We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad, perfect hospitality, great value. Wow.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy Our Special Offers
Ranked #14 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Brussels
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, perfect hospitality, great value. Wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Well, maybe it is too gentle to be "wow". You slip into this place like you belong here, eased in by unfussy, informal, charming, helpful hosts. The building itself is exceptional - two courtyards separated by a lounge area - so there is a lightness and a feeling of space you do not get in most riads, and you can always find a quiet corner to yourself if you wish it. I do not know if the riad attracts a nice crowd or if guests just react positively to the hospitality, but there was a happy feeling here.

It is a good location - easy walking down interesting, direct and lively routes to the centre of the Medina and also close to the old city walls with all their babs and, therefore, taxis. It is also on the right side of town for Gueliz so you are within an easy walk of a more Western atmosphere should you want it from time to time.

But most of all, a great debt of gratitude for the information and advice and the real effort that went into finding things out, digging for information, making arrangements. Thanks to all, though in this case, Muriel in particular. Merci.

No more Internet searches next time, unless Dar Dialkoum is booked out (though in that case we would most likely change our dates).

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    35
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
94
303
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We visited Marrakech for the first time on the 20th April and stayed for one week at the Riad. Muriel welcomed us and gave us some excellent tips re taxi fares,hiring a driver and navigating our way round the city. She then left for a week's holiday. Laurent took over and was fantastically helpful fielding a million questions from my husband,Tony, and in addition to all his tips re restaurants, Hammam and stuff he was great to chat to and a very warm host as well as an extremely helpful one. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the Riad was a beautifully calm retreat from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The Riad was very beautiful and peaceful and we fell in love with the tadelakt (strongly in evidence throughout the Riad). We could not conceive of returning to Marrakech without staying at the Riad and would love to return one day with friends and family and hire the Riad in it's entirety. We stayed in Malika which was superb. My favourite meal of the trip was in the Riad being the kefta tagine (delicious)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at Riad Dar Dialkoum in May/June 2012 and it shows how much of an impression it made that I still remember how amazing our stay was now. We stayed for 2 nights in one of the smaller rooms and 4 nights in one of the suites. Both rooms were stunning. The attention to detail throughout made our stay so special as did the staff. The owners were very helpful providing us with an introduction to Marrakech and where their favourite places for food and drinks were. This was invaluable advice as we ended up visiting one of their recommended seafood restaurants (where we were the only tourists) on more than one occasion. The rest of the staff were also incredible. They provided us with bottles of water in handy carry-cooler bags every day and provided us with as much mint tea as we could drink, which it turns out was quite alot! We also treated ourselves to dinner at the riad one night and this is a must. The food, drink, and atmosphere are unforgetable and I cannot recommend this enough.

Overall a stay at Riad Dar Dialkoum will provide you with a fantastic place to stay, a calm within the storm of this busy city, and a helpful and friendly team that cant do enough for you. Amazing. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We wished we had stayed longer but the one-night stay we had at Dar Dialkoum was very very pleasant. We never got a chance to see Laurent but Muriel was really helpful and made everything so easy for us. I really appreciate that she picked us up from where the private tour company dropped us off. This way she told us that we would know how to get back if we want to go out on our own. I thought that was very clever. Then after we had some welcome tea and snacks, she opened the map and showed us sites that we might like and sites that we should avoid. She told us how much to pay the cab, how much is enough and how much is too much and how to get around the souk. I appreciate this very much and this is what makes this Riad the best. Then off we went to our room to relax before exploring the souk. Our room was very lovely and I'm also glad for the fruits (including oranges from the courtyard), the cookies and the big bottle of water in the room. So great service, such a lovely room. All the tips that she told us when inside the souk were so helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and if we are back to Marrakech, we will definitely stay here again. Thank you Laurent and Muriel for making our short stay in Marrakech such a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

When so many guests write the same great reviews, you know there's something special. We were not disappointed. Laurent and Muriel go out of their way to help make your stay a memorable one, including tips for places to visit and great insight on how to get around. The riad itself is a beautiful, peaceful oasis from the hustle and bustle of busy Marrakech. Make sure you have dinner at the riad at least once !

Missing it all already.....

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

At first we thought it might be too far from the plaza but after seeing the room we knew it's worth the walk. It's actually not that far and we never got lost. Muriel was so busy taking care of her guests but she's always available. My friend and I couldn't decide which company we should go with for the Sahara trip and Muriel gave us the best tip and she even made phone calls for us. None of i the riads we stayed at in Morocco provided a kettle or hot water except this one. The girls at the kitchen would make tea or coffee whenever you want some. The patio where we had breakfast was very pleasant. Muriel and Laurent made us feel like home all the time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Can't recommend this place enough! Muriel and Laurent went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and do everything they could for us. Rooms were stunning. Breakfast was lovely and now I am addicted to moroccan mint tea! Can't make it as well as them though! Awesome!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.