We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our stay at Riad Dar Dialkoum was an unforgettable experience. I plan to come back some day to enjoy the tranquility, the hidden nooks and crannies at the Riad and the feeling of being home in a chaotic city. Muriel and Laurent (and the rest of the staff) do everything possible to make you feel as though you are part of a large family, instead of just guests at a hotel. Upon arrival one of them take you through the best places to visit, places to avoid, and restaurants only the locals know of. In a place like Marrakech, where everything is quite touristy, we found their tips very useful. I would recommend taking a day out to just relax on the terrace with their excellent mint tea. Despite our booking day trips with eternal agencies, Laurent helped us by calling them for us and coordinating with them, which was a huge help, as we did not have a local phone. We stayed in Riad des arts and a couple of other places in Morocco during our visit, and Dar Dialkoum was undoubtedly the best. I would strongly recommend this Riad. Just make sure you follow the map on the Riad's website rather than Google maps to reach the Riad, as Google has got the address wrong.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
105
333
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
All over the world
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Dar Dialkoum as the final stay of our Morocco trip. Muriel was a great host and did everything to make our stay pleasant. The location was good, near the western gate and an easy walk to both the new district and the medina. The only negative was the dinner-- we were not pleased at all with the dinner there and found it rather overpriced on top of it all. I would recommend staying at the Riad but eating your dinners elsewhere.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in May 2012. Beautiful riad, Room was tasteful and spacious, courtyard fantastic and the roof is quiet and secluded for sunbathing with a great view of the Atlas mountains. Great breakfast, make sure you have it on the roof terrace surrounded by birdsong.

Clear to see why this Riad won the 'Travellers Choice' award - the owners are a delight and have poured their heart into the place. In fact, all staff are incredibly helpful (and honest!), plus attentive but not intrusive. There is also a pet tortoise!

Few points to be aware of:

- 20 mins walk to Jemaa El Fna but not too taxing at all, especially in the evening
- You will be woken up around 5am every day for 5/10 mins as there is the Bab Doukkala mosque nearby

Room Tip: We stayed in Soraya, 1st floor. Lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel in Marrakech was just marvelous. We stayed for three
nights in April 2012 It had a wonderful Morrocan feel, with a beautiful open
courtyard and small swimmimng pool and various lovely sitting areas
with loads of pillows and arabic decoration. There was even a very lovely
sundeck that was quite luxurious, in my opinion.

The room was really nice and beautifully and tastefully decorated.
Everything was wonderfully clean and the atmosphere was so calm.
It was an oasis after being out in the hustle and bustle of the city all day.

The owners could not possibly have been more very helpful, kind
and interesting. The staff was wonderful as well.

The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. And on top of that at
any time of the day, you could have delicious complimentary Moroccan
mint tea.

Five star recommendation from this visitor !! *****

Room Tip: It seem all rooms are very nice and all would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed at this riad for four nights. We had no issues making the reservations and communicating with Laurent and Muriel, the hosts. They accommodated us for no extra charge when we decided our daughter would accompany us on the trip. They rearranged a room to allow for a third person. Our stay was perfect, great breakfast to order, clean, great beds, etc. We were picked up at the airport on the way in (no extra charge) and Laurent walked us to a taxi on the way back and settled the price. He was very helpful with tips, do's and don'ts. The extra touches were many, but I think of the umbrellas offered when it was rainy in the morning, welcome tea and pastry on arrival, food and drinks anytime during our stay, Internet, Satellite TV, etc. The riad itself is even nicer that the exquisite pictures on the web page. It is in one of the alley networks in the old town, and we soon learned our way to it and back from every direction. We walked to all Old Town and New Town action spots. This place is as good as it gets!

Room Tip: They all seemed pretty good - can't think of any tips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

It is hard to say much more than has already been said. The Riad Dar Dialkoum is simply lovely, Laurent and Muriel along with their staff cannot do enough for you. They make you feel very special. We stayed for four nights and enjoyed every minute of it.
The Riad itself is tastefully and sympathetically decorated and transports you to a far gone time. The most striking thing is the tranquility about the place. I would recomend it to anyone and we will definitely be returning. When you first turn up don't be put off by the location you will quickly come to love it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lolo40000, Owner at Riad Dar Dialkoum, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Dar Dialkoum. We just try to take care of our visitors as we would like for us in the same situation, in a real authentic Riad.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards.

Laurent, Muriel & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We received a warm and friendly welcome from Muriel and Laurent and over the ever available glass of sweet mint tea, a detailed briefing on the attractions, restaurants and pitfalls for tourists in Marrakesh. During our 5 day stay in two different rooms where every attention was given to tasteful detail, there was an unlimited supply of mint tea avaiable from the friendly staff and we had two first class 4 course pre-arranged Morroccan evening meals; significantly superior to what we encountered in the city restaurants. The location of the riad is excellent and within easy walking distance of the main 'must visit' square (even allowing for the mandatory getting lost in the myriad of alleys) and an inexpensive taxi ride from other attractions. The riad is tatefully decorated and, in addition to the rooftop terrace, has several 'private' nooks where one can relax in the sun or shade. Internet access is good from most areas. We experienced rather cold weather but the riad is cleverly designed so that there is a covered warm section. For its very central location the riad is an oasis of tranquility and there were no disturbing street noises at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent-deMarrakech, Owner at Riad Dar Dialkoum, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Enid and Winston,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We tried to improve the riad with a lot of things since 3 years and I really think that all your comments are relevant.

We changed for new modern and comfortable mattresses in the 3 suits and in the room Aïcha since 15 days. We will change all the other mattresses in the other rooms in 1 week.

Our ambition is to become one of the best "quality/price" of Marrakech, and to be as close as possible to the standards of comfort in Occident.

Best Wishes from Marrakech.

Laurent, Muriel & all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.