We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An atmospheric place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An atmospheric place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited this Riad. Laurent and Muriel were really welcoming and so helpful. We were greeted with a Mint Tea and Pastries upon arrival. Nothing was too much trouble at all. Our room was the Malika really clean, with fresh bottled water and fruIt, which was topped up daily. The food there was absolutely lovely.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    36
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
313
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We could not have wished for a lovelier place to spend out time in Marrakech. The hosts Muriel and Laurent were warm, welcoming and full of useful information. The Riad has a wonderful atmosphere and all facilities were excellent. The food was fabulous and the location ideal for exploring the Medina and the new city. Highly recommended. Can't rave about it enough!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We only had 1 night on our way home and wished we had stayed here longer. A safe haven from the wonderful hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Muriel was so helpful. I left my scarf and they kindly posted it back to me.
Thank you for a lovely stay........we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

To start with: this was our first trip to marrakech, so we don't have a lot of comparison material. However, we've both travelled a lot, and this riad was one of the best experiences we've had so far.

Service: excellent. When we arrived at the airport, a cab driver was waiting to pick us up and brought us straight to the riads' doors. Here we were welcomed by the owner Laurent, with fresh mint tea and he explained the basics of the city to us (standard thngs like where the good food is, and the regular fare for a taxi..). Because the main suite was empty Laurent offered us to upgrade our room for free.

Room: excellent. The room was clean, and styled in such a way that traditional was mixed perfectly with a more modern European style. There was fresh fruit and bottled water in the room for free. Everything smelled very nice too, and there were flower leaves on the bed and towels.

Common area: excellent. The same as the room: also very detailed and stylish, fresh mint tea, coffee, water and fruits are at your disposal for free anytime of the day.

Extra service: because we hadn't planned out the entire stay we asked Muriel and Laurent for advice on the rest of our stay. They helped us with the reservations we wanted and planning a route through the desert, and reserve a vehicle. If we'd done it ourselves we would probably lost the entire day on emailing and calling. Instead we went to les jardins majorelles and watched the sunset at another place of which I forgot the name (if you want to know this ask Laurent or Muriel).

Thank you for a great stay!


Kasper & Saskia

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here two times during our 3-week holiday in Morocco and stopped by in between to store some souvenirs. From all we have seen around Morocco, this was simply the best place of all. Laurent and Muriel are wonderfull people who gave us great travel advice and made us feel completely at home in Marrakech. The Riad is really beautiful, has a great atmosphere, friendly staff who cook great food (tip: this is easy to arrange for your first night when arriving late!). All in all highly recommended! Thanks L&M for the great time we had! Evelien & Lode

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Highly recommend this place. Having travelled quite a bit and stayed in all sorts of places this is one that stands out and deserves a review and a mention.
Amazing Riad that provides tranquility amongst the chaos of the marrakesh medina.
Muriel and Laurent are a friendly french couple who go out of their way to make everything perfect. Always someone around to make sure all is well. Laurent even negotiated a taxi to the airport at the end for us.

Bonus: A great breakfast whenever you want it plus free mint tea, coffee and mineral water.

Tip: make sure you have the printed map with you when you first arrive so that you can find the place. Everyone will be trying to help you otherwise and earn a buck. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights with our children. Laurent and Muriel were very helpful when we arrived. They seemed genuine and wanted to help us out. I was a bit taken aback on our way to the riad. But once you enter the riad, it is like a little oasis. It is quiet and peaceful and we felt at home. I also got used to the location. It is actually very convenient as it is in old part of the city but also close to the new part and very close to the taxi stand so you can take a taxi at anytime. I also felt very safe. The staff are helpful and friendly - although one of them could have been a bit more friendlier. Maybe we found her unfriendly due to the language problem. Khadija is a good cook and she made some nice soups. You get free tea, water and coffee.

the suites are really nicely decorated and I really liked suite Yasmina. our kids really enjoyed the stay.

just some small issues we had: hot water was not working properly in the room downstairs. so we had to go back and forth between our room and our mother's room. it was reapired on the first day and then again it stopped working. maybe because it was connected to the heater in the kitchen. they could try to put a separate heater for the room. the pillows were really hard. hey could do with getting some new pillows. although I found out that they do have some nice pillows- we just did not get them.

Laurent and Muriel helped out with places to visit, restaurants and spa. they also gave us their stroller. our kids sometimes did make some noise but they were really understanding about that and did not say anything.

The breakfast was good and we enjoyed it. but sometimes the pastries were not fresh.

They gave us a free upgrade for the last two nights and it was really nice.

Overall, it is a great place to stay in Marrakech with or without kids. we will stay here if we ever visit Marakech again. I have also recommended this place to our friends who are visiting Marakech soon.

Room Tip: Select the suites on the first floor. I liked suite Yasmina
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.