We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful with the cancellation policy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Eden

Save Saved
You added Riad Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Eden
25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Be careful with the cancellation policy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I had planned a 2 week trip to see different cities in Morocco. Unfortunately, she got really sick by day 4 at Agadir - we even spent a couple of nights in the hospital - and decided to go back home to recover.

Riad Eden was the only riad that still charged us for the full length of our stay after knowing our situation. We asked for our reservation to be cancelled 3-4 days before the expected start date, but Emmanuel claimed that the riad policy was not to accept cancellations if fewer than 7 days were left until the start date.

Happily, we had better luck with all the other riads we had booked. All of them refunded us, even if we gave them a shorter notice than we had loved to, considering this event as a one-off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    36
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
152
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First of all very well located, close to but not in the hustle and bustle of the commercial areas. The Riad is stylishly decorated, the staff helpful and the owners very friendly, welcoming and responsive. Certainly recommended as your choice for Marrakesh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I'm 6 months tardy in writing this review; it is of no less value. My wife, dear friends from Las Vegas and I spent the New Year's holiday at this wonderful hotel. Emmanuel and Hélène are among the finest hosts in Africa that I have come across in my 29 years of US Government service, including diplomatic duty. They rival the fine hosts that I experience in my current location of Tuscany, Italy. They spent a great of time with us, asking us of our Moroccan desires and helping us best plan our itinerary. They provided valuable advice to maximize our 4-day stay, including the best restaurants, spas, shopping areas, and unique touring areas. Hélène went so far as to assist us personally on a shopping trip. Emmanuel made sure that fine Moroccan wine was always available to us. I realize that Emmanuel and Hélène did not have to do any of this; however, they genuinely care about their guests and want them to enjoy Marrakesh as much as they do.
The Riad Eden captures the character and charm of what Arabia once was and probably should be. It does this while providing comfortable accommodations and attentive service.
I highly recommend the Riad Eden to anyone desiring the true Marrakesh experience. There is no question, I will return here upon my next journey to this city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Riad Eden has an excellent location right at the Medina. The hotel itself is beautiful and the owner offers an excellent personalized service. The best thing was the breakfast on the beautiful terrace. I stayed there in January 2012 and would definitely stay there again on my next trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Firstly the bit before you arrive - Emmanuel was great to deal with, answered all our questions, reassured us and was actually a nice person to meet as well - well done Emmanuel!

The location is basically perfect. You don't want to be too close to the Djemaa, and one of the best bits of the souk leads more or less from the Riad straight up to the Djemaa.

The food was the best we had in Morocco, bar none. It's not all that cheap, but I think that's OK if the food is really good.

The rooms are Riad-small, but that's what we wanted. I can't stand cokie-cutter international hotels, unless I'm travelling on business to a big city, then it's fine. But this was a trip for pleasure, so it was about getting the Moroccan experience.

We travelled with two young children, one of them a baby, and the staff were very friendly.

All in all we loved it - we'd go back tomorrow if we could find a babysitter...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wonderful hotel, most friendly and welcoming host and staff.

Hotel and building: Very nicely decorated, renovated, beautiful riad. Great location to see the medina. Quiet. Very clean.

Food: Excellent. We booked dinner upon arrival. It turned out to be the best tagine of our entire trip. Maybe a little pricy, but worth it. Great breakfast.

Service: Excellent: Very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Orange room will be hot in summer (but it has an aircondition). The rooms further below will be cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Since the first day it was a wonderful experience. The owner comes to the Riad every day and he is really helpful and gave a lot of tips to deal with the "Marrakech experience". The service and the conditions of this Riad are excellent. The location is as central as you can get, 4 min walking distance from Square Jemaa el-Fnaa. The first time was so good, that we return a second time on our last day:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Eden

Address: 25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Eden Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.