We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice riad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Maison Rouge

Save Saved
You added Riad La Maison Rouge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad La Maison Rouge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No 54 Bis Derb Zemrane | Quartier Berrima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #440 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice riad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The riad has a nice courtyard and top floor with pool and lounge chairs. Staff is friendly and the breakfast is a good way to start the day. Rooms are nice and in traditional moroccan style. The shower and mattress could do with an upgrade though. The riad is quite far from the main square which means a walk of approx 30 minutes each way. The riad is also quite noisy as there are no thick walls or doors as in a normal hotel, not sure whether this is the case in all riads though, as I can't compare it to any other riads. Because of the noise and long walk I would try another riad next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I m gonna point a few things.
About the walking distance, you can check before booking, on our website where we are located, you have google map, and it is easy to find the walking distance from points of interest.
Normal walking distance is 15mn walk from the main square, but for sure you have so many things to see that it could be longer......and of course it depends of your walking rythm, but average time, is 15mn (guest says....)
About noise, it depends of the guest that we have, of course as you will be with other people, you have to respect well beeing rules, but not all the people know them......
Fortunately for us, most of the time the house is quiet, so quiet that we ask us where are our guests!
So one more time, thank you for your general apreciation,
Thierry and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    49
    17
    19
    9
See reviews for
25
100
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed 3 nights with friends at this Riad which is about 1.5 km from the famous Jemaa el-Fnaa which is the epicenter of the Medina (old town) . The Riad is some 10 mins drive from the chic quartier of Gueliz where most of the night life is concentrated . We were particularly pleased with the staff at the Riad, everybody is really kind and helpful for all sort of needs ( reservations for taxis or restaurants, food etc) . The Rad itself is very comfortable and quiet and the pool on the top floor despite being small is definitely a plus . Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to send your feedback.
We really appreciate it.
I would like to point that pool on the roof is not small for a Riad, we are only a few riads to have pool on the roof, may be around 10, and pool contains 25m3 of water......I m quite sure that you can t find bigger on a riad 's terrace.
Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you again!
Thierry and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a small but lovely room overlooking the courtyard. The Riad is nicely laid out and very pretty inside. There is a small pool on roof and you get a different perspective of the city. The Riad is one of the easier ones to find and we found the 15min walk to the main square to be entertaining with the hustle and bustle of Moroccan Street life. Breakfast was simple and fresh orange juice was great. The staff are very friendly and willing to help, knowing some basic French will help you a great deal,.It is also close to the Kosybar a popular tourist haunt in Mellah Square,

There are many little stores you can buy water from close by,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment, we enjoy that you appreciate Marrakech and your stay with us.
I hope that you will be back again one day!!!!
Thierry and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had a really relaxing time when I stayed. Great service. Good food and Friendly staff. I'll definitely go again when I next have a long weekend. The only problem is that it's so good that you don't want toleave the place and get to see Marrakesch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind apreciation, we hope to welcome you again very soon,
Thierry and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conakry, Guinea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We intended to stay in this accommodation after our overnight trip to a local village in the suburbs. When we arrived there after a 10 min walk from the nearest place reachable by car (with our luggages), we got a google automated letter in English excusing that the room we had booked was not available. The interior decoration was beautiful, but when you have guest info- telephone, email-, why not contact him/her beforehand?! They transferred us to another riad which was OK but took us more than 2 hours and 30 DH for tipping.
Poor management.
Vraiment abominable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstable, thank you for your feedback a year later. What a surprise to get some news one year later after your stay.
Secondly, sorry if you didin t find our park lot situated 10 meters from the entrance of the riad.
I would like to tell you for your information that your booking was made through an agency and this kind of agency never give us any details about clients only the name, may be you should check with them about your issues.
Finaly 2 hours to reach the other Riad?????? you cross the entire medina in 40mn so 2 hours.........????? where did you go?
We apologise with these certainly misunderstanding.

Thierry and all the team of La Maison Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampula, Nampula, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It's a good riad and the service is well intended but never the less the place is overrated. Given the prices and other experiences in different riads, it lacks the familiar atmosphere and attention that its suppose to have.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Manager at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Simao
Thank you for your comment, made ​​after a 2 night stay among us and in our house due to relocation as a result of overbooking of the riad that you have originally choosen.
I understand your disappointment, and perhaps it has influenced your point of view.
We bring special attention to all our residents and I am surprised that you didn't enjoyed it with its fair value,
We hope to welcome you as "home" while keeping our quality hotel, and discretion, always available if you need it. I try as much as possible to meet all of you at breakfast time to know your needs and answer them as well as we can.
For your information, there are two categories of official Riad in Marrakech, the first category (luxury) and the second (regular). Most riads are second class, as we are. Similarly there are large riads and small ones, you have to choose the one that best suits your needs.
I hope I have provided some answers to the points raised, and I remain at your disposal if needed through the contact form of our website.
Thierry and all the team of the Maison Rouge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here ealrier in the year with my other half...superb place to stay to explore a fantastic city...never thought a place could be so peaceful and relaxing with all that going on the other side of the door!!!...

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Manager at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comment about our resort.
We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay in Marrakech.
Thank you for pointing out our peaceful and relax athmosphere as well as the amazing Marrakech city.
Thank you very much, may be see you for another future stay.
Thierry and all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Maison Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Maison Rouge

Address: No 54 Bis Derb Zemrane | Quartier Berrima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #440 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Maison Rouge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a small square of Berrima, a quiet neighborhood in Marrakech, the Riad la Maison Rouge is a charming property from which you can easily reach tourist attractions in city, such as the El Bahia and El Badi palaces, the Saadian Tombs and the Djemaa el Fna Square. This last attraction is a 15 minute walk and there are plenty of buses from here which go to all corners of the city.Riad la Maison Rouge has a total of 13 rooms including 4 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Riad La Maison Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Maison Rouge Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Maison Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.