We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway from the bustle of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lena & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lena & SPA to your Saves list
Riad Lena & SPA
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8, Derb El Hammam | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #265 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“Getaway from the bustle of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in Riad Lena for 2 nights. It was amazing how quiet and detached the riad made you feel from the overwhelming heat and noise of Marrakech. The location was good, especially to the Jemaa el Fna (main square) but be prepared as the Riad is in a very local area. Also don't pay attention to the map they give you directing you to the square, we got lost for an hour!! Instead look at the larger map or on your phone! Breakfast was nice and service was ok, but hard to find any help in the Riad in the daytime! Rooms were comfortable, and clean but very small, but all in all we were very pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    60
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
96
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We booked Riad Lena by chance, but from the time of booking I knew we had done well. The riad staff were great before our trip, keeping in touch by email about any arrangements we wanted to make, and airport transfers (Courtesy of the fab Ishmal).
The riad itself is beautiful, very traditional and authentic but extremely comfortable. It's a real oasis in the madness of Marrakech. The atmosphere is very relaxed, staff helpful, breakfast delicious and our suite (Canelle) was spacious and cool.
There is a lovely roof terrace where you can catch some sun or relax in the shade, and a wonderfully cooling plunge pool in the centre of the courtyard, which was very welcome after a walk round the souks.
The riad were also very accommodating on the day we left, helping to store luggage and provide a room where we could shower before leaving in the evening.
I would definitely recommend this riad to anyone visiting Marrakech, and Abellatif and the team will be more than pleased to help you with any aspect of your visit.
Loved it, would definitely go back ! A taste of the real Marrakech.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed lovely, but go for one of the suites for extra space, very little difference in cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

As others have said, this riad is very unique and beautiful. Our room was small but perfectly fine. The shower was a bit dark, but the details in the bathroom (lights, sink, etc) felt very authentically Moroccan and I liked it overall. However, Abdel the manager is one of the only ones who speaks English. My husband and I sadly do not speak French, so occasionally we had a hard time communicating. But everyone was very friendly and tried really hard to communicate with us. Unlike some other reviews on here, we didn't have any problems with overcharging. We only ate breakfast there one of the mornings because we discovered we could get many of the same things much cheaper out in the souk. We did eat dinner there one night (which, as others have said, you must arrange in the morning). The food was very good, and I was surprised that they had wine, which can be hard to find in the medina, but which I appreciated greatly. I would recommend dinner there at least one night.
They also helped us to arrange a hammam at the spa across the little alley, which was probably a highlight of our trip. So relaxing, but, yes, definitely very different from more "European" massages, so make sure you know what you're getting into.
Finally, as noted by others, it is a bit difficult to find at first. But we had no trouble getting picked up from the airport - our flight was even a bit delayed but the gentleman was still waiting there for us when we arrived, and then another person was waiting at the entrance to the back alleys to walk us to the riad. Just make sure you arrange it beforehand.
Overall - not for everyone, probably, but unique and a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abdellatifduriadlena, Propriétaire at Riad Lena & SPA, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Google Translation
First of all, thank you for your comment and sorry for the english of the team!
Comme vous le dites fort justement, le Riad est un peu difficile à trouver, donc le plus simple est de nous demander d'organiser le transfert... petite remarque pour les visiteurs qui souhaitent se rendre chez nous.
Nous sommes surtout très heureux d'avoir pu rendre votre séjour le plus agréable possible.
Et pour le Spa, nous continuerons d'essayer de faire découvrir à tous ceux qui le désirent, ce qu'est un hammam authentiquement marocain!
Au plaisir de vous revoir,
Philippe, Abdellatif et toute l'équipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

1) Pickup:
We reached Marrakech at night around 9 PM and had called the Riad in advance to pick us up since taxis do not enter the narrow streets of Medina. Although we gave advanced notice, we had to wait for 45 minutes for the bell boy to arrive. Also, he came without a cart and we had to haul the baggage ourselves (this is not experienced at other Riads).

2) People:
The bell boy was a happy-go-lucky kind of creature, nobody speaks English except the manager & the manager is never around to be found. We could not even make local phone calls since those are allowed only during manager's presence.

3) Rooms:
No heater in the room, walls with wetness/mold, bathrooms with no doors. In short, run away from this place!

