We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful on both occasions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful on both occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I have visited this Riad twice now, once with my partner and once with my mum and both times it has been an amazing and beautiful place to stay. We recieved such a warm welcome from Laurent and muriel on arrival and throughout our stay they were so helpful and approachable advising us on places to visit and aiding us in our navigation through the medina.
The riad is located in the medina, a traditional building that is something very different from the modern built hotels that are normally on offer. Its interior is beautiful, tranquil and perfect for just relaxing in the afternoon when in need of a rest. Staying there was an experience all of it's own and I loved it both times. Marrakech is an extraordinary city, somewhere I have loved visiting and would return to again and again, riad dar dialkoum is the place I would always choose to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
288
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This really is a special place but two things first : the sound proofing is not and cannot be as effective as would be ideal because of the structure of the building and the beautiful, authentic doors/windows. But with consideration/discretion it was fine. And secondly, the bed mattress was I am sure "traditional" but a bit firmer than I like - fine if your own bed is a futon! But...

...a lot of care, good taste and attention to detail has gone into the furnishing, facilities and decor which I loved! It felt luxurious but on an intimate scale!

I want to mention Amina because she worked hard but with such charm and kindness! The food was good (value) and I wondered whether I could watch the cook to learn some new skills!

Advice from Laurent and Muriel was peerless! The fish restaurant Al Bahyia was great and we really DID need to drink more water to stay hydrated!

Laurent and Muriel deserve their success because they clearly understand what matters most about creating a wonderful, multi-layered experience not just a short stay in a small hotel. It is about passion, integrity, kindness and doing as you would be done by!

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is such a peaceful and friendly Riad. Muriel and Laurent are wonderful and their introduction to Marrakech and map on arrival meant we made the most of our stay. Breakfast was fine, with plenty of great coffee and hot milk which I love, but not very varied, although eggs were available if you asked for them. All the rooms were good, with bottled water freely available, and fresh fruit in the room. One of the showers only produced luke warm water - maybe due to it not being very sunny as the supply is solar powered I think. The roof terrace is a sun trap and you can have meals up there, but it is a bit of a trek up and down the stairs for the poor staff! We would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone, whether families, singles, or couples. The location is brilliant as well. On the outer edge of the Medina, which means it is quieter but easy to walk everywhere in the city. The wireless only works in certain places in the Riad, but you can easily find a place to sit and use it, if you cannot get it in your room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. If you are traveling with friends or need rooms near one another, and want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from spending 4 days in Marrakech and we’re so happy that we choose to stay at this wonderful, friendly Riad.

The many reviews we read before leaving home, still did not prepare us for the feeling of absolute calm and tranquillity that would take hold the moment we walked through that large black door into the Riad Dar Dialkoum.

We were dropped by a taxi on one of the nearby busy and bustling streets, where one of the staff greeted us and took us to the Riad. We took up the offer to allow the Riad to arrange the taxi for us as we hadn’t been to Marrakech before, I’m very pleased we did although we paid a little more for it, it definitely made the whole arrival experience that much less stressful. We followed the staff member through the small alleyways and eventually arrived. As we sat in one of the many sofa areas, I could actually feel myself speaking quietly, it was hard not to as the atmosphere of the Riad was so calm and quiet.

One of the staff showed us our room. I’ve added some pictures to the site. It was a lovely room, good size, with a nice big albeit quite hard bed (I’m a soft mattress sleeper). The bathroom was finished in terracotta which gave a great warm feeling to it. The only small thing to be careful of was that only a curtain divided the bathroom from the reminder of the room, therefore rendering any bathroom activities an occasion for all in the room to enjoy.

On the first night, seeing as we’d arrived quite late we had also taken up the offer to dinner at the Riad. This was a fantastic meal which incorporated my first experience of Moroccan cuisine. Tagine, Moroccan salad, a dessert to die for….yum!!! I’m still unsure about the Orange soup starter, but the remainder was delightful.

It was then time for some Peppermint tea, you can have as much of this as you like, and I sure made the most of it.

Laurent introduced himself that night and Muriel the following day. They were so helpful, recommended great places to visit, eat and drink and even booked a restaurant and Spa for us. They always made a point of saying hello and asking how our day was, which gave the holiday much more a feeling of ‘staying with friends’ than staying in your everyday hotel.

A great breakfast was served every morning which helped set us up for the day. All of the staff were very friendly and kind and we were always greeted with a smile (and peppermint tea) when we returned.

When the sad time came to leave and go home, Muriel even came with us to help carry our bags and found us a taxi to take us back to the airport. Perfect service, from start to finish.

If you’re planning to go to Marrakech and are looking for a beautiful friendly place to stay, then look no further than the Riad Dar Dialkoum.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We have just got back from staying here for four days and could not have asked for more! Muriel and Laurent were so incredibly helpful and kind to us during our stay. The Riad is in such a great location for walking into the souks and also to get to the new city. The breakfast every morning was very varied and filling for a long day! As this was our first trip to Marrakech having someone sit down with you when you arrive telling you good restaurants, good sights and the best places to makes the most of the trip and your money was such an amazing help and made our trip what it was. i would recommend this Riad to anyone!

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely - we were lucky enough to be upgraded which was a delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a charming and beautiful place to stay run by Muriel & Laurent and their friendly team.

We arrived on an evening flight and welcomed the easy pick-up from the airport and the good food, served in the courtyard under orange trees. Marrakech is a great city, but you do need to ease into the culture of negotiation and constant offers of 'help' - Muriel & Laurent do this superbly.

Both of them spent a good deal of time with us advising us what to see & the best times to visit. We largely spent our three days following their faultless suggestions (which is unusual for us, we are pretty independent minded). We particularly recommend the Maison de la Photographie and the government run, fixed price Ensemble de Artisans which is great for shopping without the hassles of the Souks. I'm sure some people love the banter and bargaining... but it can take a while to get used to!

The Riad itself is a delight - our room was comfortable and elegantly furnished with extra touches of rose petals, dressing gowns etc. It was also great to have help with buying genuine saffron and organising a henna tattoo (a fun thing to do, but potentially dangerous in the square). It is about a 15-20 minute walk from the centre of the Medina, which is a good thing - it is in a much more authentic feeling part of town, away from the hassles but with all the charm. Quite simply a joy to stay here.

Room Tip: Malika room is quiet and comfortable, towards the rear of the Riad up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over New Years eve and were treated to an unforgettable experience of Morrocan food and music.

The rest of our stay was equally delightfull. The riad is beautifull and our hosts made us feel very welcome and provided us with great insider information on where to eat and what to see.

I would liken it to staying with friends, a refreshing change from faceless hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.