, yet it is still close enough to everything that one can walk practically everywhere. I enjoyed going to and from the riad because, once you meander down the street the riad is on to the main street nearby, you are practically catapulted into the frenzy that makes Marrakech such a fascinating city. It was nice to know that, when I felt exhausted from the energy of the city, I had this little oasis to return to! Whoever comes with an open mind, ready to experience Moroccan culture and hospitality, will love the Riad Dar Dialkoum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Only stayed here for one night but it was really beautiful and the staff were brilliant. Breakfast was good and the room was lovely - nice location - a little off the tourist route. Everything about the riad was well thought out and everyone was accommodating. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.