We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ayadina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ayadina to your Saves list
Riad Ayadina
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Boulevard du 11 Janvier | In Fron of the Wilaya at the Door Bab Layadi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Christine and her staff looked after us beautifully. The bedrooms were delish with wonderful bathrooms. The public areas were stunning and kept immaculately clean. Breakfast on the terrace was delightful - we even got to take home a pot of their homemade compote. The hamman was worth a visit - we were scrubbed to an inch of our lives with alot of giggling. Speaking french would have made our trip even better!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    17
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Fantastic Riad offering great value for money. I'm very fussy and the décor and ambience exceeded my expectations. Beautiful spotless large room (slept better here than I have in a long time) and a lovely big bathroom with huge bathtub and authentic Moroccan shower (hard to describe but great) The service is fantastic, the only slight problem is they speak very little English but you can get by. Just little things like taxi negotiations would be easier if they spoke English but overall, not a problem. It's about a 25 minute walk to the main square but is actually very easy when you know how (follow the Medina wall) and quite a nice stroll. A taxi is 30 dirhams max (about £2-£2.50) but they always without fail try and charge you 100 dirhams, just give them 30 and walk away, don't even bother discussing it, only encourages them! Finally, they serve a great breakfast of breads, pastries, pancakes, omelette and was a million times better than the 5* hotel we moved onto after 4 nights in Marrakech.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I stayed here with my boyfriend in July/August 2008 and we still talk about how fantastic the riad was. Everything down from the beautiful and luxurious rooms to the incredible service from Jamal was perfect.
It may sound a little over the top but it was like a little paradise in the Medina.
The only down side, if you want to be close to the action, is that it's located right on the outskirts of the north side. But as far as we were concerned, we actually preferred it. It's much more tranquil and it takes no time at all to hail a cab (from literally outside the door) to head into the centre or anywhere else you want.
We did walk into Jemaah el Fnaa from the riad - something I would highly recommend. Even though the walk is about 20/30 mins (take a map and lots of water if you go in July like us!), you get to discover the amazing back streets. Forget the over inflated prices and markets of the main square, our walk took us past all the craftsmen making their shoes (you can buy the items from them too, much more cheaply), the ironworks and the clothes makers as well. A much more fascinating glimpse into the heart of Marrakech.
In terms of the riad itself, it feels like your dream home. Our suite was incredible - beautifully decorated with rose petals strewn all over the bed, a copper bath (you reach it through a corridor!), a separate clay shower room and a living room. They do have a tv and music system, but we didn't want to touch it once!
There's also a spa - it's quite small, but blissful.. It's definitely worth trying out one of the hammam treatments (and you get all the products for you to use in the room as well). And a roof top pool.
Best of all, though, was the night my boyfriend and I ate in the riad. They devised a menu with us the day before (checking for anything we might not like) and since the other guests had checked out that morning, we had the place to ourselves. They lit the entire courtyard up with candles and were there to wait on our every need..
Blissfully romantic and one of the best holidays I've ever had. Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Me and my wife stayed in this wonderful Riad for the first time. Normally we're rather in high end hotels, but we wanted to give it the typical Marrakech touch and chose a Riad instead.
Everything was perfect, the entire Riad is a Gem in terms of decoration, Christine the owner is everywhere to make your stay most pleasant, the Restaurant is small but delicious and an extraordinary setting, Spa & Hammam small but really giving you that private, intimate extra touch;
We can only highly recommend this Gem for everyone looking for the one and true Marrakech atmosphere

Veit & Virginie

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Staying a few nights in riad was very interesting experience. We stayed our first four nights in Suite hotel Marrakech, located in Hivernage area. Then, because we wanted to feel the atmosphere of the Medina, we changed our hotel to Riad Ayadina. Actually the location was the biggest disappointment. The walking trip to Jemaa el Fna took over thirty minutes because the riad stands in the most northern corner of the medina. Of course it was our fault that we didn't check this before choosing Ayadina, but still.. That's why I think there is many better riads in Marrakech.

