We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words can't really describe this place or the amazing people who own and work here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dialkoum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Dialkoum
317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Words can't really describe this place or the amazing people who own and work here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Words can't really describe this place or the amazing people who own
and work here.
Laurent and Muriel are lovely people and care completely for their
guests. We felt like we were treated like royalty AND family at the
same time. Making guests happy makes them happy. The staff, especially
Kadija and Ibrahim, looked after us better than our own mums - and
their 3 lovely helpers kept the place super-clean and beautifully
presented at all times.
In such a crazy all-happening town as Marrakesh it is important to
have a lovely, quiet, welcoming 'home' to come back to whenever
needed.
We found the location perfect, a leisurely 20 minute walk to the
square of Jemaa El Fna and the same in the opposite direction to
Gueliz whenever we fancied a beer in a modern bar. The day we took a
taxi it cost €1 (at night it goes up to €3).
The riad is easy to find after being shown once (Ibrahim came to meet
us the first time). Getting there, one passes a street corner-market
that is as genuine as it gets, then taking a few short turns on
simple, narrow, car-less streets, there is a large black unassuming
door that well conceals the warmth, friendliness and luxurious comfort
that lie within.

When we come back to Marrakesh, there is no doubt where we will be staying.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
288
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This riad was recommended to us and we would like to pass on the recommendation. The hosts, Laurent and Muriel, were extremely informative and very good cultural advisors. They both took time to sit down with us and outline Marrakesh and its attractions. An additional advantage of this riad is that it has its own restaurant (which we used when, following a day in the Moroccon sun we needed a quiet night in).
We can also say that we stayed at a different riad on our second trip to Marrakesh which, compared to this one, was terrible! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I visited Marakkesh back in 2007 so this is a very old review. I guess the fact that I am writing about this Riad after nearly 4 years underlines the impact it had on the 10 of us who stayed. The rooms were wonderful, the breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day ahead and the quietness and privacy of the Riad after various long days out in and around Marakkesh made this the perfect place for us to stay . Mohammed was simply superb and made us feel very welcome. Apologies the review is so late (Hayley Swann and Fiona Hornsby who booked it never got round to writing the review and after finding out they never got round to it the other night over dinner I decided to instead)

Room Tip: Go with a group of people
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We booked the whole Riad for a group of twelve for three nights to celebrate my wife's birthday.

We were a mixture of first timers and some who had stayed in Marrakech previously, and we all agreed that Dar Dialkoum was superb.

From the booking with Laurent and Muriel through until we left, the whole experience was wonderful.

Good rooms, beautifully decorated and furnished, with nice touches such as daily fresh fruit, water and flowers.

Many places could learn from the service given by Laurent, Muriel and the lovely Mohammed, for whom nothing was too much, even arranging an early evening shave for a few lazy chaps.

We had two meals in the Riad, which were the best we had on our stay, and the breakfasts were very good.

Puts pricier Riads to shame.

I've seen a few comments about the walk to the square, it's only about twenty minutes, but if you want to vist the Majorelle, that's only about ten. Swings and roundabouts.

We will visit Marrakech again, as we love the city, and when we do, we'll come back to Dar Dialkoum.

We all had a simply excellent stay, and we all hope to go back.

I

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I can't speak highly enough of this wonderful little riad. I booked this holiday for me and my 11 year old daughter on a bit of a whim and it's the most relaxing holiday we've ever had. Not only was the weather perfect but nothing we were completely spoilt by the owners and staff at Riad Dar Dialkoum. Nothing was too much trouble for them and after hours of trekking the souks at the end of the day it just felt like returning to our own home - really it was that welcoming and comfortable! I was a little worried as a single mother travelling alone for the first time but my daughter and I felt safe at all times and the people we met were so friendly. We hope to return to Marrakech soon and I can guarantee that I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else but this beautiful, charming and traditional riad. So much love and thanks to all who made our stay so special. Sam and Lily x x x x

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuerteventura, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Open the door to another world in the medina of marrakesh with the hustle and bustle, the riad owners make you very welcome, the khajida and Mohammed who work with Muriel and Laurent are amazing help and food excellent. Recommend for a good location to all parts of Marrakesh centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The Riad is a quite oasis in the caos of the Medina, very close to Gueliz and new Marrakech. I can hardly find something wrong in our stay at Riad Ralkoum... gorgeous riad, wonderful rooms, perfect atmosfere, great hospitality by the staff and (last but not least) by far the tastiest food I have tried in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Address: 317 derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Dar Dialkoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dialkoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.