We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shell” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Paris, Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #344 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bournemouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A shell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I always read and trust other reviews on Trip advisor so booked this holiday on price and the positive reviews far outweighed any negative ones. I will firstly tell you who we booked with as I think the agencies were largely responsible for our unfortunate holiday start.
Booked Through:
Teletext: using Fleetway travel and the agent in Marrakech was a Major Travel Services MTS

On arrival at the airport we could not find our point of contact for the transfer. we waited for 40 minutes and then on finding our person he then said he had to find others for a further 1/2 hour- no"others" showed up.

We arrived at the hotel and the hotel then told us they had a booking for us but that Major Travel Services had cancelled any bookings taken from the dates we had booked. Apparently the holiday had been undersold on price. We however were not made aware of this until our arrival and the fax they showed us with the cancellation was sent weeks before our arrival.

We were asked to pay 100Euros to stay the night-that wouldn't be charged to us though if the agency came good on the booking. At this stage we had no idea of what the situation was and our transfer guide simply said we'd work it out tomorrow and that we would be compensated. He said we should be able to move to the Albatross Garden Hotel which we would prefer with an all inclusive package( again another lie).

I must note here that I asked the hotel to call the agency we booked with in the UK and they refused. They said that we had to call them as it was our problem and that if they called the UK it would have to come out of their wages. I find this a little peculiar considering we were told on a number of occasions that the "royal family" stay here!
I spent Over £100 calling the Uk premium number for Fleetway and paying for receiving calls to sort out this issue.

So we checked into the hotel room 5 hours after our arrival and tried to organise ourselves the next day.
Our agent did not come to the hotel at 9 am as promised and he then walked us to the hotel he had suggested.We walked around it and decided that it would be a better option.
Unfortunately it was not that easy! We were told we had to call our travel agents in the Uk to confirm that this could be done- more time spent on my phone and further expenses entailed. In the meantime we had now wasted most of our day.
The answer was negative. Because of the deal we had got at The mirage hotel we would have to pay the difference to stay at the ALbatross.
No compensation was offered from either parties.

Hotel review:
We went over Christmas.
Good Points:
Room quite large with good sized beds and a great shower and separate bath tub.
Breakfast was amazing!! The restaurant staff were very polite and attentive. They were the saving grace of this hotel.
The inside decor is very Riad style. Looks fab
Excellent Location Just one road behind is the Herviage are near the Sofitel and there is an excellent place to grab something to eat called Extrablatt!
Other places to check out are Cafe de la Poste: quite pricey for Marrakech but very nice to chill out with a glass of wine.
Chez Brahim for a tagine and some morroccan music.
Any of the salon de The in the square for a sunset view
A trip to les bains de marrakesh- pre book before you go as it is SO popular
OR
Albatross Hotel Spa for a hammam and massage

Bad Points
The pool was freezing and no one used it.
The hotel was for mainly Arabs at this time of year and no one was pool side in bikinis or swim suits even though the weather was hot enough for it we felt that we had a few looks when we did so we went to another hotel to sunbathe.
A little worn but nothing major; dirty spots on the wall, and balcony overlooking the air conditioning, and a broken doorhandle on the toilet door.
The walls are really really thin and we could hear everything from the room above and next door.
Felt like staying in a shell. No atmosphere at all in the hotel- I do NOT mean singing and dancing as I usually am not keen on the "entertainment" holidays.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    91
    69
    43
    28
See reviews for
47
103
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Best hotel I have stayed to date in Morocco. Only poor management, lack of services and rennovation prevent it from achiveing or maintaing 5 class status. A tip for tourist if you arrive in a suit or for breakfast suddenly the management will appear from nowhere and get you fresh tea and breakfast. Otherwise you find no hot water and the breakfast manager scrounging for breakfast bowls. Best things about the hotel spacious rooms,comfortable beds and good housekeeoing. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

The interior of the hotel was extremely impressive. Stunning foyer, and our room was lovely. It was a good size, with a balcony (but no view), and a nice large bathroom. The pool was big and we had no problems getting loungers or towels. There were quite a lot of birds around the pool area and some poop issues here and there. To be honest it didn't really bother us as everything was otherwise very clean and this couldn't really be helped, but maybe if we had kids it would be a problem.

Apart from the physical structure of the building, ie twinkly bits to look at and a pool to swim in, there were zero amenities. Lots of thing were advertised, but nothing actually existed.

Breakfast was nice. Lots of options in a classic buffet style, including fresh omelettes which was a nice touch.

The staff were ok. They were polite and helped where they could, but definitely angling for tips and didn't go out of their way to serve. However we did visit during Ramadan and so in no way expected jesters!

Nice stay if you're like us, after a nice environment, a morning dip before an afternoon adventure. Don't expect to have any kind of entertainment. This is definitely for couples and not family friendly.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room with a view, and not where the balcony looks onto other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resalux, Manager at Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
I want to thank you so much for taking the time for your input to let us know about your stay, and we truly care about our guests and want everyone to enjoy their experience with us, we very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast , we hope to see you again soon.
We appreciate customers who take the time to tell us how we can better serve them, and we will make sure to work harder on improving our amenities to meet you expectation,

with thanks and best regards
Amal Rebbaj

Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Although a 5 star hotel, it has seen better days. Many 5 star features were not found and the poor quality of service was particularly noted mainly due to lack of personnel. Many areas of the hotel were short of staff (breakfast room, spa, luggage boys) and when staff was available they were quite lazy. The rooms are the main positive aspect although in need of small repairs. Breakfast was sub-standard for a 5 star hotel. The location although good (quiet, safe and trendy neighbourhood, closer to main attractions and in the way to the airport) suffers from nearby discotheque which can cause you some sleeping problems during night, thus rooms with swimming pool view are better for rest purposes.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

We just spent 4 days in marrakesh. The hotel is just walking distance from the Medina in the Nouvelle city, the most Europen part of Marrakesh. We booked the hotel with the flight so I don't know how much did we pay.On overall for a five star hotel not expensive.
Excellent breakfast,very ample room with balcony.Nice outdoor pool.however the service was a little sloppy: we waited more than an hour for towels (the last day they cleaned the room but didn't left any towels) and at 7 o clock there was no coffe nor tea at breakfast (starting officially at 6.30).

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Definitely not a 5* hotel, the staff didn't care, there was no atmosphere and didn't even make an effort to direct us to the main square in Marrakech. Wasn't an awful experience but you could do a lot better and if you do go there don't expect luxury. The pool was nice enough although you could hear the loud main road and they played some questionable music whilst we were trying to sunbath.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padiham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

lights out in the bar at twelve up at five if you want a sunbed .only one restaraunt is all in the rest you have to pay and the food was not five star however it was good value for moneyand after speaking with the manager got better treatment as i spoke a little french and some arabic..get a taxi from airport or youll be waiting up to an hour for room allocation.lovely lobbys and staff are fine if you make the effort .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech

Address: Rue Paris, Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#132 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#138 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.