We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, friendly and helpful oasis.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 Derb Jdid, Derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful, friendly and helpful oasis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We have just got back from staying here for four days and could not have asked for more! Muriel and Laurent were so incredibly helpful and kind to us during our stay. The Riad is in such a great location for walking into the souks and also to get to the new city. The breakfast every morning was very varied and filling for a long day! As this was our first trip to Marrakech having someone sit down with you when you arrive telling you good restaurants, good sights and the best places to makes the most of the trip and your money was such an amazing help and made our trip what it was. i would recommend this Riad to anyone!

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely - we were lucky enough to be upgraded which was a delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
354
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a charming and beautiful place to stay run by Muriel & Laurent and their friendly team.

We arrived on an evening flight and welcomed the easy pick-up from the airport and the good food, served in the courtyard under orange trees. Marrakech is a great city, but you do need to ease into the culture of negotiation and constant offers of 'help' - Muriel & Laurent do this superbly.

Both of them spent a good deal of time with us advising us what to see & the best times to visit. We largely spent our three days following their faultless suggestions (which is unusual for us, we are pretty independent minded). We particularly recommend the Maison de la Photographie and the government run, fixed price Ensemble de Artisans which is great for shopping without the hassles of the Souks. I'm sure some people love the banter and bargaining... but it can take a while to get used to!

The Riad itself is a delight - our room was comfortable and elegantly furnished with extra touches of rose petals, dressing gowns etc. It was also great to have help with buying genuine saffron and organising a henna tattoo (a fun thing to do, but potentially dangerous in the square). It is about a 15-20 minute walk from the centre of the Medina, which is a good thing - it is in a much more authentic feeling part of town, away from the hassles but with all the charm. Quite simply a joy to stay here.

Room Tip: Malika room is quiet and comfortable, towards the rear of the Riad up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed here over New Years eve and were treated to an unforgettable experience of Morrocan food and music.

The rest of our stay was equally delightfull. The riad is beautifull and our hosts made us feel very welcome and provided us with great insider information on where to eat and what to see.

I would liken it to staying with friends, a refreshing change from faceless hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a great welcome from Muriel, Laurent and their team at this delightful riad in the old city. It's the perfect place from which to explore the medina and the new city. Key attractions such as the Jemaa el-Fnaa square are a walk away. The riad itself is a peaceful haven in this bustling city and you will not find more comfortable mattresses if you tried! The breakfast is superb and it's also well worth having dinner at least one night in the riad. Also, try the Moroccan wines...especially the Gazelle de Mogador (red and white). The key to the success of the Riad Dar Dialkoum is the superb assistance you get from the owners and staff. They are a mine of information and will help you navigate with greater ease through this complex (and at times positively mediaeval) city. Importantly they can also help you arrange transport to and from the airport which is a welcome break from having to haggle yet again with a cabbie.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This riad was exactly what we needed - it was such a peaceful, relaxing, beautiful place to rest ourselves after a day out in the intensity of the medina in Marrakech. We had been traveling with our 10 month old son for 2 months and this place was by far the most baby friendly place we stayed in. They offered us a highchair, stroller, car seat, baby food, as well as upgraded our room to make our stay more comfortable with a baby. The staff was so generous and friendly. Murielle and Laurent gave the most helpful advice on where to eat or explore (but not in a pushy manner which was refreshing given the harassment we experienced in other places)- they provided truly amazing hospitality. The rooms are gorgeous, quiet, and clean, decorated with exceptional taste.......the bed was littered with rose petals which was most romantic. We would recommend this place to anyone - you would truly have a positive experience in all ways.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We have just returned from our 5 night stay at this riad and enjoyed our stay there so much we HAD to write a review. Even before we arrived in Marrakech our communication with the riad had been great, we arranged our transfer from the airport directly with the hotel and were glad we did as the taxi driver helped us with our cases and to find the riad. As with most riads in the Medina it is not possible to get a car to the front door and the tiny streets are a bit of a maze so it was really helpful for the driver to show us where we were going. We also managed to find out about the free wifi in the hotel, the safety deposit box in the room, to book our meal on the first night and felt very reassured by the speed and detailed responses. Top marks Laurent and Muriel!!! :-)

