We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Eden to your Saves list
Riad Eden
25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Dalyan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We arrived at the Riad Eden late at night and were amazed by the colourful and tasteful decor that we found hidden once we stepped through the front door. The staff were very helpful and friendly and helped us settle in in our rooms and served us the light dinner we were offered during our email contact.

We were very much made to feel at home here by the owners and the staff, and we really did feel comfortable enough to use our rooms and the communal lounge and kitchen as our own during our stay.

The decor at the Riad is very much a mix between old and new and has taken the best of both and combined these in a wonderfully coloured Moroccan interior style.

This Riad is situated at the heart of the Medina and whichever way you chose to leave the Riad you would manage to get back into the busy hustle and bustle of the Medina and Souks. Most of the main artractions and squares are within walking distance and thus easy to visit when staying here, no taxi's needed! The owner Emmanuel also took his time to talk us through the things to do and gave us tips of places to visit, some which we did not go to in the first few days but upon seeing them later regretting that we didn't visit them earlier as suggested. We were also provided with a very handy and easy map (per couple) and were given some very good restaurant recommendations thoughout our stay.

Thank you again Emmanuel & Helene for our wonderful stay at your Riad. We hope to see you again someday!

Room Tip: The Chocolate Room was by far my favorite due to the size of the room and the bathroom, as well as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    37
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
155
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

Very friendly, easy going, relaxed environment. Professionally run and a pleasure to stay in

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

What’s there not to like about Riad Eden? Nothing, really. Everything seems so effortlessly put together to produce a fusion of Moroccan-European chic! First, the location is perfect – it takes no more than 10 minutes to get to the popular Djemaa al Fna and the surrounding souqs, 15-20 minutes to Bahia Palace, Dar Sidi and Badia Palace. The Marrakech train station and the bus terminals require a ride in the petit taxi, but the petit taxi terminal itself is less than 10 minutes walk away from Riad Eden. Now how’s that for strategic?
We had the Datte Room for one night and the Berber Room for the remaining 4 nights, and loved both. The Datte Room is the bigger one, with air-conditioning, but it’s the Berber Room that we loved more because of its quirky proportions. Don’t be put off by the fact that you only get a table fan in this room – there is a reason why the door has two little windows in it :D.
The terrace makes for an ideal spot to chill, read or surf the Internet, while the salon downstairs is a great place to cosy-up with a cup of mint tea and embark on your Moroccan daydreaming (to the tune of traditional Moroccan music, no less!).
Make use of Emmanuel and Helene’s extensive experience living as expats in Marrakech – they’ll give you helpful tips on where to eat, how to get to where-you-want-to-go, and how much you should NOT be paying for a ride in petit taxi. In fact, we avoided the common tourist traps thanks to this affable and energetic pair!

Room Tip: The Berber room is a bit small-ish, but you'll love the decor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Here is a link to my video diary and there are shots of the Riad Eden (starts at 5:53). This is wonderful place of calm right in the middle of the city. 3 minutes walk from the main square and close to the perimeter walls. Very safe neighbourhood. The welcome here was superb after a long journey and my hosts could not have done more. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were relaxing and quiet. I had the room on the ground level in the corner. Great. Enjoy the video and then make a booking. 5 star.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQ8qMw5LEQA

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orange, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed in Morocco for 5 days and this riad was definitely the highlight of our trip. Most of our pictures are of this beautiful place. The staff was very pleasant. I enjoyed meeting the host Emmuel very much. It is also right next to the famous Jamma El Fna square, which is very amazing to see. In regards to the price, it was the more expensive accomodation that we made for our stay, but it was worth every scent and it you do stay, treat yourself to the dinner that is an option. A definite must have. I would stay again and again. Thank you for a wonderful experience Riad Eden!

Room Tip: All are good, but the ones on the second floor are the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This Riad was everything and much, much more than we expected. The owners are most, cheerful, helpful, friendly and welcoming, as are all the staff.
The Riad is very clean, maintained to a high standard and in a excellent location.
We had a comfortable room with a good shower, the food was good especially the traditional Moroccan dinner.
I cannot recommend this beautiful oasis enough, and would have no hesitation in returning to this Riad.

Room Tip: They all looked good, and generally the Riad was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Friendly, helpful and lovely couple. Good location, love the flexible breakfast prepared by amazing staff!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Eden

Address: 25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Eden Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.