We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the key to our perfect Marrakech experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“the key to our perfect Marrakech experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights here in January and would go back tomorrow if we could. Here are five reasons (in no particular order) to stay at Dar Dialkoum:

1. It's a beautiful, relaxing retreat from the glorious chaos of Marrakesh. Way more luxurious than the price would suggest. Their policies of breakfast at any time, dinner at any time and free tea, coffee and water at all times also mean you don't have to jump out of bed at 8:30 on vacation if you don't want to.
2. The food is very good. If you are exhausted from a day walking and haggling in the Medina, you can come back to your room and while you clean up Rashida will prepare your delicious 3-course meal. The 20 euro prix fixe offers a lot of choice. Also, you can have a decent bottle of wine with your meal. Ask Laurent to suggest something.
3. The location. It's quick and easy to get to the heart of the Medina, but also close to the wall where you can get a (cheap) taxi to the new city.
4. Muriel and Laurent are charming, interesting people who will offer advice, stop for chat or leave you alone if you prefer. They can help guide you throughout your visit with helpful suggestions, but are never pushy (and they never ask if you did what they suggested which I always find a little awkward.) They are also very flexible and accommodating if you have a change of plans.
5. Their all-female staff work hard to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. As much as I could tell, they seem fairly treated and compensated.

Tips: (1) Go ahead and ask for an extra pillow, they don't mind.
(2) order the tomato with honey starter.

Room Tip: If you travel off-season you may get an upgrade with a multi-day stay. But even the smaller rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    36
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
312
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at Riad Dar Dialkoum in December and loved every minute. Muriel, Laurent, and the rest of the staff were exemplary hosts, and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. The location is fantastic- midway between the old and new parts of the city, away from the busiest parts, but such that you can easily walk anywhere. The atmosphere in the Riad was so peaceful that it was all too tempting to stay in the Riad and relax rather than go out and see the city! We ate dinner at the Riad 2 nights out of our 7 in Marrakech, and the food was the best we had all week. We would recommend staying here to anyone and hope to return ourselves!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and it is really a beautiful place. Its run by a lovely couple, Muriel and Laurent. They really made us feel special while we where there, and they also speak english. One of them is always there, in addition to the staff - all very nice girls. And Khadija (i think?) makes the best food, both the dinner and the breakfast is fantastic. They also serve the food on the terrace if you want to - great service. We arrived at the riad straight from a hiking trip in the mountains, and was therefor really exhausted. My boyfriend had forgot his toothbrush, but one of the girls actually went out to buy one for him! Also, one of the cheaper room that we wanted was not availible when we made the booking, but we got a suite for the same price instead. As you can see, the service is superb! You also get free water, cofee and tee - as much as you want.

The location is a bit away from the tourist-areas, which we liked a lot. It is more quiet, and it really gives you a feeling of the real Marrakesh - great! The last day we bought chicken from one of the bbq´s out in the street (the one in the middle) - it is the best food we had in Marrakesh!

We are definitly coming back to both Marrakesh and Dar Dialkoum :)

Room Tip: Suite Leila is a very nice room, it is located on the first floor, away from the ground floor which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Beautiful Riad tucked away in a more quiet part of the Medina. We stayed here for two nights and thought the accommodations and value were tremendous. The owners were so helpful with getting us situated and comfortable. When we arrived they upgraded our room for one night which was amazing. Their motto is "anything is possible" and I love that. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked this riad based on the fab reviews on TA and were really thrilled with our decision. Laurent, Muriel and all the staff at the Riad went out of their way to make our first trip to Marrakech personal and unique. The food at the riad is really good and great value. Home cooking at its best and we honestly thought their tagines were of unsurpassed taste and quality.
Marrakech is mental and traffic is totally crazy but coming back to the riad offered the peace and tranquility of an oasis. The Bab Doukkala area gave us an insight into how the real Marrakechi people live within the Medina, while being a stone's throw from Gueliz (the French Quarter) and Place Jemaa El Fna. Laurent's recommendations on what to do, where to eat and how to deal with Marrakech are invaluable! Thanks guys - if we're ever back in Marrakech, we will definitely stay here again :-)

Room Tip: Suite Soraya is very romantic with a four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honefoss, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 2 days for the second time. Wonderful riad, very welcoming hosts and beautiful suites.
We had beakfast at the roof terrace both days. Nothing is a problem at this riad. Muriel and Laurent are very helpful!

Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 night in December. We were made extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Staying here was a real calm oasis and a great escape.
We were picked up at the airport as arranged. Although we have visited Marrakech before everything was explained to us, any changes and things we should see etc.
We were welcomed with lovely local mint tea. Flowers and fruit in our room.
I would love to return and Would recommend this Riad to lone travellers, families or couples.

Room Tip: It would be hard to find without being picked up at the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.