We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, tranquil Riad amongst the madness, owned and managed by fantastic people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Eden

Save Saved
You added Riad Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Eden
25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tranquil Riad amongst the madness, owned and managed by fantastic people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Admittedly we only stayed at Riad Eden for the entire of our Moroccan trip, however it provided the haven we needed in the midst of the Marrakech madness! As a few others have suggested in their reviews, the management has changed very recently, but we had a fantastic time with brilliant service so I can only assume that Jerome and Sana are keeping up the standards of the previous owners.

We stayed in the Chocolate suite - it was nicely designed with authentic Moroccan pieces and a lovely little private balcony overlooking the courtyard of the Riad. Upon arriving, Jerome sat with us and offered his advice on the best bits of Marrakech to explore during our week long stay. He was also very helpful about the culture and keeping safe, which was incredibly useful. The breakfast was brilliant each morning - we noticed with other residents the lovely ladies who cooked in the Riad were open to requests, however we let them surprise us each morning and I'd highly recommend this... Moroccan pancakes are delicious! On the subject of food, I would highly recommend eating in the Riad. We tried a few different places during our time in Marrakech, but by far the food at Riad Eden was the best. Homemade, authentic Moroccan salads, tangines, couscous, desserts and wine, and each night we had the living room to ourselves for a peaceful and tasty meal. We ate in the Riad four times during our stay and tried almost all of the menu - it's all fantastic but our favourites would be the avocado salad, chicken tagine and the apple pastilla dessert. If you'd like to eat in the Riad, be aware that you'll need to choose your dishes in the morning so let Jerome or Sana know in advance.

Riad Eden is in a good location, less than five minutes from the square and souks, but hidden away enough to be peaceful. The top roof terrace is lovely to sunbathe or read on with a good view, and we had breakfast on the lower terrace each day too. It may be a little tricky to find on your first day, so we had a 'guide' help us from where the taxi dropped us off, to the Riad. Once you know how to get to the Riad however, it's really straight forward and we had no problems.

All in all we had a brilliant time and would highly recommend Riad Eden to anyone looking to visit Marrakech. It may not be the cheapest Riad available in the city, but it was definitely worth the money from our experience! Jerome and Sana were wonderful hosts who went beyond the basic requirements (helping us get our own traditional Moroccan tagine, advising from a local's perspective on prices for pieces we wanted to buy so we knew what to haggle for, etc etc) and the wonderful people who work at the Riad with them made our holiday relaxing and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    33
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
144
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This Riad now has a new owner, Joe. Emmanuel is no longer here. This turned out to be a disappointment - only look at reviews from the 1st of September 2013 on for this Riad.

Be aware that the owner smokes on premise and I assume allows guests to to so as well. If you are a non-smoker no not stay here! We were sitting upstairs on the terrace and could smell the tobacco smoke from down below.

We were double charged for airport transport. Good thing we had printed out our original reservation with the airport transport charge on it. Can not pay by credit card, and the room bill was presented in the evening, hand written on a scrap of paper, not added up properly (overcharged), and told the credit card machine was not working and we needed to pay cash. We asked for a receipt of all charges, Rashid, the nice young man left in charge, informed us he would let Joe know. We have not yet received a receipt.

The Riad is beautiful, close to the main square and the staff, Rashid, Zahara and Saida are great! We thank them for looking after us.

Be aware when you book this Riad that it is under new ownership and most of the reviews are not relevant!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days- it was he nicest riad we stayed in for the whole trip! We had the cheapest room available but it was beautiful and very comfortable. The manager was very friendly and helped us book trips and navigate around the city.

The breakfast is delicious and on our last night we had to leave at 6AM and so they set it up at 5AM especially for us! The terrace is good for sunbathing (since you can't really do it on the beaches) and has a good view over the city.

It is very close to the main square (~5 mins by foot). I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Visited February 2010

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I had planned a 2 week trip to see different cities in Morocco. Unfortunately, she got really sick by day 4 at Agadir - we even spent a couple of nights in the hospital - and decided to go back home to recover.

Riad Eden was the only riad that still charged us for the full length of our stay after knowing our situation. We asked for our reservation to be cancelled 3-4 days before the expected start date, but Emmanuel claimed that the riad policy was not to accept cancellations if fewer than 7 days were left until the start date.

Happily, we had better luck with all the other riads we had booked. All of them refunded us, even if we gave them a shorter notice than we had loved to, considering this event as a one-off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First of all very well located, close to but not in the hustle and bustle of the commercial areas. The Riad is stylishly decorated, the staff helpful and the owners very friendly, welcoming and responsive. Certainly recommended as your choice for Marrakesh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I'm 6 months tardy in writing this review; it is of no less value. My wife, dear friends from Las Vegas and I spent the New Year's holiday at this wonderful hotel. Emmanuel and Hélène are among the finest hosts in Africa that I have come across in my 29 years of US Government service, including diplomatic duty. They rival the fine hosts that I experience in my current location of Tuscany, Italy. They spent a great of time with us, asking us of our Moroccan desires and helping us best plan our itinerary. They provided valuable advice to maximize our 4-day stay, including the best restaurants, spas, shopping areas, and unique touring areas. Hélène went so far as to assist us personally on a shopping trip. Emmanuel made sure that fine Moroccan wine was always available to us. I realize that Emmanuel and Hélène did not have to do any of this; however, they genuinely care about their guests and want them to enjoy Marrakesh as much as they do.
The Riad Eden captures the character and charm of what Arabia once was and probably should be. It does this while providing comfortable accommodations and attentive service.
I highly recommend the Riad Eden to anyone desiring the true Marrakesh experience. There is no question, I will return here upon my next journey to this city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Riad Eden has an excellent location right at the Medina. The hotel itself is beautiful and the owner offers an excellent personalized service. The best thing was the breakfast on the beautiful terrace. I stayed there in January 2012 and would definitely stay there again on my next trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Eden

Address: 25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Eden Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.