We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Eden to your Saves list
Riad Eden
25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 1,123 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Chic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

What’s there not to like about Riad Eden? Nothing, really. Everything seems so effortlessly put together to produce a fusion of Moroccan-European chic! First, the location is perfect – it takes no more than 10 minutes to get to the popular Djemaa al Fna and the surrounding souqs, 15-20 minutes to Bahia Palace, Dar Sidi and Badia Palace. The Marrakech train station and the bus terminals require a ride in the petit taxi, but the petit taxi terminal itself is less than 10 minutes walk away from Riad Eden. Now how’s that for strategic?
We had the Datte Room for one night and the Berber Room for the remaining 4 nights, and loved both. The Datte Room is the bigger one, with air-conditioning, but it’s the Berber Room that we loved more because of its quirky proportions. Don’t be put off by the fact that you only get a table fan in this room – there is a reason why the door has two little windows in it :D.
The terrace makes for an ideal spot to chill, read or surf the Internet, while the salon downstairs is a great place to cosy-up with a cup of mint tea and embark on your Moroccan daydreaming (to the tune of traditional Moroccan music, no less!).
Make use of Emmanuel and Helene’s extensive experience living as expats in Marrakech – they’ll give you helpful tips on where to eat, how to get to where-you-want-to-go, and how much you should NOT be paying for a ride in petit taxi. In fact, we avoided the common tourist traps thanks to this affable and energetic pair!

Room Tip: The Berber room is a bit small-ish, but you'll love the decor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    40
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
157
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Here is a link to my video diary and there are shots of the Riad Eden (starts at 5:53). This is wonderful place of calm right in the middle of the city. 3 minutes walk from the main square and close to the perimeter walls. Very safe neighbourhood. The welcome here was superb after a long journey and my hosts could not have done more. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were relaxing and quiet. I had the room on the ground level in the corner. Great. Enjoy the video and then make a booking. 5 star.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQ8qMw5LEQA

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orange, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed in Morocco for 5 days and this riad was definitely the highlight of our trip. Most of our pictures are of this beautiful place. The staff was very pleasant. I enjoyed meeting the host Emmuel very much. It is also right next to the famous Jamma El Fna square, which is very amazing to see. In regards to the price, it was the more expensive accomodation that we made for our stay, but it was worth every scent and it you do stay, treat yourself to the dinner that is an option. A definite must have. I would stay again and again. Thank you for a wonderful experience Riad Eden!

Room Tip: All are good, but the ones on the second floor are the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This Riad was everything and much, much more than we expected. The owners are most, cheerful, helpful, friendly and welcoming, as are all the staff.
The Riad is very clean, maintained to a high standard and in a excellent location.
We had a comfortable room with a good shower, the food was good especially the traditional Moroccan dinner.
I cannot recommend this beautiful oasis enough, and would have no hesitation in returning to this Riad.

Room Tip: They all looked good, and generally the Riad was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Friendly, helpful and lovely couple. Good location, love the flexible breakfast prepared by amazing staff!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The riad is located only a few streets away from the Djemma el Fna square, but even with its close proximity, it maintains peace, calm and tranquility. It is impeccably decorated, and there is a staff present 24 hours to cater to your needs. The dinners cooked there are delicious and their freshly squeezed orange juice is a perfect starter to a hot summers day. The owners of the riad will create a map for you and will spend as much time as you need to go through it, explaining the location of all the main sights and will even help to arrange a guide. They take a personal interest in the satisfaction of your stay and it shows. I would highly recommend this riad to any visitors to Marrakesh!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Would definitely recommend this riad. It is an amazing place with a terrace upstairs. The people are so helpful there! We came back late a few nights and they could not have been more accommodating. It is clean and quiet....hidden gem!

Room Tip: Orange room was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Eden

Address: 25, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoune Lakdim - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 1,123 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Eden Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.