We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel NOT so reasonable country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Caspien

Save Saved
You added Hotel le Caspien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Caspien
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Rue Loubnane Gueliz, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable Hotel NOT so reasonable country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Hotel is what is says on the can - a budget hotel. We got a double room with a balcony. Overall I was happy with my stay. a few minor issues but nothing from the hotel that spoilt the trip. The Good Vs Bad review below is for the hotel....

The Good
========
- Staff were always friendly. Some of them had trouble speaking English and I couldn't speak Arabic or french, but we managed well. Where speaking and hand signals didn't work, just writing it down helped.
- The do a killer Moroccan mint tea!!
- The hotel is 30 - 45 minute walk to Jama al Fna (the square); 20-30 mins to the main train station and about 45 mins to the Menra.
- The red open top sight seeing bus is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Walk up to the main road and turn right and walk down a bit till you come to a red golf umbrella. Despite being so close one of the reception staff didn't know about it and nearly sent us up to the Jama al Fna, even though they had the map at reception the other day.

The Bad
========
- The curtains were like hard paper and I had to hook the end so it closed properly.
- The glass under the mirror was about to fall off!

As for the country... it is crazy! So many poor people. some even run after you asking for money/food when they know you are a tourist. Prices are quoted at 5 times what they actually sell for and they expect you to bargain... all the time... it is very exhaustive going shopping if you are not used to bargaining for everything all the time. Don't be shy to start at 1/5 of the price they quote, i.e. if they say 100Dhs start at 20 Dhs and never pay more than half the price they start at. I found wearing their tunic with the hood helped with this problem a bit... well at least until I started to talk and said 'only english'.

In the end it is a country that offers a lot of sights, sounds and smells (good and bad). It is worth a visit, but be smart, the locals here aren't as innocent as they seem. But then again they are very poor and probably trying to make as much as they can.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony. Not much of scenery as its all building but gives you somewhere to wind down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    180
    43
    18
    16
See reviews for
45
155
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

i stayed here for a week so i think i can comment, its in the new part of the city and is easy to find and get out and see the tourist bits,
first the rooms they are modern clean and i had no problems at all with hot water, i was in room 306 large bed looks out on the back of the hotel but next door is a new hotel and they start work at nine am so if you want a late night stay at the front, the street is not very busy at all they are some very high class shops near by and some great french restaurants ,
the hotel restaurant is very good the chef knows how to cook a great meal if they do not have if he will cook it for you and i had some great dinners there.
service the staff are hard working people and will try to help you please remember that french is spoken but english is a third language so speak slowly,
trips can be booked here to any place at a fair price the hotel has tight security and a man is on call 24 hours to help you, breakfast is really good with fresh fruits juice cakes ect.
each room has a/c so if its cold at night turn it on take a coat because at night its a colod place during the day its warm,
you might think its not near the hotspots well after one night in a raid you will be happy here no all night tourist on the drink peace and safe the owner speaks great english and he owns a pizza restaurant that is the best say hello from adam they know who i am and have a great time .

Room Tip: have room 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Overall, this hotel is kind of run down, but if you are looking for a reasonably priced basic hotel in Marrakesh then this hotel would suffice.

The rooms are clean, if somewhat old and dated. Street front rooms can get a bit noisy. The hot water for the shower was not working for one day that we were there.

Breakfast has a reasonable variety of food, however I strongly recommend that the coffee is avoided at all costs.

Located in the newer part of Marrakesh, with an easy 25-30 minute walk to the Medina.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here on an Intrepid tour. There were several problems:
- the hotel lost half of my laundry and were very rude when I tried to get them to locate it
- the hotel staff were rude
- there was no hot water in the shower
- the rooms are dark
- the maid walked into my room with another guest just after I had showered and was naked. She didn't understand or care about my protests or give me a chance to cover up
Awful experience.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We have just returned from4 nights in the hotel. We couldnt fault it. Location central(we used local cabs to and from the Souk £2.50)
The rooms were clean airy and well maintained, All the staff were exceptionally helpful. The restaurant food was great value and local menus. The breakfast was also great,loads to choose from including made to order eggs in different styles each day.
we had a great break
Thanks
Alison and Robert

Room Tip: Try 308 very quiet during the night with a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed here for 2 separate nights at the start and end of our Intrepid tour. We had 2 very different experiences. On the first night we stayed here our room on the 5th floor was quite dirty and unpleasant. The bathroom in particular was not nice and breakfast poor.On our second stay we were given a room on the 3rd floor which was much nicer and cleaner. The breakfast was much nicer too.

The staff in the hotel are friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is not ideal if you wish to go the main square and souk. It is at least 30 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 403
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour group, and we arrived at 9am after the overnight train to Marrakech. We had expected a double room, but ended up with a twin because we arrived early and didn't want to wait until midday to check in (not sure if that's the fault of the tour group, or the hotel - I suspect the tour group). This wasn't a problem for us, as the beds were comfortable. The elevator was very nice after lugging bags everywhere (and a room 4 floors up), and the decor was very clean and appealing, both inside and outside the rooms. The breakfast downstairs by the pool (50MAD each) was nice, and the chef cooking an individual fresh omelette was a lovely touch. Free Internet wifi was only available in the public area downstairs, not in the individual rooms, but this seemed to be the case across most hotels in Morocco. The only criticism was the hot water didn't get very hot at all, and we tried at several different times of the day to shower. It isn't far to walk to the nearest shops of the Plaza in the Villa Nouvelle. Be wary of random people hanging around out front who will call for a taxi, then expect to be paid 10MAD for their service. You can walk to the corner and hail one yourself. I would stay here again if we ever return to Marrakech. The hotel is in a fairly quiet area, but always take earplugs when travelling. There is a lot of local construction that started very early, so this noise could have woken you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel le Caspien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Caspien

Address: 12 Rue Loubnane Gueliz, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Caspien 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel le Caspien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Caspien Hotel
Le Caspien Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Caspien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.