We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Eden was total tranquility after the mayhem of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Eden to your Saves list
Riad Eden
25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“Riad Eden was total tranquility after the mayhem of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I cannot fault Riad Eden for the superb levels of service, hospitality and comfort during our stay. Emmanuel and Helene (owners) went out of their way to assist us on arrival and had many good tips for dealing with the souks, main squares and getting around Marrakech. Their staff were there 24hrs a day and were quick to produce bottles of water or mint tea as required! The rooms were perfect for relaxing after a 40 deg C day and the Riad itself is tucked away in a quiet and secluded alleyway unbelievably close to the main Jamaa el Fna square which is a perfect definition for the term chaos! Nothing seemed too much trouble for the team and we would drop everything and return tomorrow if we could! Would we recommend to friends? - absolutely, and take the option of dinner too which was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    37
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
155
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

If you're looking for a Riad in Marrakech, this is the place to book! On the recommendation of some friends, my husband and I booked to stay here for 3 nights at the beginning of our stay and ended up staying a further 2 nights at the end of our stay too. Not only is it a wonderful Riad but it's also in a perfect location - on a quiet side street but in easy walking distance to all the main tourist attractions. We hadn't booked anywhere else for our trip but the owner, Emmanuel suggested places we should visit and called guest houses to arrange our stay. His recommendations were a huge success and we had an amazing holiday thanks to his help and advice. We stayed in the Orange room for our first 3 nights and the Cinnamon room for our final 2 nights. Both are beautifully and thoughtfully decorated (accurately shown on the Riad website). The outstanding service is something that we have never come across in our extensive travels. Emmanuel and his wife could not have been more helpful. They speak several languages fluently (French, English, Spanish, German) and are more than happy to share their extensive knowledge of the city and the country. Emmanuel recommended a wonderful cookery course in a nearby Riad too. The exclusive dinners at Riad Eden looked like a very romantic affair and our one regret is that we didn't eat at the Riad. We had to leave for the airport at 5.30am and were amazed that a full breakfast was provided for both us and the couple who were also travelling to the airport at the same time. The only down side that we found was that hot water sometimes ran out but cold showers were very welcome in such hot temperatures so it wasn't really a problem! We will definitely be back to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Riad Eden is the worst place I ever stayed around the world and I slept in the Chocolate Room, as they say in their website, ‘grand-luxury’ – it must be a joke! Pricey, dirty, insecure, poor food, moisture and cracks and power drill holes on the walls, strong sewer smell, small rooms, very small bed, no privacy and, worst of all, the French owner is almost never in the place and leaves the guests to his employees. He seems sympathetic at first, but if you complain about something he turns angry and aggressive saying that you are trying to take advantage of him. What a shame! I had never seen a behavior like this. If you like to be exploited and then treated like a beggar or worse, this is the right place for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Emmanuel is the owner and is on site each day. Conversant in ??? languages, he is what raises the Riad Eden into a very elite status for this price range. If a person is a first time visitor to Morocco and/or Marrakech, then I very much recommend staying here. He will take as long as you need providing whatever information you require. Emmanuel also set up a number of things for us too-- from pre purchased bus tickets for our departure to the coast to dinner reservation at the famous Le Foundouk. Just ask him. Oh yeah, the room was the biggest and the bed the biggest and most comfortable we had during our month in Spain + Morocco. The brkfsts were wonderful. Again, all this pertains to this price range and for staying inside the Medina.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Riad is gorgeous and cozy....very thoughtfully decorated. Owners are wonderful. Breakfast is delicious. Can't say enough good things.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

The good: This riad was quiet, comfortable and affordable (at least for us). If the owners are not there (French couple in Jan 2010) they have an overnight guard and on-site staff at all times. Room was small but adequately comfortable. Bath was small but perfectly functional. Roof-top terrace is quite pretty and offers some nice sunset views of the Medina and city. Wi-fi worked on roof but not so well in other places (the owner's office is up there, which explains it). On the last night we ordered a dinner (ahead) from the staff cooks and it was delicious and beautifully served.
The bad: It was a bit hard to find b/c it's on a back alley and the locals were eager to take us to other riads and sell us their stuff until we found it. 1-2 more signs would be helpful for those coming in for the first time. We had some laundry to do and the owner first said it would be no extra charge but later changed his tune. The hot water may run out, at which case you need to notify the on-site staff to replace a gas canister (not a huge problem but problematic if you're on your own). Keep lids over sink holes and drains -- sewer smell can seep up.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Due to the ash cloud it was touch and go whether we'd make it out to Marrakech (we were on the first flight out to Marrakech in six days!), but I'm so glad we did.

We landed late but the taxi driver we had arranged through Riad Eden was waiting patiently for us and helped us get some Dhirams. Emmanuel was up waiting for us when we arrived and sat down and recommended places to go and more importantly how not to get lost!

We had the Berber room for the first two nights (the ash cloud meant some other guests were forced to stay extra nights and we said we won't mind having a different room) which is compact and does smell a little bit of drains from time to time. Also you can hear both the call to prayer in the morning and the staff making breakfast in the kitchen from the room.

The last two nights we had the Orange Room which was on the top floor near the terrasse. Nicely decorated room. Shower was pretty weak (water pressure problems with being on the top floor?) but was nice and big.

We LOVED the terrasse for sitting and reading and breakfast was really lovely. The Berber pancakes with honey and jam (all in little dishes neatly set out for you each morning on a white tablecloth) were lovely.

Location was great. Round the corner from one of the main thoroughfares, that means to the main square one way and the Saadian tombs the other.

One other point is that you don't actually get your own key (to the Riad or to your rooms), which means you have to knock to be let in which can sometimes take a while and you have to trust that your stuff in your rooms will be safe. But we felt comfortable with that. The staff were very friendly and efficient and Emmanuel was always around checking everything was ok.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Eden

Address: 25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Eden Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.