We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Pembroke Pines, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The great reviews of this riad did not disappoint me! Upon arrival (via complementary airport transfer), I learned more practical tips and insights from a few minutes' speaking with Muriel than I did reading an entire guidebook! The dining recommendations were spot-on, including the hotel's own dinner menu (highly recommended!! I had the chicken pastilla, Marrakech lamb tagine, and orange à la cannelle). It is the little touches that make the Dar Dialkoum stand out: Muriel, Laurent, and all the staff are most gracious; mint tea, mineral water, and fresh fruit are always available; after the first breakfast the kitchen staff know your preferences exactly; and Muriel and Laurent do a great job of staying in touch with their guests both before and after their stay.

What is more, the experience is authentic because the riad is somewhat removed from the more touristed sections of the medina, yet it is still close enough to everything that one can walk practically everywhere. I enjoyed going to and from the riad because, once you meander down the street the riad is on to the main street nearby, you are practically catapulted into the frenzy that makes Marrakech such a fascinating city. It was nice to know that, when I felt exhausted from the energy of the city, I had this little oasis to return to! Whoever comes with an open mind, ready to experience Moroccan culture and hospitality, will love the Riad Dar Dialkoum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    477
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
287
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Only stayed here for one night but it was really beautiful and the staff were brilliant. Breakfast was good and the room was lovely - nice location - a little off the tourist route. Everything about the riad was well thought out and everyone was accommodating. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had high expectations of Riad Dar Dialkoum based on the many rave reviews, and can genuinely say that my expectations were met and even exceeded. I found the riad to be a very pleasant place to come back to after immersing oneself in the Marrakech streets. It has an authentic Moroccan ambience; when you retreat to it (in the evening, or perhaps for a couple of hours in the late afternoon before diving back into the city) you still feel like you’re very much immersed in the local milieu. I stayed in the Yasmina room, which was on second floor, and I liked it very much. The common areas of the riad are also really nice. The terrace is spacious and relaxing and there is a fantastic little pool off the courtyard. I liked the food as well.

The staff are gracious and efficient, and the owners are very good; reliable and communicative enough to give you a great sense of confidence even before you arrive. For me that was a big plus, and something that made Riad Dar Dialkoum particularly exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were greeted by Muriel, who met us at the road to make sure we didn't get lost. She was lovely, so welcoming and genuinely interested in our well-being. Laurent was also a really nice chap, generous and friendly. They were both so relaxed and easy going it made the Riad so homely.

The Dar Dialkoum boasts various sized rooms, we stayed in the smallest, which was still quite large, and was furnished with small cushioned seats, dressers, safe. The bathroom was clean, stylish, and functional.
The larger rooms ranged as big as what I could only describe as a palatial suit, and from the looks of things it was a brilliant deal.

There is a small plunge pool, in the beautiful open air courtyard, a salon/lounge on the first floor, and a roof garden/terrace on the second floor. There's a second quieter courtyard toward the back of the building, along with a shaded ground floor lounge with sofas.

You could not want for anything, snacks, drinks, including complementary water and tea.

We ate in twice, as the food was so good, the portions so generous, and the price exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived by car which is problematic. We found a fine parking place in the end but the best to do, if you arrive by car, is to phone the owners first and follow their advise. At least we experienced the thrill of driving in the narrow streets of the Medina.

The guest house is well restored and it is authentic. A very nice place in the Medina and from the Riad everything is within easy reach. The food we had was excellent and good value for money. The staff is very helpful and sympathetic. The owners are very hospitable and give you very good advice on anything you want to know about Marrakesh and Morocco. It really adds value to your visit.

The Riad is clean, well serviced and has many spots to relax and unwind after the hectic of the Medina and the souk.

Thank you also for serving an early breakfast (6 am) at our day of departure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Selima room which direct access on the patio. The room is fine but can be a bit noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have never written a review before, but Dar Dialkoum is worth it. We were warmly received very late at night, the breakfast was great, and the service provided was fantastic, Muriel and her staff satisfied every need, from a lovely breakfast, to negotiating a taxi fare to our next destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our second visit to the Riad Dar Dialkoum in two years. Yes, it is that good! We have yet to find a more exotic and wonderful place to stay. The riad is beautifully done and transforms you back to the traditional Moroccan style in elegance.

From the moment you arrive and are greeted by Laurent or Muriel and served up your arrival treats of mint tea and Moroccan cookies, until you tear yourself away at the end of your stay, your visit to Marrakech will be memorable!

Everything from the expansive breakfasts to the bountiful dinner will exceed your expectations. Laurent and Muriel are always there to answer questions, give directions and make suggestions for dinner.

Laurent recommended the La Maison Arabe for dinner and it was the culinary highlight of our visit to Marrakech. It is a short 10 minute walk from the riad (get good directions) and features wonderful Moroccan (and International) dishes in a sumptuous setting. Don't miss it!

We would also recommend the day-trip to Essaouira on the coast. If you are visiting Morocco you should see more than just Marrakech. We thoroughly enjoyed the day-trip and found the medina there much more enjoyable than the one in Marrakech. The harbor and fish market is very picturesque.

We also partook of the day-trip to the Ourika Valley. The mountain area was cool and we enjoyed visiting with the Berber people.

You absolutely can't go wrong with having the beautiful Riad Dar Dialkoum as your home base for exploring Marrakech and Morocco!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.