4) Breakfast:
Very basic and it repeatedly took the staff 30 minutes to serve the breakfast, every single day of our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abdellatifduriadlena, Propriétaire at Riad Lena & SPA, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour Sumi, merci de votre commentaire. Nous considérons tous les avis comme étant constructifs et nous en tiendrons compte à l'avenir, soyez-en sur!
Toutefois , nous regrettons de ne pas avoir pu en parler ensemble pendant votre séjour: peut-être aurions nous pu améliorer la qualité de votre hébergement, mais vous ne nous avez rien dit étant sur place: dommage, nous aurions été heureux de pouvoir répondre à vos attentes.
Revenez nous voir et nous ferons un maximum pour que vous puissiez après votre séjour, laisser un commentaire plus positif.
A bientôt.
Philippe et Abdellatif.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I am very surprised to see many positive reviews here. Spent 3 nights here after 3 fantastic nights in a Riad in Fes. The building has a very run down feeling to it. Tiles and painting need serious refurbishment here and there. Decoration is very unclassy and rather cheap, including that of the room. Location is ok for the NW side of the Medina, some 15 minutes walk to Djemaa el Fnaa.

The appalling thing is the service. The manager is the only English speaker person in place, and he only works a few hours per day - in his absence staff are not allowed to do anything. We had to wait for over an hour to be taken to our room as he wasn't there when we arrived, and only returned after several frantic phone calls made by the Riad staff at our request. Dodgily, we were never asked to fill any registration form. Staff were also not allowed to check us out, so we had to accommodate in order to match the schedule of the manager for that.

Service was so lame we had to clean our breakfast table ourselves as their staff were really bad at doing so themselves. On departure we had to make the riad staff phone the manager so that he booked a 'green cab' for us to reach the airport - but he failed to do so, and didn't tell us. Instead one of the cleaning guys went outside and got a taxi from the street. He was suspiciously very adamant that we pay him in the hotel, before going out. After talking to the taxi driver I discovered he had kept half the money I gave him. Whether that's a 'commission' or a rip off, I'll never know. These guys are very unprofessional and I can only recommend to avoid this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Riad was incredible staff amazing comfortable suite and ideally located for souks and jemaa el fna square strongly reccomend this location and riad.the riad was spotless the decor was very good and the breakfasts were delicious. Plunge pool and hot tub were brilliant after a hard day exploring and terrace ideal for a glass of wine to round off the day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

So many things went wrong with this place. I am only giving this two marks because the room and riad was beautiful and the staff was friendly. Here is everything that went wrong:

1. They confirmed our pick up from the airport. No where to be found when we arrived. We called a few times and no one picked up. We waited about 45min to and hour. We then got a taxi and of course had to hire a guy to take us to the riad. They didn't say anything to us about not picking us up.

2. They do not tell you beforehand that if you want dinner at the riad you have to order in the morning (we arrived in the early evening). If we had known we would have made sure to order dinner via email before we arrived. But now when I think about it...they probably wouldn't have given us that since they didn't pick us up from the airport.

3. We told them we wanted to pay by credit card and they didn't let us upon checkout. I had to scrounge for cash. There was clearly a credit card machine on the desk. They should have told us beforehand that we NEEDED to pay in cash.

4. They overcharged us. When we got the final bill for the one night we stayed it was more than what was expected. He then told us it was for the breakfast. First of all, our breakfast was suppose to be included. Second, when I told him we needed to leave by 8am to go on our trek and that we needed breakfast at 7.30am he said not possible. Only to later find out that we could have. Third, we didn't get to even eat the breakfast.

5. We rented an apartment for 4 people. It was nice but beware that the shower does not have any covering.

It was just a disappointment. I am glad we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lena & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lena & SPA

Address: 8, Derb El Hammam | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lena & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nora, Philippe, Abdellatif welcome you to their house, ideally situated in the Medina near the DAR BACHA Palace and eight minutes from the markets and Place Jeema el Fna. The riad has been traditionally renovated with much thought given to your comfort. The riad consists of 10 air-conditioned bedrooms, furnished in pure Moroccan style. All rooms look on to the patio and the swimming pool permitting you to cool down after sunbathing on the terrace with views of the High Atlas mountains. A first class riad in the heart of the Medina and markets, with terraces, a swimming pool and easy car access.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Lena & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lena Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lena & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.