We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to return to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Eden to your Saves list
Riad Eden
25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place to return to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

We spent 5 memorable days at the Riad Eden in November. The Riad - its owners and staff - played a large part in making this a memorable experience. They demonstrated caring beyond measure. For example, when we arrived in Marrakech, we got lost. We called Emmanuel and his wife Helene, the young couple who own the Riad, on their cell phone. They happened to be in the Ville Nouvelle where we had ended up by accident,, and guided us to where they were waiting with warmth, humor and patience - much needed after a long and difficult drive over the High Atlas. They then: guided us to where we needed to drop off our rental car; magically managed to stash all of our luggage (we were 5 adults!) into their small van, a; drove us to the "bab" (gate) nearest the Riad; arranged for a porter to carry our bags to the Riad; and accompanied us to the Riad. We couldn't have done it without them.

Once you walk through the large wooden door of the Riad, leading into the courtyard, you enter a quiet, peaceful and charming inner sanctum, far removed from the bustle of the Medina.

We were with friends and had two comfortable, well designed and attractive rooms on the first floor overlooking the lovely inner courtyard. At the last minute our daughter decided to join us and when we requested an additional bed for our room, the response was "no problem". In fact we made several requests and this was always the response, and it was sincere. For example, our first night there, we suddently realized how tired we were and asked Emmanuel and Helene whether there was any way they could prepare dinner for us, despite the late hour. They said, with a smile "no problem". That night we ate a wonderfully prepared meal with good wine in the "Salon" a room we found cozy and that came to represent our home away from home.

This was the same room in which we ate a delicious breakfast every morning and in which we watched the US election returns with people from several other countries. When Obama won, we Americans celebrated with Belgians, Germans and Norwegians staying at the hotel, as well as the Moroccans and French who worked there. A wonderful experience.

Another example of the high level of service and caring: When our daughter was sick and had to stay in the Riad for most of the day, the lovely attentive staff, kept an eye on her and brought her tea and toast. We felt that she was completely safe and well cared for in their hands.

Whenever we needed a recommendation for a site, a hammam, a restaurant, etc., Emmanual and Helene were always well prepared and forthcoming. Their recommendation for the hammam, Les Bains de Marrakech, provided us with 4 luxurious hours we'll never forget.

The Riad is perfectly located - not far from the Jema el Fnaa, yet just enough off the larger Medina streets to afford some peace and quiet.

Marrakech came at the end of our trip, one that included a variety of diverse experiences (towns, countryside, desert, other cities, gorges and the High Atlas). We were a bit travel weary by the time we got there. The welcome we received at Riad Eden and the tranquility it offers, restored our energy and sense of adventure.

We grew very attached to the Riad, its owners, their baby, and the staff and intend to find an opportunity to return there as soon as we can.

We recommend Riad Eden very highly and hope that others will make it their home away from home as we did.


Willa (Zakin), Maggie and Christopher Hallowell

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    37
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
155
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

Very nice traditional riad questhouse.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Spent a wonderful week in this fabulous Riad run by a great French couple and their Moroccan staff who made us very welcome. The Riad is amazing, our Orange room was delightful. My wife and I were touched by a great romantic gesture on her birthday – a bouquet of red roses and rose petals spread over the bed and the bathroom! The food in the Riad was excellent and the best we had in Marakesh – all lovingly prepared by local staff. The Riad is a place of calm just minutes away from the hassle and bustle of Medina and Djemaa El-Fina

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

I stayed for four nights at the beginning of October 2008 and was just absolutely delighted with my stay. I had the Date Room on the ground floor and the beautifully decorated and colour schemed room was so comfortable and calm. There was very effective air conditioning which was very welcomed after walking around the city on a hot sunny day. The bed was a good size and the linen was exceptionally clean and high quality. The shower was a walk in style and the bathroom again was kept clean each day and nicely fresh smelling.

The ground floor of the riad also hosts the living room and dining room as well as the main hall. All are decorated with flair and style that reflects the city artisan well. There is a gentle water feature adding to the peace and tranquillity once the front door is closed and the mayhem of the medina is left behind. The sun terrace and patio are clean and welcoming areas and breakfast can be taken in the morning sunrise if desired.

Staff are all friendly, approachable and welcome their guests on arrival with a lovely fresh cold drink or some relaxing hot tea. Breakfast is superb with breads and jams, cereal, orange juice, tea or coffee, yogurt and hard boiled egg all included in the room price. Evening meals can be requested each morning for later and although I did not chose this option, delicious smells would develop in the kitchen around dinner time.

