We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Clementine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Clementine to your Saves list
Riad Clementine
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Sidi Messaoud 38 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #46 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bristol, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had an excellent 3 days at this riad in July and couldn't fault it. We were met at the airport (although the flight was late) and greeted by the owners with a refreshing cup of mint tea.
The owners were very helpful providing maps and directions. yes, it is about a 30min walk to Fna square but it is just two streets so easy to navigate. The rooms were extremely comfortable with fluffy white robes, slippers and nice toiletries.
Breakfast had everything including eggs cooked to order.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
181
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 days at Riad Clementine in May, and we loved it. The staff, meals, and ambiance were great. Our rooms were clean and made up well everyday. The Riad location was a little far (30 min. dodging crowds and scooters) from the central medina plaza, but we enjoyed the walks and the chance to explore. We ate breakfast and dinner (four nights) in the Riad, and they were excellent. The dinners were worth more than the 25 euros per person charged, with a beautifully set table in the courtyard. The tagine lamb and the Cornish hen were the best. The upstairs dipping pool was nice and cool and good sized, but to reach the upstairs rooms you must use a very narrow, sharp turning and somewhat uneven staircase - par for these old buildings but a bit challenging for sixty+ year olds and/or those with knee problems.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Clementine and would recommend it, but check the following before you go: If you don't speak French or Arabic, make sure the owners will be there when you arrive. They were on vacation when we arrived and for the first three days it was all sign language with the staff. It would have been useful to have a general idea about how to get transportation, how much to pay to get to a couple basic spots, etc. But it is part of the experience. If this is your first trip to Marrakesh, I recommend a guide for at least a half day to get your bearings in the Medina. Guides are inexpensive and well worth it, but book a guide through the Riad and book ahead. We didn't and were left with an expensive guide who was not that good. Watch out for the heat! When we arrived in mid May it was 112 degrees F. but by the time we left, the highs were in the mid 60's F. So temperatures can be all over the map in May.

Note: the calls to prayer from the nearby mosque might wake you initially but are not unbearable. Combined with the sounds of the roosters crowing, you might actually get back to sleep!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms can take longer for AC to cool off on very hot days. Suggest that the staff turn on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We've just returned from 4 days in Riad Clementine as part of our group holiday and I was amazed at the quality of all of the rooms, cleanliness, and hospitality of the staff. The owners in particular were very helpful. I cannot rate this riad highly enough and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a fantastic Riad to stay at. It is full of character, clean, quiet and relaxing (we stayed in room number 7). All of the staff are friendly and helpful and make every effort to ensure you have a pleasant stay. The food at the Riad was the best we had of anywhere else we went to and reasonable in price too. The food was bought fresh that day so you had to let the staff know by lunch time if you were planning on dinning in the evening. The pool was a great bonus especially during the hot afternoons. The Riad is in a great location- 15 minute walk to the Souks in one direction and an 8 minute walk to the lovely Yves St Laurent memorial gardens in the other. A taxi rank is just down the alley to take you to the main market square. It would have been more helpful for us to be able to speak French as that is the most widespread second language spoken, nevertheless we got by! I would definitely recommend a stay at this Riad if you are going to Marrakesh!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed 5 nights at the Riad Clementine in July 2011 with my boyfriend. Everything about this riad was amazing. The riad itself was absolutely beautiful. It also had a decent sized pool on the second floor. A nice treat after hot days in Marrakesh. Each morning the staff served an amazing, huge breakfast. We also had dinner here one night, which was also delicious. The staff was very helpful. The owners spoke perfect English and were around often. The staff only spoke French but worked hard to understand my broken French. This hotel is located about a 15 minute walk to the main square in the old town and about a 15 minute talk to the new town. I liked this. There are not a lot of tourist spots right around the Riad, which I think made for a more authentic stay. Overall, loved this hotel and would recommend to anyone in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spent 5 days at Riad Clementine in May 2012.

Great service, very nice food (both breakfast & dinner), quiet and peaceful atmosphere. The best bit was actualy how calm and relaxing the riad was - lovely base to return to after the hustle and bustle of the Medina, feels like a different world!

Location-wise, the walk to the central square (Jemaa el-Fnaa) takes about 20 minutes, and the riad is also within easy walking distance from the gardens at Jardin Majorelle.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this break on a whim, but spent hours trawling through the many riads on offer. Riad Clementine caught our eye, and it lived up the the reviews, pictures and more! Driving through the town and then into the winding streets we both had a moment of panic, although we were prepared and looking forward to a culture shock we were hoping for some luxury when it came to the Riad.

Walking up to the door we had no idea what to expect, but the minute we stepped in we were in love! The owners and workers were all fantastic, giving advice on getting around, keeping safe, costs and places to see and eat. The riad is faultless, you have to see it to believe it. Our room (3 from what I can recall!) was on the second floor, right next to the pool and was perfect for us. A good size, beautifully decorated with everything we needed. Light and airy, with a fantastic bathroom we didn't want to leave. The riad was so peaceful, we were often the only people around using the pool which just made it even more special (do not forget your swimwear!)

Although we didn't have dinner there (due to us being out exploring late into the night when it was cooler!), the breakfast was possible one of the best we ever had and really set you up for the day, I still dream about it now! I could go on and on, Marrakesh is a beautiful, diverse place to holiday with great food and the best market around and staying in Riad Clementine just made the stay even more memorable.

After seeing our pictures, all of my friends want to stay, I can't recommend it highly enough. If you are planning a trip to Marrakech, stay here. Thanks for a fantastic holiday, it's one we will not be forgetting in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Clementine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Clementine

Address: Derb Sidi Messaoud 38 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Clementine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Clementine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Clementine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Clementine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.