We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Maison Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Maison Rouge to your Saves list
Riad La Maison Rouge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No 54 Bis Derb Zemrane | Quartier Berrima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #478 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Seville, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had a really relaxing time when I stayed. Great service. Good food and Friendly staff. I'll definitely go again when I next have a long weekend. The only problem is that it's so good that you don't want toleave the place and get to see Marrakesch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind apreciation, we hope to welcome you again very soon,
Thierry and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    50
    20
    19
    9
See reviews for
25
105
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conakry, Guinea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We intended to stay in this accommodation after our overnight trip to a local village in the suburbs. When we arrived there after a 10 min walk from the nearest place reachable by car (with our luggages), we got a google automated letter in English excusing that the room we had booked was not available. The interior decoration was beautiful, but when you have guest info- telephone, email-, why not contact him/her beforehand?! They transferred us to another riad which was OK but took us more than 2 hours and 30 DH for tipping.
Poor management.
Vraiment abominable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Gérant at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstable, thank you for your feedback a year later. What a surprise to get some news one year later after your stay.
Secondly, sorry if you didin t find our park lot situated 10 meters from the entrance of the riad.
I would like to tell you for your information that your booking was made through an agency and this kind of agency never give us any details about clients only the name, may be you should check with them about your issues.
Finaly 2 hours to reach the other Riad?????? you cross the entire medina in 40mn so 2 hours.........????? where did you go?
We apologise with these certainly misunderstanding.

Thierry and all the team of La Maison Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampula, Nampula, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It's a good riad and the service is well intended but never the less the place is overrated. Given the prices and other experiences in different riads, it lacks the familiar atmosphere and attention that its suppose to have.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Manager at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Simao
Thank you for your comment, made ​​after a 2 night stay among us and in our house due to relocation as a result of overbooking of the riad that you have originally choosen.
I understand your disappointment, and perhaps it has influenced your point of view.
We bring special attention to all our residents and I am surprised that you didn't enjoyed it with its fair value,
We hope to welcome you as "home" while keeping our quality hotel, and discretion, always available if you need it. I try as much as possible to meet all of you at breakfast time to know your needs and answer them as well as we can.
For your information, there are two categories of official Riad in Marrakech, the first category (luxury) and the second (regular). Most riads are second class, as we are. Similarly there are large riads and small ones, you have to choose the one that best suits your needs.
I hope I have provided some answers to the points raised, and I remain at your disposal if needed through the contact form of our website.
Thierry and all the team of the Maison Rouge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here ealrier in the year with my other half...superb place to stay to explore a fantastic city...never thought a place could be so peaceful and relaxing with all that going on the other side of the door!!!...

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Manager at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comment about our resort.
We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay in Marrakech.
Thank you for pointing out our peaceful and relax athmosphere as well as the amazing Marrakech city.
Thank you very much, may be see you for another future stay.
Thierry and all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Probably a good standard hotel for this part of the world, but I would otherwise look at it as a two star hotel. An open door between the bedroom and toilet, and a quite shabby room. A short stroll away from the main attractions. Okay breakfast on the roof, nice setting in the evening with the sunset, but don't eat your dinner here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Manager at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your comment, I'm quite sad that you didin't enjoy your stay with us.
I just want to point that the "open door" between bedroom and bathroom, is what we call here Moucharabieh, it is a typical morrocan door, that were used in house who alloud women to see but not to be seen, sorry that you didn t notice and appreciate the door style.
You mention that your room was shabby, that is a personnal appreciation who seems not to be a general one.
And I invite guest to read comments made on time, I just want to point that you stay from 21 to 24 mars 2012 and that your comment has been done 9 month later.....
One more time, thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Thanks for a great stay right near all the action. I wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely helpful staff who went out of their way to help us get orientated. We loved the rooftop pool Thank you. We would highly recommend this hotel and loved the honesty bar. Hope it works for you as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Manager at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your appreciation. Staff is very grateful for your kind appreciation, and hope to welcome you again for a future stay,
Thierry and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I thought this riad was excellent value in a quite location in Berrima quater close to the Bahia palace 10-15 mins and the Mellah (Jewish Quarter). On arrival the staff could not find our reservation but this was solved quite quickly. The riad is not signposted off the main street so we had to get a couple of locals to show us. Our first room was vermillon (on the ground level) and we spent the first night there, however the room was quite damp and we could smell the damp when coming back from dinner. The next day we were moved to Petrus which was much better, quite a bit bigger and no damp. Thiery the manager was very obliguing and helpful. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely with excellet cake and freshly squeezed orange juice. The two pointers to note that the staff are very nice but dont speak much english so if your french or Arabic is basic you might struggle a bit.Secondly the location - although in a quieter area of the old city, it is a real walk to the main square 25 mins plus and more to the Souks. Overall great value so would recommend but pack comfy shoes.

Room Tip: I would recommend spending a bit more and not going for a standard room. Petrus was lovely or Cardin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonrougemarrakech, Manager at Riad La Maison Rouge, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your feed back.
We apologise for not finding your booking, but this problem has been solved quickly (mystery of internet.....).
We always try to upgrade our customer when it is possible, and we really appreciate the fact that you have enjoyed it.
Walking distance from the main square is 15mn more or less, it depends the way you walk, but I invite you to check google map to see where we are, like that you will not be surprised by walking distance.
As you have mention it, our staff speaks english as best as he can and staff really enjoy talking with guest to improove it. You don t need to speak arabic to visit us..!!!
Thank you for your visit, we hope to welcome you again
Thierry and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Maison Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Maison Rouge

Address: No 54 Bis Derb Zemrane | Quartier Berrima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #478 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Maison Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a small square of Berrima, a quiet neighborhood in Marrakech, the Riad la Maison Rouge is a charming property from which you can easily reach tourist attractions in city, such as the El Bahia and El Badi palaces, the Saadian Tombs and the Djemaa el Fna Square. This last attraction is a 15 minute walk and there are plenty of buses from here which go to all corners of the city.Riad la Maison Rouge has a total of 13 rooms including 4 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Riad La Maison Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Maison Rouge Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Maison Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.