We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ayadina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ayadina to your Saves list
Riad Ayadina
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Boulevard du 11 Janvier | In Fron of the Wilaya at the Door Bab Layadi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #316 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Beautifully furnished Riad situated at the Northern tip of the Medina. Excellent service. Attention to detail was second to none.
Easy to park right next to the Hotel. Overnight a guarded car park a short distance away was recommended.
Hotel was easy to find. Having gone through the Medina wall the hotel can be on the right hand side of the alley a few yards into the medina. (No 35).
As the air con was not working in the room we had booked we were upgraded to a suite which was delightful.
Meals at the hotel where of a very high standard and well presented.
Other guests at the Hotel also said they had very much enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Excellent Website gives details of each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    17
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We arrived in Marrakesh for our first time and we decided to stay at the Riad Ayadina. It definitely lived up to our expectations, or actually thinking about it again it was far better than we could have asked. Christine (the owner) is a fantastic host and the staff are exceptionally welcoming and kind. 5* food is served and the breakfast is just delightful. Our room Alicia was very romantic, clean and it had an exotic look. We had an amazing time and people's kindness and helpfulness made our stay extra magical. If you prefer a 'boutique' experience with that personal touch, then I can't imagine a better place in Marrakech than this. We had seen some reviews questioning the location, but we felt it was an oasis of calm and it is never more than a £2 taxi ride from anywhere you would want to be. In fact, some of the other riads we passed were in locations that little too close to the action for our taste :)

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the smallest rooms, but it was more than adequate for our purposes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were fortunate to stay at the Riad Ayadina in September of this year. This review has been long over due. We can only say how beautiful this place was, made more so by the owner, friend-guests and staff. The food was delicious - every day breakfast and dinner were just a delight. Freshly and wonderfully cooked. The Riad was tastefully decorated with lots of little corners were you could sit and have a shisha and a glass of...the rooms were kept clean and v comfortable. I did not rate Marrakech as a holiday location at all but I am so glad that I had the privilege of staying at the Riad and would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who wants a wkend of R&R...the spa girls were fantastic.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid the rooms that are on the side of the Riad that is next to the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed at the Riad for five nights at the start of June 2011. The weather was mixed, warm but not overly hot, with light rain on one day.

The Riad is situated inside the Medina (historic core), against the northern most ramparts. For the Medina, it is a relatively quiet part of town, but the outside streets still have a lively hustle and bustle. Inside the Riad, however, it is one of the most tranquil experiences you will find.

We were made to feel very welcome. The friendly staff delivered impeccable service and the owner, Christine, was charming and incredibly helpful.

Breakfast on the roof terrace will be one of our treasured memories. It was always fresh and served quickly. Similarly, for the days that we wanted lunch in the Riad, this was no problem - substantial light meals, which were delicious. The evening meals were also a treat: one evening we ate on the roof terrace, and, on another, we were served in the sumptuous, open air internal courtyard. A magical experience. The food was excellent - authentic, local cuisine – and although there was no choice, this actually made for a home-from-home feeling, which we rather enjoyed.

On other occasions, we ate out, and Christine was helpful in recommending restaurants. That said, for us, the most memorable experiences were cheap – eating in the square and the side streets. No problems encountered, but maybe we were lucky!

Back to the Riad, our room was delightful (no problem with hot water!). The 'Alicia' room is very atmospheric and a joy to wake up in. Purple dominates the décor and the bed is superbly comfortable. Two sinks in the en suite bathroom, and a large bath. An incredibly comfortable superior room that felt like a suite.

The massages in the basement spa were the best that we had experienced. Definitely worth booking one in during your stay.

The Riad has some bikes available to borrow. We went out one morning for a ride around the nearby palmeraie, past a load of camels (technically dromedaries), and through the massive plantation.

Three and a half days in Marrakech is probably enough excitement, particularly for a first trip, so we decided to head out of town for one day. We organised an excursion, through the Riad but organised by a separate company, into the Atlas Mountains in a Toyota 4x4 (the "Japanese dromedary"!). A wonderful experience.

Overall, we would unreservedly recommend the Riad Ayadina. For a blend of luxurious comfort, convenient location, delicious food and welcoming staff, this would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I found the beauty of this riad breathtaking, really wonderful, organic, natural and better than I had expected from the small laneway where you enter.

I found the staff very helpful and the manager Christine was really fun, with good English. Breaksafts were good, nothing too exciting, but well made and fresh.

The spa and hammam was awesome, really an amazing experience, if you do stay there, don't miss it!

The only problem is the location. It's pretty far from the main square (although I found that to be a very dissappoining experience as it happens) at least a 30 minute walk IF you don't get lost... We like some adventure so were happy to wander around and get a little lost during the day, but it wouldn't be fun at night.

Beware of kids that offer you directions, we found some that said the knew the porters name so we assumed they were good neighbourhood kids, but when they got us to the Riad (a 15 minute walk from where we got lost) we offerered them the equivilent of a couple of pounds each they started shouting, saying they wanted the equivalent of £10 each and trying to get their hands into my partners handbag. Not cool. A taxi to town should cost about £3, so their demands were proposterous. Soon as the host came to the door we popped inside but could hear them shouting for a while after... still, it's all an adventure, right?

All in all we loved the trip to Marrakech, the markets are great fun, but there are many husslers in the tourist areas and everyone will try and direct you there, you really have to go against the flow to get off the tourist trail, but it's a lot more interesting when you do - probably the best thing about the location is that it is off the tourist trail - by quite a lot!

I'd recommend this Riad to people who like independent travel and a little adventure, it really is beautiful and in an interesting part of town away from the main tourist hussle.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Christine and her staff really hit the top during our five days stay at Riad Ayadina. It was our second stay in Marrakesh and after a so-called "palace" experience in one of those large and famous chain hotels, we were willing to experience the real "Medina Life", we sure got it. Due to Christine's good advices, everything ran perfectly for us in the small Derbs. Within the Riad, we had much better Moroccan (and international) food than in the "tourists traps" where some taxi drivers want to take you to get their "bakkchich". We've been on a desert tour with one of the Riad's referenced guides, the guy was fluent in english and we discovered the life in the countryside with, once more a cheerfull welcome with berberian tea and local cookies. Back in the Medina, Aicha took care of us for the traditionnal "massage and gommage", another souvenir! Many many thanks Christine, we'll be back for sure, as soon as we can. J & R

Room Tip: Atina suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

I'm afraid this Riad was a disappointment. The decor is lovely and the room we had was beautiful. However, there was a "couldn't care" attitude from the owner which spoilt thngs really. The staff do try their best absolutely but too many times were things not there because they were waiting on the owner.

also - we ordered some food and amazingly in Morrocco were given ham and cheese sandwiches.....not the Morrocco experience we were looking for.

Just the feeling of the place wasn't special.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#142 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ayadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ayadina

Address: Boulevard du 11 Janvier | In Fron of the Wilaya at the Door Bab Layadi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Ayadina 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A residence of true charater located a few minutes from the Palmeraie, and the JEMA FNAA saquare. The riad is directly accessible by car.Each of the riad's 9 fully renoveted guestrooms and suites is decorated in its own sophisticaded and personalised style.The riad can accommodate from 20 guests, and may be reserved exclusively.SPA/ HAMMAM/ MASSAGES/ SAUNA/ ESTHETIQUE/ WEEDING/ BIRTHDAYS/ PARTY/ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Ayadina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ayadina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ayadina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.