We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Eden to your Saves list
Riad Eden
25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heavenly Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We are very happy with our stay at Riad Eden especially being able to deal directly with the Riad owner as we get a bit more of personal touch and interesting conversation. Emmanuel and his wife are very friendly and helpful with lots of information and recommendations on places to visit and things to do. They were made sure to be at the Riad in the evening and morning as they do not live at the Riad.
On arrival we were greeted by staff with welcoming drink i.e Coffee etc. which was great after a long day travelling from Agardir to Marakesh and wanderring through the Medina to find a place.
The Riad location is so convenient either travelling from Bus/train or walking about in old medina or new town. We love the fact that we could get in and out anytime and did not need to get up at certain time for breakfast including having our breakfast on the roof terrace. The Riad is full of characters and offered a very good value for money. We were in the Chocolat room with its own balcony! We found the staff were friendly eventhough they could not speak much English but I did speak a little French which did help. I think we should make an effort to speak a little word of French or Arabic since we were in their country! Our visit to Marakesh and stay at this Riad did make our two weeks holiday in Morrocco more special and worthwhile since our main stay in Agadir. We will definitely recommend this Riad to our friend.

  • Liked — location, characters, owners' hospitality
  • Disliked — irregular hot water
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    38
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
156
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed at Riad Eden around the same time as Venice max although we had a slightly different experience.

The owner Emmanuel arranged for someone to collect us from the airport but upon our arrival in the Riad there was no one to greet us apart from the cleaning staff who we found to be abit surly - beware the locals who try to charge you for helping to find the Riad down the backstreets of marrakech

Nevertheless when we eventually met Emmanuel he more than made up for it by explaining to us where to go and what to see. The Riad is very well situated for all the main tourist attractions and you can even pick up the bus which does a tour of the city nearby.

We stayed in the fig room which exceeded expectations since the picture of it on the website does not show very much. Emmanuel told us to treat the place like it was our home and so we did. We breakfasted on the roof terrace every day and came and went as we pleased.

It was a delightful place and I will definitely be recommending it to my friends. Poverty is everywhere is marrakech and we felt very sorry for the half starved kittens who were in the alley way so please fed them - they like chicken!

  • Liked — Breakfast on the terrace
  • Disliked — The surly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

We have just come back from 3 days at Riad Eden and absolutely loved every minute of it.

Conveniently located in a quiet area of the Medina, about halfway between Djemaa el-Fna, a 5-minute walk away, and Palais el-Badi, Riad Eden is an oasis of peace and tranquility, especially after a morning spent walking the city in June temperatures, dodging the scooters that race through the narrow streets.

Upon arrival we were welcomed in traditional Moroccan style with Mint tea and delicious small pastries, before being shown to the Cinnamon Room on the first floor. The room was a little larger than we had imagined from the photos on the hotel website, with a window overlooking the entrance alleyway and a large bathroom. As the name suggests, the room was tastefully decorated in tones of beige and light brown, with Moroccan throws, terracotta floors and local artifacts.

Emmanuel, the owner, made sure we were well versed in what to see while we were there, how to get around, what to expect to pay for various services and also assisted in organising transport out of Marrakech.

The staff were extremely friendly and catered to all our needs while we were at the hotel. Breakfast each morning was plentiful, with fresh orange juice, eggs, yogurt, local crepes, bread, and home-baked cake. We didn't dine at the riad though from the smells coming from the kitchen made us wish we did.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Eden and wouldn't hesitate in choosing it again for our next stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalan in Houston
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

Beautifully decorated, comfortable, wellcoming, well located. We would recommend it to everybody. The owner Emmanuel and his wife are really helpful and friendly. They give very good advice about Must do's in Morocco. Children are welcomed unlike in some other riads in Marrakech...We will go back there, I am sure!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

This a fabulous place. Rooms are great. We stayed in the chocolate room mostly and it was great. The location of the Riad in the medina is great. The common areas are a delight and nice to relax in. There is also a very nice roof deck, a small library. It really feels like you are in your rich aunt/uncle's home. The best part of the place thought is the owner/host Emmanuel (who flits around town in his dirt bike...it's really cool) and his wife are great at guiding and setting up trips around the country.

Some problems included irregular hot water and communication with the staff (they speak French and Arabic but not so much English).

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Irregular hot water/shower
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

We have been 5 days in Marrakesh in 3 different Riads:
Riad Eden, Riad Chouia Chouia, Riad dar Maia.
We found Riad Eden and Chouia Chouia the best.
Riad Chouia Chouia isn't very expensive (we paid 57euros for a double room) and the service is very good (very friendly and kind). I will add a review of Riad Chouia Chouia as well.
Riad Eden is slightly more expensive (we paid 79Euro for Orange room but there are 2 rooms cheaper) but the service is excellent and you really feel at home.
A room in Riad dar Maia costed us 57euros but the service is worth than in Riad Chouia Chouia and they changed us the reserved room without explanations. I will add a review of Riad dar Maia as well.
All three Riads are very beautiful Riad (with terrace) close to Fna place.
The choice (Eden or Chouia Chouia) depends on the money that you want to spend. We were very happy with both Riads: very good quality/price.

We were 2 days in Riad Eden (3th, 4th March). Extremely friendly service. We got a room on the first floor (they finally provided us a better room than what we booked, great!, room Fid). The bedroom and bathroom were very good and clean. Excellent breakfast. We had dinner as well and we really liked it. They invited us to a glass of wine (thanks!). The terrace is also very good. Moreover, the owner booked us the bus ticket to Essouira. I don't know if he had to go somewhere in the near but this is very very kind from him.
The money that we paid in Riad Eden was really really worthy.

  • Liked — service, food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

We (dad, mum and adult daughter) stayed here - unfortunately only for one night - in mid February for my birthday. The owners (Helene and Emmanuel) are immensely welcoming and helpful and the Orange Room which were allocated was very well prepared and welcoming. It is at the top of the house and is very private.

The owners have arrangements with taxi companies to drop off/pick up at a nearby taxi rank and will arrange for a porter to transport your bags in a hand cart the 5 or 6 minutes through the narrow streets. It is so-o-o easy!

We had an excellent breakfast in the main dining room/lounge rather than the roof-top terrace - but only because it was raining!!

The Riad is in a very small street in the Medina (the old city) and is an ideal location from which to explore the sights and history of this exciting city.

We highly recommend Riad Eden and hope we will be able to return again soon, and stay for longer.

uncletony, Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

  • Liked — Helpful, friendly hosts, clean accomodation, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Eden

Address: 25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Eden Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.