However, Ayadina was very beautifully decorated and the mood was very relaxing. Our room, Antique suite, was very spacious and well-designed (and we loved the tiny cookies that were served in our room!). But I think the best of the bests in this riad is the roof terrace! It was stunning to eat the breakfast above the roofs when sun shined warmly. Those are the moments from Morocco that I still look back. The breakfast was wonderful: chocolate sandwitches, baton, pancakes, omelet.. We were almost spoiled by pampering! The swimming pool was the other disappointment - the temperature was something like 25'c (which I think quite hot) but it was still fall out of use.

The negative things.. I have to say, If you don't speak french at all, you're in trouble. Our english skills were almost useless. Only one person of the hole staff spoke english. Every communication had to do with making gestures which was a little annoying sometimes. But there's one waiter that can't be blamed on not to trying. On our last evening we ordered the full dinner menu that we enjoyed just with our family in the small dinning room. Sayid, the waiter, spoke only french but he was so sweet trying his hardest to make us feel cosy. After all, the evening was very memorable and in the end mr Sayid charmed us for following us to our walking trip at the night and making sure we're safe. Very fantastic behaviour for him!

The time management was the other thing that included some troubles. Everytime when we arranged a meeting with the owner, she was always either too early or too late. On our last morning we asked one waiter call a taxi to us. He promised, and then went to the downstairs. We sat on the terrace fifteen minutes and nothing happened. Finally my dad went to the downstairs too - and found the waiter watering a plants like nothing happened. A little weird, I guess.

But for all that, riad Ayadina left the good impression and I really think this riad is worth of money.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed here in spring 2007, so I am a little late with this review. However, I wanted to say that I think that this Riad deserves to be much higher in the popularity index. Our room (Alicia) was the most atmospheric room that I have ever stayed in. When we arrived, this was enhanced by the smoky atmosphere from the incense that was burning. There were also fresh flowers and fruit. The Riad as a whole was beautiful.

Breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious but the evening meals served in the courtyard even better. We tried a number of the 'best' restaurants in Marrakech but the food in the Riad far surpassed them. The hammam was a great experience, leaving my skin in better condition than any expensive spa treatment I have had previously. Staff were all friendly and helpful. As for the location, you can take a taxi or enjoy the experience of getting lost!

  • Liked — The food and the atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Going to Marrakech in the middle of August is an adventure on it's own. My girlfriend and I got there after a long 7hrs train ride from Fes. It was 5pm and 47oC!!!!! That's 126oF for those who don't know the metric system. The heat was unbearrible durring the day, limiting our visits.
This being said, we were extremely happy to stay at the Riad Ayadinna. The rooms are gorgeous, we stayed in the Antigua suite, the main areas are also very well decorated with alot of great details. The roof terrace is an oasis with it's small but sufficient bathing pool. The pool is a necessity in that type of heat. We spend almost all of our afternoons by it's side.
The staff was one of the most professionals we met durring our stay in Morrocco.
The breakfeast was the best. Great pasteries, imported cheese from france, good coffee... they even had yogourt and ham (yes ham in Morrocco!), lots of fruits ... you get the idea, it's way better then most.

The only negative is that it is a little far from the heart of the medina, it's on the northern tip. But you can easily walk or take a taxi to wherever you want to go.
The staff was very helpfull in informing us on the best places to see and the best places to eat. They also helped us organize an excursion out of the city, wich I recommend because not only was it beautifull, but it also gave us a break from the city heat.

Great place, I recommend.

Enjoy Morrocco.

Tip : Marrakech taxis are known for being the worst crooks in the country. Sit in front like the locals and insist they turn on the meter. If they refuse, get out and get another one. If you don't, don't be surprised when they try to charge you almost 10 times the normal rate.

  • Liked — Gorgeous decorations and peacefull atmosphere. Helpfull staff. The best breakfest
  • Disliked — Location far from place Djamel el-Fnaa
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#136 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ayadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ayadina

Address: Boulevard du 11 Janvier | In Fron of the Wilaya at the Door Bab Layadi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Ayadina 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A residence of true charater located a few minutes from the Palmeraie, and the JEMA FNAA saquare. The riad is directly accessible by car.Each of the riad's 9 fully renoveted guestrooms and suites is decorated in its own sophisticaded and personalised style.The riad can accommodate from 20 guests, and may be reserved exclusively.SPA/ HAMMAM/ MASSAGES/ SAUNA/ ESTHETIQUE/ WEEDING/ BIRTHDAYS/ PARTY/ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Ayadina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ayadina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ayadina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.