Our pick up at the airport went well, we arrived early so had time to exchange money, but the driver would have waited for us to do this. When we arrived at the riad Laurent immediately made us feel at home. We sat for what must have been at least 45 minutes over mint tea and patries (which were delicious!) while Laurent explained the entire map of Marrakech, walking distances to various attractions, which stalls were the best, the best places to eat, what to expect to pay for taxis, horse drawn carriages, everything we could possibly have wanted to know! It was like having a personal tour planner there!!! Again top marks!

The riad was beautiful, lots of nice places to sit - we had breakfast on the terrace one day rather than in the courtyard, that was very nice too. The room was clean and comfortable and the cleaning lady must have been hiding around the corner waiting as one morning our room was cleaned and made up while we ate breakfast! Wow! The riad has so much character, is lovely and open and we were greatly impressed when Laurent informed us that no part of the riad was private - we could go and watch them prepare mint tea or food if we wanted. We got a true experience of being in the heart of Marrakech, the location is brilliant - just outside the busy parts of the Medina and less touristy, so we truly saw locals shopping in the souks. It also meant we were away from the noise and we not really disturbed by the 5 calls to prayer each day. Top marks here also!

Now at this point we must mention the food. We decided to eat at the hotel the night we arrived and ate from a menu which had been prepared for us. The food was delicious. The cook spoilt us all week with wonderful breakfasts with fresh orange juice and of course mint tea on demand. What a brilliant experience. I would recommend to anyone to book a meal on the night of arrival as it will give you a real flavour of Marrakech. On the note about breakfast anything was possible - 4am, 7am, 9am, 11am - all without a problem. Top marks for food and service.

The staff were all very friendly. Unfortunately we didn't learn all their names, but the lady who seemed the most senior also spoke some English. She was very friendly and helpful, always welcomed us with a smile and worked very hard night and day to make sure we were happy and well looked after. Laurent and Muriel both told us how lucky they were to have such great staff and we totally agree with them. Great staff - top marks!

All in all this was a wonderful experience for us. Sure the riad is beautiful, the food is amazing, the staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable, but what truly sets this place apart is the quality of service which Laurent and Muriel work so hard to create. We felt like VIPs the entire time we were there, we welcomed each time we saw Laurent or Muriel and felt like Riad Dar Dialkoum was our second home. On the night before we left we spoke to Muriel who said they tried to model their approach on what they would want if they went on holiday - and it works. There is a high level of practical and specific organisation to ensure quality of rooms, food, etc.. is high, coupled with an enormous emotional investment in the well being of the guests which is a winning combination.

Oh and the price was great too! I'm sure other people (some of whom we met) stayed in very expensive and generic hotels with the usual standard of decoration etc..., but they missed out on the real riad experience, personalised service and probably paid 4 times the price.

This riad deserves its trip advisor rating, we would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Milaka room which was nice as it was outside the central courtyard, but honestly I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My four-night stay at Dar Dialkoum was far and away one of the highlights of my entire trip to Morocco. Not only was it a comfortable and calming home away from home but more importantly, Laurent, Muriel and their staff were incredible hosts who were more than happy to provide suggestions/recommendations, a conversation, or even a birthday celebration.
The riad was gorgeous--large and airy with a stunning rooftop terrace with expansive views of the entire city. Situated in a great neighborhood that represents the true Marrakesh everyday life, it was really a wonderful spot to return to each night after exploring. The rooms were comfortable and lovely with rose petals scattered on the bed to greet you and the bathroom was great. I can't describe the smell of the soap but I will forever wish that I had that perfume every day!
Thank you to Dar Dialkoum for making Marrakesh a wonderful experience for me!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Address: 317 Derb Jdid, Derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Splendia so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.