We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #31 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The service gets the bulk of the mentions in TA reviews, and for good reason. There are plenty of other reasons to stay here though:

LOCATION: Close to everything, away from it all. It's in the medina, so you get that quintessential Marrakech experience. It's on the edge of the medina though, so you can mostly avoid one part of the quintessential Marrakech experience you may want to avoid sometimes - getting lost. You're going to get lost at some point in the medina, and you're going to like it. But late at night when you're exhausted, not getting lost is pretty handy. Most of the major sites -including Jemaa el Fna - are within easy walking distance; but the immediate area around the riad is mostly food stalls. That means zero hassle from vendors (a nice break if coming back from the main souks), and terrific smells. And despite what Google Maps says (they have the riad's location absolutely wrong), the riad is on the side of the medina closest to Gueliz. Gueliz may not be traditional Marrakech, but it is very much part of today's Marrakech. In the amount of time it takes to walk to Jemaa el Fna, you can be in the heart of the new city. That's handy if you need a break from the medina.

VALUE: What was the last time you left a hotel and thought, "Man, I totally underpaid"? Yeah, it'll happen here. We got a free airport transfer for staying 3+ nights - the riad is easy to find, but the transfer is handy for that first time. Breakfast was included every day, and it was a good breakfast - yogurt, orange juice, bread, usually a second baked good of some kind, fruit, tea, eggs (on request). Fruit in your room. Mint tea on request anytime. Bottled water on request anytime. And all kinds of friendly, helpful advice. Which is why the bulk of TA reviews mostly mention...

SERVICE: Yeah, it's as good as advertised. Laurent spent about 10 mintues with us at check-in, providing all kinds of practical advice and suggestions. We didn't meet Muriel until late in our stay, but she was equally friendly and helpful. The staff knew what we needed about a half-second before we knew we needed it.

FACILITIES: The sounds of the city sound miles away in here. We heard a passing motorbike once or twice (the riad is tucked away in a very quiet alley). The call to prayer is just above a faint whisper. Several places throughout the riad in which to sit and relax. It's always a good idea to strike up conversation with fellow travelers; but if you want to spend alone time, you can do that without just staying in your room. Not that the room is a bad place to be - we stayed in Selima and found it just perfect. If you are sensitive to noise and like sleeping in, you may want to stay in one of the upstairs rooms - Selima is right next to the tables where breakfast is served every morning. Honestly though, my wife and I managed to sleep through breakfast time every day (not that it matters, because they'll serve you breakfast anytime).

It's not just that you have to stay here if you go to Marrakech; it's that you should probably go to Marrakech just to stay here. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
267
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a great hotel! Every thing - the room, the service, the ambiance- is 5 star all the way. It is truly a welcoming place to come back to from the hustle bustle that is Marrakech. We particularly appreciated the thoughtful kindness of the staff. Muriel, the manager, met us personally to lead us to the hotel, gave us helpful information on sites to see and places to dine and gave us assistance in every way. Once when we came back with grilled chicken legs and bread from nearby streets, she offered plates and even tomatoes. This is the only hotel ever to volunteer serve us breakfast early (5:30 am) before we depart for the airport. I can't say enough good things about Dar Dialkoum. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over half-term with our 7 year old son. We chose this riad based on all the fantastic reviews and we were not disappointed. We found the owners, Muriel and Laurent, really helpful both before we arrived through emails, and during our stay. They were full of advice and tips to help us make the most of our stay and feel more in control in the craziness of Marrakech (for example what we should pay for a taxi and to not to worry if people try and touch our son's blonde hair - apparently it brings good luck!). We loved the location of the riad -you have to walk down a normal/non touristy shopping street to get to it, and we felt it gave us a proper sense of the city. Watch out for the mopeds though! We stayed in the Soroya Suite which was a lovely sized room with a 4 poster bed and a big bathroom. There was a sitting area in the room and a bed was made up for our son on what I guess would normally be the sofa. He was very happy and comfy. We felt very relaxed staying here with our son and were happy to put him to bed in the evening and then either have a drink (worth mentioning that alcohol is available here as its not the case in every riad) on the roof terrace or dinner in the courtyard. The only thing that would have made our fabulous stay even better would have been a swimming pool on the gorgeous roof terrace as it was very hot. There is a small plunge pool in the courtyard which our son paddled in once, but ironically it was pretty cool and shady down there and the pool was too cold for him. All in all a lovely place to stay with fantastic staff. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The great reviews of this riad did not disappoint me! Upon arrival (via complementary airport transfer), I learned more practical tips and insights from a few minutes' speaking with Muriel than I did reading an entire guidebook! The dining recommendations were spot-on, including the hotel's own dinner menu (highly recommended!! I had the chicken pastilla, Marrakech lamb tagine, and orange à la cannelle). It is the little touches that make the Dar Dialkoum stand out: Muriel, Laurent, and all the staff are most gracious; mint tea, mineral water, and fresh fruit are always available; after the first breakfast the kitchen staff know your preferences exactly; and Muriel and Laurent do a great job of staying in touch with their guests both before and after their stay.

What is more, the experience is authentic because the riad is somewhat removed from the more touristed sections of the medina, yet it is still close enough to everything that one can walk practically everywhere. I enjoyed going to and from the riad because, once you meander down the street the riad is on to the main street nearby, you are practically catapulted into the frenzy that makes Marrakech such a fascinating city. It was nice to know that, when I felt exhausted from the energy of the city, I had this little oasis to return to! Whoever comes with an open mind, ready to experience Moroccan culture and hospitality, will love the Riad Dar Dialkoum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Only stayed here for one night but it was really beautiful and the staff were brilliant. Breakfast was good and the room was lovely - nice location - a little off the tourist route. Everything about the riad was well thought out and everyone was accommodating. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had high expectations of Riad Dar Dialkoum based on the many rave reviews, and can genuinely say that my expectations were met and even exceeded. I found the riad to be a very pleasant place to come back to after immersing oneself in the Marrakech streets. It has an authentic Moroccan ambience; when you retreat to it (in the evening, or perhaps for a couple of hours in the late afternoon before diving back into the city) you still feel like you’re very much immersed in the local milieu. I stayed in the Yasmina room, which was on second floor, and I liked it very much. The common areas of the riad are also really nice. The terrace is spacious and relaxing and there is a fantastic little pool off the courtyard. I liked the food as well.

The staff are gracious and efficient, and the owners are very good; reliable and communicative enough to give you a great sense of confidence even before you arrive. For me that was a big plus, and something that made Riad Dar Dialkoum particularly exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were greeted by Muriel, who met us at the road to make sure we didn't get lost. She was lovely, so welcoming and genuinely interested in our well-being. Laurent was also a really nice chap, generous and friendly. They were both so relaxed and easy going it made the Riad so homely.

The Dar Dialkoum boasts various sized rooms, we stayed in the smallest, which was still quite large, and was furnished with small cushioned seats, dressers, safe. The bathroom was clean, stylish, and functional.
The larger rooms ranged as big as what I could only describe as a palatial suit, and from the looks of things it was a brilliant deal.

There is a small plunge pool, in the beautiful open air courtyard, a salon/lounge on the first floor, and a roof garden/terrace on the second floor. There's a second quieter courtyard toward the back of the building, along with a shaded ground floor lounge with sofas.

You could not want for anything, snacks, drinks, including complementary water and tea.

We ate in twice, as the food was so good, the portions so generous, and the price exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our cooker will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Splendia so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.