Emmanual and his staff team take pride in their hostelry and so they should. I stayed in 5 hotels on my travels in Morocco and Riad Eden was by far the finest. Emmanual was a very good host and helped with local customs and directions. The location, although in the heart of the Medina and only 4 minutes from the main square, was easy to find again and tucked nicely away from the noise and chaos of the streets.

My only reservation in recommending this perfect paradise is that it then becomes too popular. Only kidding! Try it and I am sure you will not be disappointed.
Blounty.

  • Liked — Clean, welcoming and very comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

We stayed in Riad Eden for 4 nights in October and I can highly recommend staying here. All the rooms are lovely (except for the Berber room on the ground floor), and the Riad also has a lovely roof terrace where you can relax and enjoy the sun. The best thing about the Riad Eden is the location, nicely designed rooms, and the owners. The owners (French couple) are very friendly, and they can really help you to make the most out of your stay in Marrakech. The Riad also has wifi - so you can use your iPhone!. Breakfast is very nice, and if you don't wish to eat in the dining room, you can eat out on the roof. The location is perfect, as it's in the centre of the Medina. There's definately no better location if you want to stay in the centre. For everone who hasn't been to Marrakech before: keep in mind that a long weekend is more than enough to see everything. If you stay more than 3 days, you will definately be bored if you stay any longer (if you're under 35 years old ...) It's a beautiful city, with amazing architecture, but there's not much to do. Also don't expect to buy anything nice, as the only thing you will find is fake handbags, hiddious pottery and T-shirts with stupid brand names on them. 90% of what they sell is fake stuff! ... like every other tourist desitination nowadays ....

  • Liked — Lovely owners and great location
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

We were met on arrival by a rather surly member of staff, though she did head straight off to make us some mint tea while we sat down in the lovely communal area at the heart of the Riad.

We were staying in the Berber room which we knew was going to be small - and cheap - and were perfectly happy with it at first. However, the bed just isn't long enough - I'm only 5 foot 9 and my feet were hanging over the end so anyone taller is really going to struggle to get comfortable. The curtain is wafer thin with a really bright light just outside (the shutters only reach half way up the window) so at night it's ridiculously light in the room. And there was a permanent undertone of sewer smell drifting throughout.

Any of these could be put down as niggles but worse was to come in the early hours of the morning. We were woken, as expected by the call to prayer. But before we could go back to sleep we were treated to one of the staff hacking and spitting as he started work in the kitchen. Over the next hour and a half he rattled cuttlery, banged crockery, chatted on his mobile, slammed drawers and did a whole lot more coughing and spitting as he did so. It was clear he was making no effort to keep quiet and there was no chance of getting any more sleep.

Breakfast was fairly substantial (if you can put all that spitting out of mind while you dine) but instead of being served in the sun on the terrace it was laid out in the dingy dining room.

The Berber room is downstairs and so would have had the worst of the noise. But the open plan layout of this small Riad means I'm sure that no one can not have been woken by it. So a good location but the staff just means that it's really not worth going there.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The staff - and lack of sleep!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We are very happy with our stay at Riad Eden especially being able to deal directly with the Riad owner as we get a bit more of personal touch and interesting conversation. Emmanuel and his wife are very friendly and helpful with lots of information and recommendations on places to visit and things to do. They were made sure to be at the Riad in the evening and morning as they do not live at the Riad.
On arrival we were greeted by staff with welcoming drink i.e Coffee etc. which was great after a long day travelling from Agardir to Marakesh and wanderring through the Medina to find a place.
The Riad location is so convenient either travelling from Bus/train or walking about in old medina or new town. We love the fact that we could get in and out anytime and did not need to get up at certain time for breakfast including having our breakfast on the roof terrace. The Riad is full of characters and offered a very good value for money. We were in the Chocolat room with its own balcony! We found the staff were friendly eventhough they could not speak much English but I did speak a little French which did help. I think we should make an effort to speak a little word of French or Arabic since we were in their country! Our visit to Marakesh and stay at this Riad did make our two weeks holiday in Morrocco more special and worthwhile since our main stay in Agadir. We will definitely recommend this Riad to our friend.

  • Liked — location, characters, owners' hospitality
  • Disliked — irregular hot water
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Eden

Address: 25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Eden Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.